The all important changes for next week

Riggio and possibly Ross have to be in the side. They have performed and should be rewarded. They add far more than Harris at the moment and have more run.
Very tempting, that's for sure. If so, I'd go for Ross in for Harris, but all of sudden you've got Swallow, Ross in the guts in a final against Sydney. Hmmm. Riggio for whom? Power?

Quite simple really, eat into spots in the forward line and play midfielders that can play forward. We really have a one dimensional forward structure at the moment because we are making Hale the focus. If you remove Jones who is playing crap and replace him with Ross who can also play forward, you have a forward line something like this:

Harvey McMahon Ross
Thomas Hale Campbell

Basically a forward line of Hale and bunch of crumbers that can play midfield.

If you take out Edwards, Macintosh, Harding and Harris (who all deserve not to be playing this week) then you have just freed up some more spots for Riggio, Lower, S.Thompson and Sinclair. All these changes equal more run and firepower in the middle-exactly what we need and you won't be taking away options in the forward line as the forward structure above plays to our strengths.

The Middle then looks like this:

HB: Pratt Hansen Sinclair/Lower
C: Wells Firrito Riggio
Foll: Petrie Power Simpson

You also have a midfield that is strong and can run with a few decent forward options in there.

It looks great on paper to have McIntosh, Hale, Petrie, Thompson and Edwards in the team - which some people were calling for last week. But only Hale and Petrie are match hardened - the rest have missed too many games.

I think we can only afford to have either McIntosh or Edwards, but not both, given their current fitness. Laidley has kind of hinted that we made a selection error. I can't see McIntosh performing anywhere near his best, and I would drop him - so a decision has to be made on whether to play Edwards or Thompson (or both).

I can't understand the calls for Swallow/Ross to return (not enough senior games) - when Riggio/Lower/Sinclair should be ahead of them. We do need more midfielders - so I'd drop a tall for a mid.

OUT - McIntosh, Harding (inj)
play either Edwards or Thommo (would keep Edwards, but only just)
IN - Sinclair (looking for a short term solution here), Lower or Riggio (if not suspended)

I cant believe that people are callingfor mcmahons head, what a disgrace.

id say watt. edwards, mcintosh and harding inj would have to be on the chopping block.
You're spot on the money rooboy, in a dismal mcg day mcmahon was a rare shining light, I swear the north posters have some sort of vendetta against scott mcmahon and I just don't get it and of course you cant forget the obligatory calls for sam power to be dropped and of course shannon watt, I mean the only 3 we had the ground that actually looked like they wanted to be there and low and behold in the nmfc forum theyre the first 3 heads on the chopping block OMG what a shocking turn of events :D I am simply astonished there is yet to be a seperate thread calling for their heads if I didn't know any better I'd say that all nmfc posters have been asleep since 4 pm satday arvo. yet the love affair with aaron edwards :mad: just seems to flourish and reach new heights :confused:

In: Swallow, Lower, Sinclair
Out: Jones, Harding, Edwards
That's pretty close to my sentiments. I'd also drop Watt for another midfielder. I'd have Ross in the side with the final midfielder being Spitz, Riggio or Grima.

Dropping Watt is horses for courses. Sydney doesn't have many tall forward threats and he offers the least when we have the footy.

We clearly went into last week too tall and Sydney will expose us if we don't rectify it in a hurry. Besides, we played our best footy with Haley at FF and Dish owning the ground.

I know I'm an outsider but my 2 cents for what it's worth.

I think Harris needs to be dropped, he was horrible on Saturday costing the team 2 goals and doing absolutely nothing to redeem himself.

Urquhart is a tough one, we all know he will be a great player for the club but he struggled on Saturday and recently, and I don't think you can carry tired players into a cutthroat final.

I can't understand the calls for McMahon to be dropped, he was one of the few players on Saturday who never stopped trying and actually did some good things.

Edwards looked out of touch and dropped a few marks he'd normally swallow, but he may be given another chance.

As for who to bring in, Laidley may go for the experience of Sinclair and I would strongly consider Riggio and/or Ross to come in as they are young, fresh and hungry and will be keen to prove themselves in finals.

In: Sinclair, Thompson, Lower

Out: Harding (inj), Urquhart, Edwards

Big Mac saves his spot just.

