The Big Sliders for 07

Lol. We scored 5 goals directly from ruck taps.

That's debatable

Anyway

You would think that when a ruckman gets 39 hit outs in a game that team would win the clearances.

Not that i'm saying Sandilands is no good, far from it in fact

I had Cameron Bruce in my dream team, and captain of it for half the yr, the man is a definate A grade footballer. I would go as far to say he was the best at Melbourne, his welcome at the cattery anytime.

As is David Mundy the kid will be a star.

lol. Damn you beat me to it. He was my captain as well. hes definately a gun. he was top of the league for half the season as well

You keep showing a massive lack of knowledge buddy. Our main ball winners are Trav Johnstone, James McDonald, Daniel Ward and Brock McLean. Just fyi and all that ;)

How exactly is Russel Robertson too small to hold down forward pocket?

Your best ball winners were found in the Centrelink doll line.They are far from A grade too.

Maybe I was a little ambiguous...who are the A grade key ball winners for your club? There are none right?

Your team is sliding on and off the field and the sooner you merge with a third AFL licence in WA, the better for your club.

I quite like the sound of the Bunbury Demons. You could play in the mighty WAFL if it doesn't work out, so Peel might win a few games. Hmm, maybe that's putting a bit too much pressure on a club with 7000 members. Two team town or not....your club doesn't have the talent to keep you alive when the AFL handouts dry up in a few years.

Hmm, great selective use of stats there. Why don't you take a look at Bruce's entire season? If you did, you would realise he averaged 22.7 disposals last year, which is in fact more than anyone from fremantle bar Peter bell.

So I guess that means that virtually all of freo are b-grade and below than, huh?

9 touches in a final as a midfielder...and don't say he played in defence, becasue we all saw the Bowden brothers stats this year. That simply doesn't happen to A grade players unless they get knocked out.

Get over it...he is not elite. White might have been if Cox, Sandilands, Goodes, Everritt and Primus were never born.

Neitz was A grade in 06 and yeah he may well be okay in 07 too, but his hammies aint gonna be loving him.

Just don't come trying to compare Bruce with Bell, Pavlich, Judd, S.Black, J.Brown, the above ruckmen, West, Cousins, Kerr and on and on and on.

2005 aside? it was only 3 meetings ago we kicked our second highest score ever v your mob at an important jucture of the season, particularly for your mob.

But then games that mean something have never been Melbournes forte

In the last twelve years you've beaten us twice. We own you.

you st kilda fans don't even have the balls to evaluate your team honestly.

Fact is, you gort physically smashed in the finals by a team you keep calling soft (yet has had the wood over you since the inception of the AFL) - keep talking smack, you know we own you.

Bollocks, you outlasted us.

Call it fitness, team selection, too many unfit players, whatever you want, but whilst St Kilda could muster the intensity you got smashed.

When the sting went out the usual suspects came into the game. Irrespective of the Saints strengths and weaknesses it will be a big hole in Melbournes game again this year, particularly in the games that mean something.

Much like the last few years.

Talking about having the balls to evaluate our team honestly and then talking about Melbournes physicality is quite humerous, keep going.

No doubt you'll be the one cheering Greens and Daveys frontrunning efforts
when the hardness has gone.

As for the Saints we need to get quicker and finish games better. We also need a big body in the ruck. The rucks we have are adequate for three quarters but we endlessly get smashed in the 4th quarter. The Port Adelaide final of 3 years ago should have told us something when Knobel came on at 3 quarter time and nearly swung the game. Another backman would be nice also, we have no one to defend the Nietz's of the world once they get on top of Max. Another forward option in terms of gameplan would also be nice when plan A of bang it in long isn't working.

Extra hardness v the likes of Melbourne is not something we need to search for no matter how much you wish it were...

...honestly

Adelaide.

With their older players starting to lose it and no younger players coming through they are in a lot of trouble. Well I should correct myself, no quality young players coming through. Tough times ahead which could see Neil Craig "released" from his contract.

A predictable and disingenious offering :rolleyes:

9 touches in a final as a midfielder...and don't say he played in defence, becasue we all saw the Bowden brothers stats this year. That simply doesn't happen to A grade players unless they get knocked out.

Get over it...he is not elite. White might have been if Cox, Sandilands, Goodes, Everritt and Primus were never born.

Neitz was A grade in 06 and yeah he may well be okay in 07 too, but his hammies aint gonna be loving him.

Just don't come trying to compare Bruce with Bell, Pavlich, Judd, S.Black, J.Brown, the above ruckmen, West, Cousins, Kerr and on and on and on.

Did you even read my post?? By the looks of your reply i would say no.

How can you judge a player on one game?? Like i said in my initial post, bruce averages 22.7 disposals a game. Thats on AVERAGE.

Why don't we see how he stacks up against your so called elite player in Bell.

