Welcome The Dotti Memorial BigFooty Saints Dog Lovers Thread

To add to the Saints dog lovers night… here’s my beautiful Bella.

She’s only 2 and the best companion Ive ever had.

And she’s never met a muddy puddle that she didn’t love.

0f1e6f6be077840905386be131448265.jpg

That's so cool

I have a minutre Schnauzer (Lenny) he brings a lot happiness to the whole house/family

We don't deserve dogs, had to put down my family dog of 16 years down late last year (not this one pictured) which was the most heart wrenching thing ever. Dogs my only be a part of our lives, but their whole life revolves around us.

Now I put all my love into my pure breed lab. Thankfully the missus agreed to call him Max - all my dogs have had a saints affiliated name. IMG_6612.JPG

On Pixel 7 using BigFooty.com mobile app

My dog is probably the worst dog in the universe but I wouldn't give her away for a million bucks. She literally bit a brand new tyre last weekend that was only replaced because she'd bitten through the last one. Also ate a seat belt and made the interior of my car look like it's been vandalised. She hates most people and other dogs but she's ace. It's hard to work out what's good about her but she's got a huge personality and likes me more than anyone else. That's good enough for me.... St Kilda in a dog, takes heaps and offers * all but pain but I love her anyway.
They do say dogs take on the personality of their owners….

That’s not a muddy puddle.
This is a muddy puddle.
This is normally a white dog.
BC7E18CA-59AA-4D7D-A9EE-5E8F5EB7F731.jpeg

JB's dog in the picture is a Bernese Mountain Dog (correct me if I am wrong)

My daughter is obsessed with them thanks to IKEA who do soft toy BMDs .... we came across a live one the day (its owner was walking it) and she didn't want to leave it ... of course got talking to the owner who said they only live on average around 8 years.... which isn't long
Correct. Not suited to Australia, should be in cold climates, has a double coat and we need to keep him in air conditioning during summer.
The grooming after lockdown took 6 hours and cost over $400.
Barrels hope our dog talk has taken the edge of the pain old mate.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

My dog is probably the worst dog in the universe but I wouldn't give her away for a million bucks. She literally bit a brand new tyre last weekend that was only replaced because she'd bitten through the last one. Also ate a seat belt and made the interior of my car look like it's been vandalised. She hates most people and other dogs but she's ace. It's hard to work out what's good about her but she's got a huge personality and likes me more than anyone else. That's good enough for me.... St Kilda in a dog, takes heaps and offers * all but pain but I love her anyway.
Can she take a grab by any chance?

Sorry for your loss Barrels. Saying goodbye is never easy, but that’s testimony to the love we give and get back, and both sides of that transaction is good for our souls.

Before we got married my wife brought her dog to the office on a weekend where I was putting in extra hours. An hour later the dog had wandered off, and she had an almighty panic attack, because the office fronted a busy road.

That beautiful 12 year old mutt had found me in an office two doors down the hallway and after a few pats curled up at my feet and went to sleep. When I realised mum was panicking I picked her boy up and was able to deliver him in to her arms. She married me six years later.

Our man is no longer with us, but I still blame the dog to this day.

My guy passed nearly two years ago now.
I made it my mission to have him leave peacefully, and with grace (though I am sure a more suspicious animal might have wondered why he was getting crispy bacon in the two weeks prior to his release).
The truest comment about dogs that I have ever heard was on that ABC series about the Kelpie puppies being trained to be muster dogs.
The farmer from the Western District lost his favourite dog and said: “There’s only one thing wrong with dogs. They don’t live long enough.”
They steal our souls, but give us much happiness in return.
I have similar thoughts...the common thing with having pets is that you generally out live them..
I would walk my 2 labs off lead from home down to the pub, when I would go inside to grab a beer they would stand at the door watching me..
It's the first time in 25 years I haven't had a dog or cat at home.
My doggos. At the pub...and in the mub🥰 20190709_204332.jpg 20190407_104413.jpg .. Rip Daisy and Coco🍻 20190602_041641.jpg

PS we have two large dogs, an Irish Wolfhound cross GSP (old) and a Rottweiler (young). The best friends a family could ever have. 💜

(Even when the rottie sprays s**t all over the kitchen or scares the life out of the neighbours 😂)

Sorry for your loss Barrels.
I used to have a GSP cross Doberman awesome dog, amazing aerobic capacity, he could run for 15 kms out the side of the Ute have a drink and want to keep going., got him in Tassie.

Sounds like she is consistent 😊

I was just speaking with a neighbourhood acquaintance and her son ... son had just lost his 16.5yr old Golden Retriever recently, and was breaking in a 14wk old Groodle ... beautiful little pup with probably the best temperament I've ever seen in a dog of that age ...

I now tend to live vicariously through other peoples' pets, as I've got too many scars from losing pets when I was younger. Never did see them as anything less than a family member.
We all see our pets as family members. I have my mum's 16 year old cat. Luckily still going strong. But wakes me up at 5am wanting breakfast

I have similar thoughts...the common thing with having pets is that you generally out live them..
I would walk my 2 labs off lead from home down to the pub, when I would go inside to grab a beer they would stand at the door watching me..
It's the first time in 25 years I haven't had a dog or cat at home.
My doggos. At the pub...and in the mub🥰View attachment 1598256View attachment 1598258.. Rip Daisy and Coco🍻View attachment 1598259
i think having a pet, even if your sad is one of the best things to keep your spirits and being more happier then you were, they are reliant on you and usually they love you. i remember my mum's lovable mutts. she loved them to bits, each and everyone one of them.

Your dogs ( unless they are physcos) will know you better then you do🥰

Welcome The Dotti Memorial BigFooty Saints Dog Lovers Thread