B: Thompson Gibson Sinclair
HB: Pratt Firrito Power
C: Riggio Wells Rawlings
HF: Grant Edwards Campbell
F: Thomas Hale McMahon
Foll: Petrie Harvey Ross
Int: Hansen Urquhart Simpson McIntosh

In: Riggio, Ross, Thompson, Sinclair
Out: Jones, Harris, Watt, Harding

Emerg - Swallow, Grima, Watt

OUT: Mcintosh, Edwards, Thomas, Harding (inj), Watt, Urqhuart

IN: Goldstein, Ross, S.Thompson, Riggio, Sinclair, Lower

Time to go back to the fast, quick, skilled players that got us winning 6 in a row in the first place. Goldstein has been in great form, great tap ruckman and i think deserves another game. Ross,Riggio,Sinclair,Lower will give us hardness, quickness and good foot skills and these guys are primed for a good finals series i reckon! Scott Thompson will give us that mongrel we need against Hall etc. Good defensive skills and better skills than watt by foot. Don't really like the sound of Watt in a tight presured finals match!

McIntosh, Edwards not fit enough get them right for next year. Harding injured, Thomas, Watt and Urqhuart had there chances and need to make way for guys who are fresh!!

Ross and Riggio definitely need to be in the side. Sydney arent exactly the fastest side going, so if we can inject a bit of pace into the middle. We SHOULD run all over them.

McIntosh looked like he was in struggle street for the entire game. Maybe he keeps his spot. Edwards looked sketchy but i think he will be betternext week. Maybe Thommo comes in.

Watt doesnt deserve a game in the VFL reserves.

It was just an overall s***house performace that should never be spoken of again.

(6 Changes)
Out:
Harding (Injured), McIntosh (Omitted), Watt (Omitted), Corey Jones(Omitted/Injured), Urquhart (Tiredness), Thomas (Tiredness)
In:
Sinclair (in for Jones), S.Thompson (in for Watt), Swallow (in for Harding), N.Thompson (in for McIntosh), Lower (in for Urquhart), Ross (in for Thomas)

Team:
B: Scott McMahon, Michael Firrito, Scott Thompson
HB: Daniel Pratt, Josh Gibson, Jess Sinclair
C: Brady Rawlings, Daniel Harris, Daniel Wells
HF: Shannon Grant, David Hale, Aaron Edwards
F: Ben Ross, Nathan Thompson, Matt Campbell
R: Drew Petrie, Adam Simpson, Brent Harvey
I: Andrew Swallow, Lachlan Hansen, Sam Power, Ed Lower
EMG: Todd Goldstein, Leigh Brown, Matt Riggio

If Thommo ain't right, then Goldy comes in and goes to the ruck position and Petrie goes to the CHF position.

That is the last....last time I'm changing it.

(6 Changes)
Out:
Harding (Injured), McIntosh (Omitted), Watt (Omitted), Corey Jones(Omitted/Injured), Urquhart (Tiredness), Thomas (Tiredness)
In:
Sinclair (in for Jones), S.Thompson (in for Watt), Swallow (in for Harding), N.Thompson (in for McIntosh), Lower (in for Urquhart), Ross (in for Thomas)

Team:
B: Scott McMahon, Michael Firrito, Scott Thompson
HB: Daniel Pratt, Josh Gibson, Jess Sinclair
C: Brady Rawlings, Daniel Harris, Daniel Wells
HF: Shannon Grant, David Hale, Aaron Edwards
F: Ben Ross, Nathan Thompson, Matt Campbell
R: Drew Petrie, Adam Simpson, Brent Harvey
I: Andrew Swallow, Lachlan Hansen, Sam Power, Ed Lower
EMG: Todd Goldstein, Leigh Brown, Matt Riggio

If Thommo ain't right, then Goldy comes in and goes to the ruck position and Petrie goes to the CHF position.

That is the last....last time I'm changing it.

Just a few problems with your suggestions. Yes we need run and lots of it, we need probably 15 of our 22 players rotating through the middle. For mine, ordinarily, Thomas does not retain his spot-in terms of getting the ball, he just doesn't contribute enough to stay in the side. Saying that, not playing Thomas reduces the impact Campbell has in the forward fifty by about 50%. They are symbiont, relying on each other to help put pressure on the defense and to bring down the ball to score goals. They also work well together reading the play and working as decoys for each other. While Campbell works much harder and is overall a better player than Thomas, Thomas can do some pretty freaky things now and again that can equal 2-3 goals at the end of the day.

I think keeping them both there, despite Thomas' perceived lack of work ethic is essential. Adding Ross into the mix doesn't disturb the set-up with Hale, Campbell and Thomas-if anything it adds to it. The more little, hard tackling ankle biters in their the better. Currently we have three: LT, Flash, Boomer. Adding a fourth in Ross I think is just what needs to be done as he is very effective up the ground on the wing delivering into the leading arms of our two leading forwards in Grant and Edwards (Jones should not be included as he is pretty much worthless ATM because of form). Having one focus, four crumbers/mids and two leading medium forwards is the way to go.