Cameron Bruce Name Peter Bell Melbourne Team Fremantle 146 Career Games 251 MHSOB Origin South Fremantle September 30, 1979 Date of Birth March 1, 1976 27 Age 30 190 cm Height 175 cm 88 kg Weight 85 kg 24 2006 Games 23 22.7 Disposals 23.7 12.9 Kicks 13.3 4.8 Long Kicks 3.2 7.4 Marks 5.1 0.5 Contested Marks 0.3 9.8 Handballs 10.3 4.2 Tackles 4.1 0.9 Goals 0.6 0.9 Behinds 0.5 1.1 Frees For 1.7 1.2 Frees Against 0.7 0.1 Hitouts 0 2.7 First Possessions 2.7 1.7 Clearances 2.3 3.5 Inside 50s 2.7 1.9 Rebound 50s 2.0 2.0 Contested Possessions 1.7 21.1 Uncontested Possessions 21.3 5.2 1%ers 3.7 3.7 Errors 2.5 1.0 Bounces 1.0

Hmm, pretty even I would have thought. Bell averages about 1 more disposal than bruce, but bruce averages 0.3 goals more, which doesn't seem like much but there is a big difference between 6 goals in 10 games and 9 goals in 10 games.

Overall they're pretty equal, and for you to say that Bruce is b-grade, means that you're basically saying Bell is b-grade.

softmelb4zf.jpg

Overall they're pretty equal, and for you to say that Bruce is b-grade, means that you're basically saying Bell is b-grade.

We all know that Bell is A grade and no one here will doubt that. Look at his performance in the Melbourne Freo final when we flogged the bejesus out of you.

Performing in finals is what it's all about and Bruce looked like a scared little boy that day. Peter Bell was nothing short of inspirational.

Also, Bruce doesn't come close to Bell in courage, disposal skill, leadership and general footy knows. He's in his prime at the moment, whille Bell is on his last couple of years. Bell has shown over years and years that he is elite. Bruce is close, but not to be compared to the Pavs, Judds, Cox, Sandilands, Kerr etc...

Look, fact is that Freo have A gradeplayers on the list and Melbourne don't.

Rick James is still fuming over Melbournes capitulation in that final against Freo after losing twice to us during the year. For a Melbourne suppporter to come out and say that Freo are going to slide this year, when the post was on players is a ********ing joke.

Sad, angry little Gutnick style tosses.

Go the Bunbury Demons

We all know that Bell is A grade and no one here will doubt that. Look at his performance in the Melbourne Freo final when we flogged the bejesus out of you.

Performing in finals is what it's all about and Bruce looked like a scared little boy that day. Peter Bell was nothing short of inspirational.

Also, Bruce doesn't come close to Bell in courage, disposal skill, leadership and general footy knows.

Look, fact is that Freo have A gradeplayers on the list and Melbourne don't.

Rick James is still fuming over Melbournes capitulation in that final against Freo after losing twice to us during the year. For a Melbourne suppporter to come out and say that Freo are going to slide this year, when the post was on players is a ********ing joke.

Sad, angry little Gutnick style tosses.

Go the Bunbury Demons
Bruce is easily in the top 10 in the league for disposal accuracy...so what are you on about?

The only reason Cousins spews at training is because of the drugs he's on, if not the hangover from the night before.

I was pulled over outside the Eagles team store at Subi Oval by an RBT stop and was ushered into the car park along Roberts Road that all the players park in. In reply to my questiuon of, "Are you waiting for Cousins to get to training", I was given a laughing "Precisely" in reply from the policeman

Enough said :D

Gee, do you have any more A grade material like that?? Maybe you could go on tour.:p

Haha, actualy thats down right hilarious. The cops set up an RBT where all the Eagles players park for training?! Haha,

Did you go look into Hoogs' message history Ditto? Thats trying a little hard to find an insult isn't it. Maybe you couldn't go on tour?...or you could go with Michael Richards. I hear his material is pretty premo these days.

Anyways, my sliders for 07 are Bulldogs and Melbourne. Both over achieved last year and as hard as it will be for them to admit it, but they probably won't make the eight. I would be surprised if either made it out of the bottom four.

Cooney to hold up the midfield by himself. Ray to be traded/delisted at the end of the year.

On a less positive note and in opposition to the big improver posts, which players will drop off in 07, Im tipping a few Collingwood players will.
Rocca and Big bucks .
Richo for the Tiges will be in for a shocker.
Cousins for obvious reasons.

St Kilda mate! bunch of big headed nerds who are slowly falling from grace!!

Big Nick will cry over some spilt milk. Hamill will never play again or at any level that he was. Gehrig will be certified at a mental institution in April. No Harvey. No backline. Maguire will struggle to play with serious complications on his leg.

Haha, actualy thats down right hilarious. The cops set up an RBT where all the Eagles players park for training?! Haha,

Did you go look into Hoogs' message history Ditto? Thats trying a little hard to find an insult isn't it. Maybe you couldn't go on tour?...or you could go with Michael Richards. I hear his material is pretty premo these days.

Anyways, my sliders for 07 are Bulldogs and Melbourne. Both over achieved last year and as hard as it will be for them to admit it, but they probably won't make the eight. I would be surprised if either made it out of the bottom four.

Cooney to hold up the midfield by himself. Ray to be traded/delisted at the end of the year.

Simple things.................

I guess it's not funny when it's your team and they're in the news every week for being drunk and getting up to trouble.

Just finished reading about Spaanderman trying to bargain down 15 charges to 1, with the cops oiver an incident with a baseball bat. Must have been his initiation.

I guess it's not funny when it's your team and they're in the news every week for being drunk and getting up to trouble.

Just finished reading about Spaanderman trying to bargain down 15 charges to 1, with the cops oiver an incident with a baseball bat. Must have been his initiation.
It happened last year fool.

Have a look at the West Coast board, not many people are happy about him being rookied.

The Big Sliders for 07