• Nov 22: Telstra Pre-Season Draft and Rookie Draft

List Spots Available
• 6 Main list
• 1 Rookie list

Current Draft Picks
• Main Draft - 12,26,73,81,99
• Rookie Draft - 3

Recent News
• Luke Edwards delisted after deciding to step away from football due to ongoing concussion symptoms

West Coast would not be an appealing choice for mids at the moment. One is there a spot available and two what role will you be used in.

So the 5 mids that get picked around the ball include - Graham, Yeo, Kelly, Reid and Baker. Now Baker could be used in other roles but the 1st 4 are always going to play. The real problem is that 3 of those 4 have zero defensive run, and as we have seen the 5th mid which was Ginbey early then Duggan later in the year was just a defensive role filling gaps around the ball and on the wings. Gimp wing is a career killer, young players and mature players alike have fallen apart out there.

Now there is a new coach and hopefully change but if I was a player I would only come to West Coast if they were paying me money that no other club would - Hunt + Flynn or if I had a close relationship to the new coach - Graham + Baker. Owies is an interesting one I am not sure how much West Coast are paying him but with the likes of Ryan, an ageing Cripps, Petch and Brockman he could find himself doing all the work that these players can't / won't do.
So the Gimp wing is a graveyard for players because they dont get stats is what you are saying .

Guys. I was being provocative.

I’m also a dad in my 40’s. What I might like is different from a footy player in his early 20’s.

My point with all the trolling removed is that Melbourne and Sydney have attributes that make it so that it’s not a lock that a WA boy will want to “come home” when they are young.

Melbourne especially given the multiple options in terms of other footy clubs. Carroll is an example.
Can't speak for Sydney as I've only been there a couple of times for work but having spent significant time in Melbourne recently this is very true. It's just a pretty cool place to be in especially for young people - very vibrant city with a lot going on as you walk around. Compare that to Perth on a Friday afternoon after work and it's almost a ghost town.

I know both Perth and Melbourne very well. I think it’s more relevant to say Perth is a long way from the heart of football. And indeed isn’t said to be ’the most isolated capital in the world’?

If you don’t like Perth you only got the SW as a feasible alternative. The whole SE of Australia is in fairly easy reach of Melbourne - Adelaide, Barossa, Tasmania, Sydney, all Victoria and all the country in between. That’s a lot of diversity.

Makes Perth a hard sell. Even for WA players. I’m guessing (??) more WA players remain in SE Australia than vice versa.

Sad but true for the WA clubs.
Perth's weather alone makes it better than Melbourne.

Well I live in Broome and have travelled Europe, Asia, South America, driven around Australia twice visiting every city, bar Tassie cities cos they don’t count!
In my opinion you can in general shove the city life fair and square where the sun don’t shine, I’m taking my 2 youngest kids up the coast to Barred creek this arvo for a bit of fishing and motorbike action.
Let’s see you do that on a Sydney beach🤣🍻

haha this city **** measuring is so petty :tearsofjoy:

Anyway what's the go with Murphy Reid's apparent speed?

Shifter calls him "A midfielder-forward who has speed to burn which allows him to burst away"

while The Age/WA Today say "...recruiters’ concerns, including but not limited to his lack of size and speed"

haha this city **** measuring is so petty :tearsofjoy:

Anyway what's the go with Murphy Reid's append speed?

Shifter calls him "A midfielder-forward who has speed to burn which allows him to burst away"

while The Age/WA Today say "...recruiters’ concerns, including but not limited to his lack of size and speed"
I don't know if we can complain about Murphy Reid speed when tobie combine isn't being used as a negative point.

What raised a small flag was tobie speed and agility. Not really exceptional which makes his mid conversion harder.

Also I noticed Tobie awkward tall and lanky brander like running.

In saying that I would jump on both Murphy and Tobie. Both have a high footy iq

Well I live in Broome and have travelled Europe, Asia, South America, driven around Australia twice visiting every city, bar Tassie cities cos they don’t count!
In my opinion you can in general shove the city life fair and square where the sun don’t shine, I’m taking my 2 youngest kids up the coast to Barred creek this arvo for a bit of fishing and motorbike action.
Let’s see you do that on a Sydney beach🤣🍻

Barred Creek is a great little spot

Especially the southern side for camping

Puff piece on Bo Allan

I especially liked this bit

Asked to describe his traits to someone who had never seen him play before, Allan said: “I’d like to say I’m very competitive. Love to tackle in and under, pressure acts, strong in the contest, test the tackler, drive my legs, explosive.”

Very competitive is the type of player we need

Won’t be upset in the slightest if he lands with us in the draft

List Mgmt. The 2024 Draft (Nov 20/21)