Drafted
  • Bo Allan - Pick 16
  • Jobe Shanahan - Pick 30
  • Tom Gross - Pick 46
  • Lucca Grego - Pick 48
  • Hamish Davis - Pick 65
  • Malakai Champion - Cat B
List Spots Available
  • One on either main OR rookie list to be filled as a SSP selection following train on assessments

Trade and draft period

In:
F1, F2, F3, Baker, Owies, Graham, Allan, Shanahan, Gross, Grego, Davis, Champion
Out: 3, 63, F3, F4, Barrass, Darling

Anything we do with him now will fall into the 2025 cap

That said there’s no necessity to do anything predraft as we already have six selections plus a RD pick that we won’t use all of

We’ll have train on options to fill Sheed’s spot should he decide to retire. I’d start with Winder
Thought that was the case which is good news. If you have some sort of link to that please post/send through.

Didn’t see a lot of WAFL other than Beagles and some specific draft targets and Max Knobel. You’ve been big on Winder in the back half of the year what have you seen that’s changed? Obviously the media reports have been largely positive.

Drafting Lindsay would certainly be on brand for us. A half back that has moved to the midfield.
Perhaps less refined as a mid than Lindsay, but Allan would have served us well in this regard but he's seemingly out of reach now.
As long as Hall and Hewett reach their potential, I suppose we have time for these sort of players to develop off half back or the wing.
Aren't all the favourites to go at our pick from the half back?

Lindsay still clear best option for mine. Done plenty as a midfielder and Gippsland captain this year to alleviate any concerns about him finding the footy or not being a mid. Hasn't missed a beat, been AA twice, won the Morrish medal, his CV is stacked.

Lock him up with that pick and the pickswap fiasco could look a whole lot better down the track.

Wouldn't throw around "looks a safe 200 gamer" often, but he does.

Not sure we can guarantee we’ll have the same success as the past with Maric (yep), Hutch (probably) and Culley (almost).

Would probably prefer the extra spot ASAP.
You think pick 70 odd would be better?

MSD gives you half a season to look at who pops. If have a top 3 pick should be able to get someone that can contribute. Culley has been our MSD miss, but that's due to doing his ACL as much as anything.

You think pick 70 odd would be better?

MSD gives you half a season to look at who pops. If have a top 3 pick should be able to get someone that can contribute. Culley has been our MSD miss, but that's due to doing his ACL as much as anything.
Fair enough. Was thinking (hoping) we wouldn’t be getting the first pick or so which means the talent might be pretty thin by then. But as you say, better than eg. pick 70?

Yeah I'd be happy picking up Knobel with a super late main draft pick - the only benefit to rookieing really is that we could cut him after a year, which would make sense for other players/situations but not this one.

We'll need at least 2 years of him continuing to develop to look at him properly and it might be something we can promise him to give a bit of certainty if we're getting in his ear for his blessing to pick him up.

I’m fairly certain that as a previously listed player he has to nominate his contract length and wage. Regardless of ND or RD that is what the contract is.

I’d suggest he is almost certain to be told by Freo to nominate 1 year, so we (or anyone) draft him on that same contract.

Drafting Lindsay would certainly be on brand for us. A half back that has moved to the midfield.
Perhaps less refined as a mid than Lindsay, but Allan would have served us well in this regard but he's seemingly out of reach now.
As long as Hall and Hewett reach their potential, I suppose we have time for these sort of players to develop off half back or the wing.

Lindsay is not a defender.

He's a mid who can play defense, inside, outside and even half forward whilst developing.

He played midfield in the Coates Talent League, captained his club and he won the Best and Fairest for the entire competition.

I reckon we will have a choice between Lindsay and M.Reid after watching gettable this morning.

Sounds like Allen will be of the board, which is probably a good thing as we need a pure midfielder

It's a difficult choice between Lindsay and M.Reid i'd be happy with either

Lindsay is a lock to be a 200+ game player and i also believe he has more upside than people realise. His inside game is better than people give him credit for, he's throws his weight around in contests effectively, his core strength is quite good and he reads the play really well inside and outside. I think best case scenario he could develop into a Zac Merrett type player.

M.Reid has been considered a top 5 prospect for most of the year and has only recently slid down the rankings due to his athletic profile. He would probably be a slightly riskier pick than Lindsay but has the most upside out of any player at our pick. He could absolutely be a gun and i would be stoked if we picked him up.

Twomey also linked us to Hotton with pick 12. He would be a high risk, high reward pick, however if the club has done there due diligence on him he has massive upside and could be a good running mate for Harley.

