List Mgmt. The 2024 Draft (Nov 20/21)

The West is running with an article tomorrow that we are interested in Berry surely we won’t use our first pick on a small speedy fwd.
Our fwd line is the least of our problems atm.
Hopefully they are throwing out a red herring !
From years gone by, this always happens. Perhaps a bit of fake news to throw others of the scent.

Although, he fits the bill for Minis game style, small, speed, pressure and good skills.

Dennis is not going to get past Collingwood’s four late picks. If we want him we’ll have to trade into the mid 3R, probably with Essendon or Sydney.

26, F2, F3 for 28, 31, 46 in two trades remains our best bet.

12-Travaglia/Lindsay
28-Moraes/Oliver
31-O’Farrell/Ough
46-Johnson/Dennis
72-Champion
77-Knobel
Rookie-Burgiel

Yep agree and if we do that we will grab Charlie Nicholl's who WCE rate higher than Dennis

Absolutely we should. :thumbsu:

But we won't. :thumbsdownemoji:

The Club, of late, has become so polite and genteel that it too scared to fart in public, rather it now discretely goes outside, to inoffensively pass wind.

These last five years shift in the Clubs attitude, reminds me of the change in character you observe after you castrate a spirited stallion and then get a placid gelding.
No doubt you've been following the club longer than I have, because I can't remember us ever doing something like that.

I dont remember when we won 10 games between 2015 and 2017 to be honest? I checked and it seems we won 44 games between 2015 to 2017

I feel like that difference of 34 extra wins might make the two situations hard to compare?
So now it’s all about points and nothing to do with squad potential? You certainly like to cover your arse!

I think with rookie list, if a player/knobel has indicated he wants to go back to Freo, then generally clubs back of. One of those loopholes that everyone has to abide by in spirit, otherwise when you want to remove someone to rookie list, there will be no favours.

Well, IMO the Violet Crumbles invalidated any notion of good will and doing favours, when they mischievously got involved in the trade stakes with Liam Baker, by putting in an offer when everyone knew he only had intentions to land at West Coast.
We had to pay more because they had got involved.

They need to be sent a message, loud and clear, that stirring the pot has consequences, so if you don't want to play in the spirit of cooperation, then neither will we.

You either retaliate with a shot fired over the bow, or you get your pants pulled down again next time ... and the next time ...and the time after that, until you eventually make a stand.

He has huge tank does Nicholls his SA 2km time preseason was very good was 6.31
If Clancy had run he’d be under that, but that’s still a bloody good time for a 197cm KPP. Didn’t realise he was that strong of a runner. What do you think of his defensive craft? Can’t see us developing him in the forward line.

Well, IMO the Violet Crumbles invalidated any notion of good will and doing favours, when they mischievously got involved in the trade stakes with Liam Baker, by putting in an offer when everyone knew he only had intentions to land at West Coast.

They need to be sent a message, loud and clear, that stirring the pot has consequences, so if you don't want to play in the spirit of cooperation, then neither will we.

You either retaliate with a shot fired over the bow, or you get your pants pulled down again next time ... and the next time ...and the time after that, until you eventually make a stand.
Yep they can GAGF. Missed their chance to help each other out for a change. I’d also make clear that their highly rated NGAs next year are of interest to us.

The West is running with an article tomorrow that we are interested in Berry surely we won’t use our first pick on a small speedy fwd.
Our fwd line is the least of our problems atm.
Hopefully they are throwing out a red herring !

They have been right in recent times with the info on splitting the pick and taking Ginbey and then the Reid selection last year was an easy choice..

We both know there will be no line in the sand moment with the Eagles. I hate to say it but Pyke has shown he is as neutered as Nisbett was when it comes to taking a stand.

I don't seem to understand why this notion of playing by the rules and doing the right thing is so ingrained in our DNA.

Geelong and Hawthorn are two clubs who couldn't give two shits what anyone else thinks and players still want to go there and clubs still have to trade with them. It hasn't hurt them one iota and they have the premiership cups to prove it

I'd prefer to be feared than respected but we seem to be more concerned with running a business than a football club.

IIRC - did the same thing with Tim Kelly.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

We both know there will be no line in the sand moment with the Eagles. I hate to say it but Pyke has shown he is as neutered as Nisbett was when it comes to taking a stand.

I don't seem to understand why this notion of playing by the rules and doing the right thing is so ingrained in our DNA.

Geelong and Hawthorn are two clubs who couldn't give two shits what anyone else thinks and players still want to go there and clubs still have to trade with them. It hasn't hurt them one iota and they have the premiership cups to prove it

I'd prefer to be feared than respected but we seem to be more concerned with running a business than a football club.
Let each department run itself.
Nisbett was if anything at least good at running the business side of things.
Rather than picks- he wanted an extra home game for the revenue✅.
But there's the flow on of:
An extra home game is an extra win each year ✅
Reduces stress on the player group✅
I'd like to think that new NM deal to play games here had it's origins from these talks which happen with good relations.

Let the coaches and players do the footy side of things. Pike commanding us to do shit trades has already caused the bed to be shit in.

I suspect if we don't take Knobel it's because we don't particularly rate him, not because we are being nice

Either way it hasn't even played out yet

Disagree, the club doesnt deserve the benefit of the doubt. We have continually shown no balls and snapping up Knobel in front of Freo would require some balls (admitted not that much but we have shown zilch lately).

Very likely that none of this draft will impact in the midfield next season, why are people mad that those available at pick 12 might not start in the middle 😂

Same with writing Ginbey off as a mid after 30 games, fools that don’t know football.

Mate that’s the poor take, it is absolutely the same issue we can’t just throw draft capital at any player that “improves the best 22”. If we got Baker for F3 no worries, but the price we paid is absurd. Should we offer our 1R next year for Sheldrick because he improves the best 22 knowing that would get it over the line? No.
That's not what you said.

Baker didn't sit at the negotiating table. Everyone is unhappy with the price paid but Baker didn't set it.

He's a quality player who improves the team.

List Mgmt. The 2024 Draft (Nov 20/21)