The Breust conundrum

Dec 23, 2008
behind enemy lines
I want to preface this post by acknowledging what wonderful player he’s been and to summon a tired cliche, an ornament to the game. Brooosty, as we are all aware was pick 47, in the rookie draft no less, and because of this and his unfashionable name, was pretty much written off before his career started- at least by some.

And so as the curtain lowers on a remarkable career, Sammy has a decision to make. Assuming he plays every game for rest of the year and we don’t play finals (I know, blasphemy), the Brewster will be stranded on 298 games. A lousy 2 games short of the 300 milestone. A brief look at the AFL tables will tell you a career this close to 300 has never been terminated. Lenny Hayes and Wayne Campbell signed off after 297 games.

Conversely the are 10 players that have fallen over the line at 300, and another three that have finished their careers on 301, 302 and 303 games. One can only conclude that majority of these players were nursed to the milestone. So is there still sentiment in footy? Should Sammy let his former go around in 2025 and become a member of 300 club? With list spots at a premium and Luke slowing down is romance just a dream?

There is no conundrum IMO.

Breust will not command a place on our list next season unless it's going to be some unofficial playing/coaching role that will see him play mostly at Box Hill, and perhaps a few games in the seniors in case of injuries. We will have more than a few delistings, so it depends on how many quality players come into the club.

If he doesn't make it to 300, so be it.

There is no conundrum IMO.

Breust will not command a place on our list next season unless it's going to be some unofficial playing/coaching role that will see him play mostly at Box Hill, and perhaps a few games in the seniors in case of injuries. We will have more than a few delistings, so it depends on how many quality players come into the club.

If he doesn't make it to 300, so be it.
We destroyed our culture when we shipped of Birchall, Hodge, Mitchell and Lewis to win a premiership. Honour your veterans, is key to success. A spot on the rookie list cost us nothing.

It's also amazing how quickly people are to write Breust off, Plendburry looked munted for the first 2 months of the season and look how he's responded.

I'd keep him on the list next year but I'd make it clear to him that he would be competing with Ginni / Watson for that small forward spot and he will only be picked on form not reputation so he could end up playing VFL.

Will be interesting to see how many of Bruest, Gunston and Wingard keep playing on in 2025. Their form in the second half of the season will play a large part in what happens there.

I want to preface this post by acknowledging what wonderful player he’s been and to summon a tired cliche, an ornament to the game. Brooosty, as we are all aware was pick 47, in the rookie draft no less, and because of this and his unfashionable name, was pretty much written off before his career started- at least by some.

And so as the curtain lowers on a remarkable career, Sammy has a decision to make. Assuming he plays every game for rest of the year and we don’t play finals (I know, blasphemy), the Brewster will be stranded on 298 games. A lousy 2 games short of the 300 milestone. A brief look at the AFL tables will tell you a career this close to 300 has never been terminated. Lenny Hayes and Wayne Campbell signed off after 297 games.

Conversely the are 10 players that have fallen over the line at 300, and another three that have finished their careers on 301, 302 and 303 games. One can only conclude that majority of these players were nursed to the milestone. So is there still sentiment in footy? Should Sammy let his former go around in 2025 and become a member of 300 club? With list spots at a premium and Luke slowing down is romance just a dream?
Breust has played 3 full games this year plus 2 as sub. His previous body of work, just last year, he was our leading goal scorer and All Australian squad.

He’s obviously been injured this year and carrying a niggle, so we haven’t seen his best. Reckon as the season plays out, it’ll become clearer whether there’s a spot for him or not.

In any case, given his body of work and reputation at the club, he’ll be given every chance to clock that milestone. Don’t see it as much of a conundrum. Still think he has it.

Depends if he gets over the groin issue.

Sam mentioned it again today, that he still hasn't recovered fully yet.
From round 1 he just hasn't had that ability to push out of the ground with his legs, it's always been such a weapon of his, not surprised at all that he's battling groin issues, hopefully he can come out of it and get to 300 next year

Take Punky and Gunners out I’m sure it would significantly drop our avg age. But have a look at the impact Gunners has had on Dear taking him under his wings recently and I’m sure Punky is doing the same with our small forwards. Given our list profile can’t only look at their on field performance

Both Lenny Hayes and Wayne Campbell were club captains who didn’t get an extra year to play 3 more games to make it 300.

Sam Mitchell was sent packing his boots over to West Coast to finish as a two club player after a robust chat to Clarko.

There’s your answer I think - no room for sentiment.

Of course he finishes if he’s not clearly up to it.

According to Sammy, his groins are still an issue (whatever the hell groins are).
Still best 22 when fit imo.
If his 'groins' remain an issue for the rest of the year, it will have to be his last year, I'm afraid.

The fact that they're still an issue after so many weeks out is a real worry...it kils the thing that makes him unstoppable, his agility

Last season he struggled early, kicking only 8 goals in 6 games. But by the end of the season he ended up with his equal fourth highest career tally in 47. This was actually his equal second highest goal per game average for his career.

Now you'd be mad to expect him to turn it around again to the degree, as niggling injuries and age obviously catch up with everyone. But he could still have an impactful second half to the season.

Though if he doesn't and he ends up retiring at the end of the season, we at least have a few other options to play a similar role in Watson, Moore, Hardwick and potentially a returning Wingard.

On a side note, I wonder if either of Bennetts and JOS get another year.

Both Lenny Hayes and Wayne Campbell were club captains who didn’t get an extra year to play 3 more games to make it 300.

Sam Mitchell was sent packing his boots over to West Coast to finish as a two club player after a robust chat to Clarko.

There’s your answer I think - no room for sentiment.

Of course he finishes if he’s not clearly up to it.
And how did that work out for Hawthorn.....poor example

Reports of his demise are very premature. If this is how the season plays out, then fair enough. It will be obvious to everyone and think he would retire without question.

But, I’m not convinced that when fit and playing 4 qtrs he won’t be back to last years form and well and truly worth his place in a young fwd line.

He might still choose to retire with his great mate at the end of this year. i get the impression 300 is nice but if he feels he is holding wiz and ginni back, then he will go.

Regardless, i hope he proves to everyone he still has what it takes to go on, then makes the call he wants to make.

The Breust conundrum