Opinion The I Was Wrong thread- Where Tom Atkins posts go to die

Did think Blicavs being drafted was an absolute joke and waste of a spot
Paul Chapman looked pretty rubbish and didn't think he would make it
Thought Clint Bizzel and Brett spinks were both the next Geelong 100 goal a season full forward

Bizzell wasn't that outrageous a call. He played outstanding footy for us at times from 1998-2001.

I've been wrong so many times I can't remember them all

The worst I can remember on the top of my head is when I predicted 140 goals from the Hawkins-Clark-Stanley combo in the 2015 pre-season

And early last year I thought that the Simpson McIntosh combo would solve our problems in the middle

I backed Cameron Thurley, Brown, Gamble, Hogan, Walker, Jansen, Cowan and many others

Yep. For sure. Plus the great half forward flanker David Ugrinic.

Did he ever actually exist? I remember Grant Tanner had a similar reputation and took a little while to be seen but ended up a pretty useful player (was sensational in that final against the Blues at VFL Park when Hocking, Bairstow and Couch were all out).

I've got a good one, because I just looked up the stats to prove this.

In the 04 prelim I think (from memory) Kingsley was out due to injury.
And we played Haynes out of the square.

He led up the ground strongly, and with purpose.
I reckon I said "I'm right about this guy"

Stats show he only had it 8 times that night :(
And played 3 more games.

I've got a good one, because I just looked up the stats to prove this.

In the 04 prelim I think (from memory) Kingsley was out due to injury.
And we played Haynes out of the square.

He led up the ground strongly, and with purpose.
I reckon I said "I'm right about this guy"

Stats show he only had it 8 times that night :(

Along a similar line, when Charlie Gardiner kicked two in 5 minutes against the Lions in that final in I think '05 I announced to the mate I was with at the game that he was "the answer".

Awesome! :D

Did think Blicavs being drafted was an absolute joke and waste of a spot
Paul Chapman looked pretty rubbish and didn't think he would make it
Thought Clint Bizzel and Brett spinks were both the next Geelong 100 goal a season full forward

You're not the only one who was wrong on Bizzell. I remember Buddha Hocking comparing him to Gary Ablett Snr in an interview.

Surely not 2015? The year before maybe?

Nope in 2015 right after the Freo game but before McIntosh broke down against Richmond in the VFL (he was great that game was best on ground and won us the game on one leg). I though that Simpsons ruck work was okay for the first quarter before he ran out of gas and just needed some real help.

You're not the only one who was wrong on Bizzell. I remember Buddha Hocking comparing him to Gary Ablett Snr in an interview.
That is an overblown story/urban legend. It was on Power FM in Ballarat where he did the weekly footy tips, i was on the bus on the way to school and heard it.

He said of all the players on the list Biz had some Ablett like qualities

So many for me.
Thought Jarrod Rooke was crap before he was Max.
Thought Mackie was hopeless before 2007.
Thought all of Mitch Brown, Gardiner and Gamble would make it.
Thought Jimmy shoulda retired last year but is playing allright.
That's only what I can remember

Did he ever actually exist? I remember Grant Tanner had a similar reputation and took a little while to be seen but ended up a pretty useful player (was sensational in that final against the Blues at VFL Park when Hocking, Bairstow and Couch were all out).
You haven't mixed him up with Arron Lord have you he's the bloke that came in and had a blinder that day.

That is an overblown story/urban legend. It was on Power FM in Ballarat where he did the weekly footy tips, i was on the bus on the way to school and heard it.

He said of all the players on the list Biz had some Ablett like qualities

Well, you've stuffed another one of my predictions Willo, I just had a bet with myself that Seeds would be all over that one. :mad:

I feel this thread will be better for the older posters. Mentioning some players I've never heard of.

I'd say the worst (and pre-dates being here) would be after the loss to WCE in 2006, having lost to Richmond the week before and flogged by the Pies the week before that (went to all 3 games), I was demanding Bomber be sacked and players like SJ and Kelly be traded. Couldn't have been more wrong.

Hmac was our missing piece to snag another flag.

Tenace would play 200 games.

After Cameron Ling's first few games I thought he was a spud. Lonergan had a period of panicking with the ball and looked to me like he would be a liability. Very happy to be proved wrong with both of these.

For players who didn't make it I had high hopes for Adam Varcoe.

Opinion The I Was Wrong thread- Where Tom Atkins posts go to die