Autopsy The good, the bad and the Blakey. All in against the bloods

when Nick Larkey kicked his 7th but we were down by 8 goals or whatever it was

happy zapp brannigan GIF
Reminiscent of Hale kicking eight in a loss down at Government Handout stadium.

What makes me sick is the handouts those COLA flogs have had over the journey to allow them to be sustainably successful..

I wish we got an extra first rounder every second year and a salary cap you could run a semi-trailer through..

Campaigners..

After the Bulldogs completely changed the paradigm to huge effect in 2016, the rest of the competition heeded the memo that “constant motion” was the future of the game. We completely ignored or misplaced that particular memo. We are so dependent on individual brilliance to win the day for us. Now, we find ourselves completely out of kilter with the rest of the competition. Maybe, that’s what all the talk about Noble’s game-plan being too confusing for our players was all about. He was trying to play catch-up too quickly. Clarko has a lot of work to do to change us up. Anyway, I’ll feel better on Tuesday. I can’t wait to go to Marvel and see Cunners again.

It was glaringly obvious today how much fitter Sydney were, not to mention far more solid bodies.

We seems to have a few string beans like Powell, Stephenson, Taylor, Scott, Lazaro, Young…

Whoever the strength and conditioning coach is (or will be), should be the busiest person at the club over summer.

Lastly, Edwards needs to be eating a steak at the end of every quarter in the VFL to be able to take the next step in his development.

Hickey : 38 hitouts, 9 clearances v Goldy/CCJ : 31 hitouts, 5 clearances between them, didn't help the cause

Yeah, surprised how many are voting Goldstein in the Votes thread. I thought Hickey killed us in the ruck.

I just want to shout out for the development of Bailey Scott this year. He works hard, provides run, and generally not too bad using it. I like it in his hands.
Paul Curtis is something special. we only see glimpses of what he will become. But it's there.
LDU breath-taking. One of the only AFL player that has his first name always pronounced. If he was playing for any other team the frenzy that would be happening around him.
I'm not going lay in too much to the great warrior and servant of the club in JZ. Its obvious hís time is close. I just cant see why its beneath our club to not "manage" him like the cats do to selwood to at least have kept his body as fresh as possible for the games he plays. Too late now with 2 games left.

What makes me sick is the handouts those COLA flogs have had over the journey to allow them to be sustainably successful..

I wish we got an extra first rounder every second year and a salary cap you could run a semi-trailer through..

Campaigners..

Everyone who has won a flag the last decade has received handouts and we are going to as well. We got Thomas from our academy, everyone is just trying to make the most of whatever they can get their hands on.

They are doing well moreso because they trade, draft and develop well, we are not.

First return to Melbourne since the Ben Brownification of Port Adelaide in pre-covid days. Good to be back.

Was on hand earlier at Arden St to see Cunners win the first possie to a big cheer...man, I love suburban footy. Was disappointed to have to leave for Marvel.

I flipping hate Sydney.

I flipping hate Sydney, but they continue to show us what an organised football side looks like, the bastards. A well organised football side punishes their opponents' fumbles, missed kicks/handballs & dropped marks; a well tuned footy side looks like they have 2 or 3 extra players on the field. They kick easy goals. They make the opposition look like a rabble. Sadly for us.

A big thank you to Cam Zurhaar for that bump on Blakey. That's what customer service looks like, Qantas, ya pack of chiselling bastards.

I flipping hate Sydney.

Everyone who has won a flag the last decade has received handouts and we are going to as well. We got Thomas from our academy, everyone is just trying to make the most of whatever they can get their hands on.

They are doing well moreso because they trade, draft and develop well, we are not.
We had to pay in points to get Tarryn, Sydney got Heeney for pick 18 and that was that. Absurd system, the fact that it took a rort of that level for the AFL to change the rules says it all. I daresay if we'd had a steal lined up like that, they would've changed it prior to the draft.

We didn't cough up anything remotely close to 18 for Thomas.

I just think bitching about handouts is meh, I am sick of losing to them but they have been a well run club for a long time and they don't play weak or insipid footy, it is something to aspire to for our own club.

Thought Corr was fantastic on Buddy, who padded his stat's with a couple of cheap ones. Beat him in pretty well every one on one contest.
Souva will be an absolute weapon in a good side. Love that he goes on and kicks bags, once he gets on top. Rampe will be a total liability for the swans in September, got smashed and could only hold and scrag.
LDU doing LDU things. Special footballer when he has the pill.
Curtis Taylor just digs in and runs his ass off every week. Really developing as a footballer, get him signed asap.
Sadly Jack is totally done as an AFL footballer, needs to consider whether he goes on next year. Sad because he's been an absolute warrior.
With all due respect to Jack, who over his 15 or so seasons has been a warrior: I know there are only a few more games left, but it’s actually a bit selfish of him remaining as an invisible Captain until the end of the year. I can’t imagine it helps his legacy as a pretty damaging bull in his prime.

It might be a nice positive change to hand over the reigns in the last round, play Cunners, and hopefully go out with a win…

Also, this game lay bare JHFs attitude problems. Watching Daicos and Darcy coming in and making such impressive starts would be playing on his ego.

I think I'm the polar opposite to him growing up. I was always ok/good at sport, but I worked very hard to be. He expects it all just to happen for him as a right of passage. Says alot about someones character. Looks like a guy that has never played in a team that doesn't thrash their opposition to a pulp.
So now is sulking, not putting in any effort. Cant get away with the old shoulder roll high tackle any more. You have to develop yourself a new weapon.

Whats the quote when we beat the GWS that time. - "hard work beats talent when talent doesn't work hard".

Absolute low point of the season occurred when Stevo kicked it to Buddy and didn't realise he was playing on. Buddy goals and runs in to bump him, just to add humiliation to how he was already feeling. Not one single North player took it up with the campaigner. He just walked back to his position with a few high fives. Absolute ****ing disgrace. Would not have happened with Tarrant still there. 👎👎👎👎

Normally, I don’t go in for the whole “flying the flag” thing. However, I was really impressed with Curtis Taylor’s efforts in standing up for Zurhaar in the last quarter.

Campaigners..
Second year? Their under the table NGAs, sons of assistant coaches, sons of the janitors, sons of the person who mows the lawns at the scg, COLA, afl-sanctioned super trades out of their arse, s*it’s me to tears.

I know the d*ns are the natural historical enemy of North, but Sydney is more despised.

Overall scoreline I'd expected, and we had a crack at least.

Hate being negative, but we're basically starting a player down with Ziebs still in. No more walker too please, I know our key back stocks are bad but would prefer to see mcguines or goater get smashed than see walker in. And JHF, for a bloke who wanted to be #1 pick I recon he's not top 10 of the draftees at the moment. I know ppl here will defend him (and maybe they should), but he doesn't get enough ball to skip doing all the hard things.

Autopsy The good, the bad and the Blakey. All in against the bloods