At this stage my preference would be
1. Lindsay
2. M.Reid
3. Hotton

I’m fairly certain that as a previously listed player he has to nominate his contract length and wage. Regardless of ND or RD that is what the contract is.

I’d suggest he is almost certain to be told by Freo to nominate 1 year, so we (or anyone) draft him on that same contract.

I dont think he HAS to nominate contract terms, but as a DFA he can nominate terms.
I would be surprised if he would limit his career by only nominating 1 year to stay at the Dockers if WC can knocking with a 2 or 3 year deal on the table.

I reckon we will have a choice between Lindsay and M.Reid after watching gettable this morning.

Sounds like Allen will be of the board, which is probably a good thing as we need a pure midfielder

It's a difficult choice between Lindsay and M.Reid i'd be happy with either

Lindsay is a lock to be a 200+ game player and i also believe he has more upside than people realise. His inside game is better than people give him credit for, he's throws his weight around in contests effectively, his core strength is quite good and he reads the play really well inside and outside. I think best case scenario he could develop into a Zac Merrett type player.

M.Reid has been considered a top 5 prospect for most of the year and has only recently slid down the rankings due to his athletic profile. He would probably be a slightly riskier pick than Lindsay but has the most upside out of any player at our pick. He could absolutely be a gun and i would be stoked if we picked him up.

Twomey also linked us to Hotton with pick 12. He would be a high risk, high reward pick, however if the club has done there due diligence on him he has massive upside and could be a good running mate for Harley.

At this stage my preference would be
1. Lindsay
2. M.Reid
3. Hotton
Hotton would be a massive greenlight at pick 14 if we still had it. Take the safe bet at 12 (lindsay), take the risk at 14.

Oh well.

Hang on he only played at half back during the championships

As captain for Gippsland Power played every game as there centreman in the Coates League

Analysing Cal's rankings and links to clubs, there appears to be 7 players consistently linked with the upper echelon. If the Saints end up taking the remaining player from this group, then whilst the order is up for the debate, the top 7 would consist of FOS, Smith, Lalor, Langford, Smith, Draper, Tauru, and Smillie.
E.g.
1. Richmond - Lalor
2. North - Tauru
3. Carlton - FOS
4. Adelaide - Draper
5. Melbourne - Langford
6. Richmond - Smillie
7. Saints - Smith

From there, four players are most consistently linked with clubs: Reid, Armstrong, Allan, Travaglia.
And after that, we're in Berry, Lindsay, Whitlock, Shanahan, and Hotton territory.
Ultimately, if we assume that the top 7 are somewhat set in stone, then we only need to have a closer look at these next four selections.

8. Saints: Linked to all four + Lindsay
9. Melbourne: Linked to all four
10/11. Richmond: Linked to all four + Berry, Whitlock, Shanahan

As for us, we've been linked to Travaglia, Reid, Allan, Berry, Hotton, Lindsay, and Shanahan.
The general consensus appears to be that our best-case scenario is Travaglia, followed by Allan, Reid, and Lindsay, and then a drop off to Berry, Hotton, or Shanahan (if we see him as KPD). But of course, we all have our favourites. Nevertheless, I don't think many will be crossing their fingers for the latter trio. Although we'll certainly back up in if they end up being a surprise selection for us.

So, if we assume the top 7 is locked in, then this is how I see us landing our top preference.

8. Saints - Armstrong (if they go tall here then this encourages Melbourne or particularly Richmond to do the same with Whitlock or Shanahan)
9. Melbourne - Allan
10. Richmond - Reid/Berry as a small and skilful mid/fwd option to compliment their other selections
11. Richmond - Whitlock/Shanahan as the best available KPF
12. West Coast - Travaglia!!!
OR
8. Lindsay
9. Armstrong
10. Reid/Berry
11. Whitlock/Shanahan
Leaving us with Travaglia, Allan, or even Reid/Berry.

As for our "worst-case" scenario...
8. Lindsay
9. Allan
10. Armstrong
11. Travaglia
+ Reid's mummy's syndrome is genuine

Which would leave us with Berry, Hotton, or Shanahan.

In order of likelihood, I feel we end up with:
1. Lindsay
2. Reid
3. Travaglia
4. Allan
5. Berry
6. Hotton
7. Shanahan

If we offer our Hawks first rounder next year to Richmond for pick 10 and see if they bite
If they don't deal with North they might be amenable to having another first round next year
Depending on where Hawks finish could be a worst pick than ten or a much better pick than 10

if not no loss and keep what we have if they want more we just walk away