The Big Sliders for 07

Melbourne will do one of two things...

Have their usual off year and get some nice draft picks.

Or sit around 8th, win at the MCG, but remain mere cannon fodder for the real threats.

Roo's to slide.

Of the top sides its hard to tell, Crows may be in trouble considering the age of their list. West coast arnt going anywhere, only team last year able to match it with them consistently were freo, sydney and saint kilda if they pull their fingers out may be able to as well.

To beat the coasters you need to match it with Cox, have an attacking half backline and have a great strike rate when the ball moves into your forward line.
Thank god for Sandilands, McPharlin, Hayden, Pavlich/Farmer/Tarrant.

Sydney are similar with strength across the ground and a forward line to punish the eagles.

To those saying freo will slide you must be kidding, the only players that will go backwards next year are Parker, McManus and PERHAPS to some degree farmer (Though massively debateable). While Sandilands, Murphy, Crowley, Peake to name a few will only get better.

New recruits Tarrant, Solomon and Haselby are massive plus's. No club in the competition has made as much improvement over the offseason as the dockers.

From Port - Shaun Burgoyne, Josh Mahoney and Damon White

Others - Tyson Edwards, Matthew Robbins, Chris Johnson, Heath Scotland, Shane O'Bree, Andrew Welsh, Matthew Carr, Josh Hunt, Joel Smith, Brady Rawlings, Nathan D. Brown, Greg Tivendale, Andrew Thompson, Ben Mathews and Chad Fletcher.
Yeah i was thinking Robbo aswell but could come to grips with saying it:(

But i dont see why everyone is on his back, the guy kicked 45 goals this season, more than Richo a bloody FF!

Pretty hard to say, but I'll give it a go.

-------------------------------------------------

Adelaide: McLeod, Edwards
Bulldogs: Robbins, Possibly Grant
Brisbane: Nothing comes to mind?
Carlton: Nick Stevens, again
Collingwood: Buckley, Rocca (Perhaps a few others like Maxwell, Swan?)
Essendon: Hird, Hille, J. Johnson
Fremantle: Longmuir (sp?)
Geelong: Scarlett, King, S. Johnson
Hawthorn: Crawford
Melbourne: Robertson, Neitz
North Melbourne: Thompson, Simpson, Harvey, Archer
Port Adelaide: Lade, Mahoney
Richmond: Brown (Due to injury), Gasper, Chaffey
Sydney: Barry, Davis
St. Kilda: Hamil, Gehrig, Harvey
West Coast: Cousins, Wirrpunda, Sampi

Note: Some of these will still be good players (eg. Cousins, Gehrig etc.) but I think these could all drop off a bit from this (almost) past year.

Hard to judge, but might as well have a punt on it.

Yeah i was thinking Robbo aswell but could come to grips with saying it:(

But i dont see why everyone is on his back, the guy kicked 45 goals this season, more than Richo a bloody FF!
and that’s the point, he had a great year, all credit to him as he gives it everything, but I don’t think he is talented enough to have another year like he did this year, hence I think he will slide.

Sorry mate you've just demonstrated a distinct lack of knowledge about Melbourne. Calling Bruce a B Grader was the icing on the cake.

Please at least watch a game or two of ours before spouting this kind of crap again, what a truly ridiculous post.

I'm sorry, I must admit I didn't watch too many games of yours this year, not being a very big club and all.

I did watch three beauties against the Dockers though. Your friend picked up 18 , 17, and 9 possessions in the two regular season games and then the final respectively. In those games he was playing on the likes of Steven Dodd, a second year player who came off of the rookie list. He picked up 17, 21 and 13 in the corresponding games.

He also picked up 14 against Hawthorn, 17 agaisnt Essendon, 14 against Richmond, 17 against Carlton and 18 against the Kangaroos. These are very low possesion counts aginst very low quality teams. Not the mark of an A grade player.

Your own website believes that. "Bruce has developed into a quality goal kicking midfielder capable of hurting the opposition on the scoreboard." So why only one point in all three of the games against us.

By the way, did you know that Freo have already signed over 33,000 members. Your website says 7,000. Looks like Melbourne won't just be sliding on the field this year.

and that’s the point, he had a great year, all credit to him as he gives it everything, but I don’t think he is talented enough to have another year like he did this year, hence I think he will slide.
I think Higgins might take his spot. Its going to be a sad day for poor old sexy. Hopefully he can prove everyone wrong:) .

What about Lappin for the lions, or even both of them. Are getting on in the age depo. And N Lappin hasnt played all of last season i could see him sliding.

tsk tsk, Bruce played a lot of last year in the backline stopping dangerous forwards (in fact he tore your prized recruit in Tarrant a new **************** when we played the pies on QB).

Keep slagging off Bruce, it doesn't bother me, he's a great player and definitely A-grade. Anyone who knows a thing abobut football knows this.

but as you said,you didn't watch us very much did you.

I'm sorry, I must admit I didn't watch too many games of yours this year, not being a very big club and all.

I did watch three beauties against the Dockers though. Your friend picked up 18 , 17, and 9 possessions in the two regular season games and then the final respectively. In those games he was playing on the likes of Steven Dodd, a second year player who came off of the rookie list. He picked up 17, 21 and 13 in the corresponding games.

He also picked up 14 against Hawthorn, 17 agaisnt Essendon, 14 against Richmond, 17 against Carlton and 18 against the Kangaroos. These are very low possesion counts aginst very low quality teams. Not the mark of an A grade player.