Now if Hamish doesn't play (which I believe should happen), Dean either has to rely on Drew or add Goldstein which is the best option at the moment. Goldstein needs experience, we need an in form Ruck who is keen after being out of the senior side (and playing finals footy) and someone who can release Drew to CHF. If Drew does play this role, it should be when Boomer is playing up the ground as to not disturb the space needed for Hale to be effective.

This leads me to the next problem which rightfully has been much discussed over the last couple of months. Space in the forward line is essential. If Hale is to remain deep in the forward line, N. Thompson should not play. Full stop. The three goals that we would get from Thommo does not outweigh the extra 1-2 goals that Hale would get in Thompson's absence, the goals that our crumbers would get from having more space and less conventional options and also the massive increase of defensive pressure which not only can result directly in a goal but also makes it possible for the pressure across HF, the centre and HB to applied so that a zone or semi-zone can be maintained. It just doesn't stack up and for anyone to even consider it after so much talk and other more effective forward options being available is just laughable.

Harris also needs to make way for Riggio. Enough is enough. Harris has been playing poorly and Riggio has been doing the opposite. We need to reward him finally.

Generally I am greatly in favor of breaking down the traditional positions and just playing tough, fast running, versatile mids. Riggio, Ross, Swallow, Goldstein, Sinclair, S.Thompson, Lower and Goldstein- a great number of these should play and the players highlighted in bold are a must.

(6 Changes)
Out:
In:
No way are they going to make 6 changes for a final mate.

I think Dean will resort to his GoTo man in times of crisis, yes the one and only Boggler. The man he can play anywhere, on anyone.

In: Brown and someone who is prepared to run
Out: Harding and Watt

I wouldn't drop anyone. Stuff 'em.

Get out there and fix it or **** off.

We need to reinforce the run. When we played against Carlton, this is where we excelled. We went in too top heavy at the weekend and we had two blokes less than match fit. Thus , we payed the price. If Turtle cant get up, we need to seriously consider Ben Ross & Jess for one of the talls. Jess may be getting a bit long in the tooth, but he is a hard nosed experienced player who can hold his own and has finals experience. How many of the blokes that ran out against Port on the weekend do you reckon can say that they had a genuine dip? Jess could'veif he was playing I can guarantee that.
One tall out , one runner in!
Go Roos!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yeah we need run and carry this week,we also need to locate our missing midfield.

Drop azza,jones,urqs,hamish and watt. injuried harding

ins ross,riggio,lower,sinkers, s.thommo and josh smith as well

You could drop a few others but i think that is to many anyway.

The midfield is still a conundrum for me. Even when we were in front on the weekend, we were being beaten out of the middle and attacking off half back. This used to be our strength, but now is a liability. I still reckon Harro misses Swallows help. I wish his form warranted a return?!?!?!? God he was good last year!

his body in, he isalot fitter than previous years, his kicks are always on their mark and he usually chips in with a goal or 2, he just doesnt get much of a go like sinclair

I think Dean will resort to his GoTo man in times of crisis, yes the one and only Boggler. The man he can play anywhere, on anyone.

In: Brown and someone who is prepared to run
Out: Harding and Watt

He should be sacked if he does this.

I'm serious.

Leigh Brown has contributed nothing all season and isnt needed for any specific role.

If Laidley pulls his usual bullshit and picks him, we need to get someone else to pick the team.

OUT: Harding (inj), Jones (if inj)

IN: Sinclair (some experience), Ross (for Jones if Inj)

I support Dean bringing in Edwards and McIntosh. I'd rather Macca in the ruck than Goldy in the finals, purely because he is more matured and would probably fair better against Jolly. I'd bring in Edwards because we could plunk him 25m's out from goal and just tell him to lead whenever Wells or Boomer get the ball.

I don't think it's the right time to swing millions of changes... finals time, not the greatest time. Harro, Simmo, Jonesy and Urqy look a bit worse for wear at the moment but they should stay in. Give them a #@^&ing rocket Dean and see if they produce. If Harris and Jones don't perform, I would consider floating them around at trade time.

I wouldn't drop anyone. Stuff 'em.

Get out there and fix it or **** off.

Hehehe,

Thats what i was sort of thinking too. But I do think Hamish needs to be dropped.

Don't think he will be of any use for us & also i reckon the structure we had before he came in seemed to be working well.

The all important changes for next week