Your own website believes that. "Bruce has developed into a quality goal kicking midfielder capable of hurting the opposition on the scoreboard." So why only one point in all three of the games against us.

By the way, did you know that Freo have already signed over 33,000 members. Your website says 7,000. Looks like Melbourne won't just be sliding on the field this year.
Bruce did play in defence this year so that would contribute singificantly to his disposals.

Don't lay into Melbourne when it comes to memberships, it's a bit tight comparing Freo and Melbourne, as Melbourne doesn't have the luxury of coming from a two team town.

Bruce is quality, anyone who questions that is a fruitcake.

Getting back on topic, I get the feeling J. Brown is going to struggle, as much as I admire him as a player, I certainly hope it doesn't happen but it's a gut feeling

Thank god for Sandilands, McPharlin, Hayden, Pavlich/Farmer/Tarrant.

So Tarrant has become a good footballer,all of a sudden?:confused:
When did this happen?
According to almost all footy supporter last season,he was a HACK when he played for the Pies.
Or has he only become good now that he wears purple?

Bruce did play in defence this year so that would contribute singificantly to his disposals.

never mind that kind of logic that only comes with actually seeing him play, it is much more important to know exactly how many possessions he got, as everyone knows the only way to influence a game is by having heaps and heaps of possessions.

Hmm, great selective use of stats there. Why don't you take a look at Bruce's entire season? If you did, you would realise he averaged 22.7 disposals last year, which is in fact more than anyone from fremantle bar Peter bell.

So I guess that means that virtually all of freo are b-grade and below than, huh?

I had Cameron Bruce in my dream team, and captain of it for half the yr, the man is a definate A grade footballer. I would go as far to say he was the best at Melbourne, his welcome at the cattery anytime.

As is David Mundy the kid will be a star.

In terms of teams, Melbourne, Brisbane and Adelaide might all be in trouble - but for very different reasons.

Melbourne's backline is a problem, despite the best efforts of Carroll etc.
Brisbane are unstable. That can't be a good thing.
Adelaide is aging. They may have missed their shot.

As for players, you reckon Fevola is in for some curry.

Sorry Rory but since when have you been a Prophet? :confused:

The fact you hold a major grudge against the Adelaide Crows and Neil Craig gives you absolutely no credibility on this subject. What motivation does Terry Wallace have in selecting the Adelaide Crows to finish top? none

but we all know your motivation in bad mouthing the Crows.

Havent you read all of the threads from Port prophets? They have looked into the future and are sure the Crows are in for doom,our juniors are no good, theirs are better and they are a good thing to win a flag before we do.

Personally I prefer to take the opinion of a current AFL coach, not fans with one hand on the keyboard and the other looking for their manhood.

Pretty hard to say, but I'll give it a go.

-------------------------------------------------

Adelaide: McLeod, Edwards
Bulldogs: Robbins, Possibly Grant
Brisbane: Nothing comes to mind?
Carlton: Nick Stevens, again
Collingwood: Buckley, Rocca (Perhaps a few others like Maxwell, Swan?)
Essendon: Hird, Hille, J. Johnson
Fremantle: Longmuir (sp?)
Geelong: Scarlett, King, S. Johnson
Hawthorn: Crawford
Melbourne: Robertson, Neitz
Port Adelaide: Lade, Mahoney
Richmond: Brown (Due to injury), Gasper, Chaffey
Sydney: Barry, Davis
St. Kilda: Hamil, Gehrig, Harvey
West Coast: Cousins, Wirrpunda, Sampi

Note: Some of these will still be good players (eg. Cousins, Gehrig etc.) but I think these could all drop off a bit from this (almost) past year.

Hard to judge, but might as well have a punt on it.

Chaffey has retired, Brown didn't play much last year so I can only see hime getting better next year. He is training the house down at the moment. Gasper couldn't get much worse than last year.:D

Sorry mate you've just demonstrated a distinct lack of knowledge about Melbourne. Calling Bruce a B Grader was the icing on the cake.

Please at least watch a game or two of ours before spouting this kind of crap again, what a truly ridiculous post.

never mind that kind of logic that only comes with actually seeing him play, it is much more important to know exactly how many possessions he got, as everyone knows the only way to influence a game is by having heaps and heaps of possessions.

So Davey, Yze, Bruce all these amazing players dont get many possesions, but influence the game...so who gets the ball on your team?

Either way I don't care and Bruce is B grade. A grade is AA material, which he is not. In fact, none of your team is AA material for 2007 except for Robbo. By thew way, I wasn';t bagging him, but he is too small to hold down the jobs hes holding down.

We have the luxury of coming from a two team town, when you have the luxury of 100 years head start and having the MCG as a home ground, capable of holding about 15 times your current members.

Get a grip mate. You're team is sliding. Rebuilding time, lol.

Carlton Can't Slide Any Longer They Came Last in '06

captain.jpg

;)

Havent you read all of the threads from Port prophets? They have looked into the future and are sure the Crows are in for doom,our juniors are no good, theirs are better and they are a good thing to win a flag before we do.

Personally I prefer to take the opinion of a current AFL coach, not fans with one hand on the keyboard and the other looking for their manhood.

I take what they say about the Adelaide Football Club and especially Neil Craig with a grain of Salt.

Simpson, Harvey and Archer had a very average 2006, would have to not play in 2007 to actually "slide". Thompson is the only one that had a reasonable year.

With a more dominate midfield he still has some more improvement in him.

The Big Sliders for 07