Evo, you're sounding like one of those middle-aged social democrats who would celebrate the election of a Trotskyite, despite not having really believed in communism for decades
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Only to students who can't see beyond the term 'progressive'
Because the state is bigger than the individual,right?
You aren't seriously playing the "Paul is only looking after number one" card I hope.
http://www.tnr.com/politics/story.html?id=83665295-1de6-4571-af9c-0a90f6d1fde0
20 years of following politics,and I can honestly say he is the first viable politican I've ever come across whose self interest pales in comparrison(to any other politician)
Surely you don't honestly believe Bilary or Obama is interested in the working classes.They wan't to get elected.Period.
Are you appealing to the intelligence of the average American' According to you those "dumb rednecks" barely should be allowed to vote.
Yeah so? What's the deal,you actually like America when they are fighting causes you approve of?Rather convenient position.
I don't give a **** if he's likable.Since when was that a criteria for approving or disapprovaving of a potential candidate.
Lets make Eddie Maguire the next PM,eh.
I don't see the analogy.I've always believed in the libertines since I was uni age.It would be like Contra seeing an anarcho-sydncalist getting a sniff.It's a refreshing turn of events.Thats all.Evo, you're sounding like one of those middle-aged social democrats who would celebrate the election of a Trotskyite, despite not having really believed in communism for decades
But you did, anyway.Frankly I don't know enough about the man himself to make any comment about his motives.
I gave you a link that mentions the range of his supporters.It's not so easy to categorise as you've outlined.An easier way would be to group them as 'less government'.This may seem like an anachorism now but I can envisage a time when the majoritywill actually become sick of big brother.BB may seem like a slogan now,but his popularity amongst the internet community speaks to an ever growing group who have had enough.I'm just glad I'm still around to see the early stages of a revolt.Most of his supporters, however, are looking after number one. You don't find many people opposing public education, health care and social security who can't afford private health care, college tuition whilst still having a retirement nest egg hidden away.
I've never seen him change message in 20 years.I'm sorry. So it's okay to be cynical about any candidate but your guy? Interesting.
Where as Bilary changes positions every time the latest polls come in.I think Clinton is the most jaded, cynical and opportunistic candidate on the Democratic side. I can't stand her, I don't believe in her and I've made that very clear. I think Obama has much more credibility. Read about his career prior to politics and you'll see what I'm talking about.
Shrug.Also, if Obama is willing to do anything to get elected, he's doing it in a very unorthodox fashion. He's not afraid to piss powerful people off without just pandering to what people want to hear (as Edwards does).
Lets not be too literal.It's fair to say you don't rate the average voter,American or Australian.Thats the impression I get anyway.First of all, the insinuation that I believe that anybody should be deprived of their right to vote is insulting. You should know me better than that by now. Save the slogans for others.
Well every action the US has been involved in since WW2 could be construed as an 'act of agression'.It seems to me most people outside of the States love to have a bet each way.Either you approve or hegemony,or you don't.I'm not anti-American. I'm opposed to wars of aggression. I support multilateralism, whenever possible. America is a necessary part of any international effort. Again, I thought my position on this was fairly well known.
No,good day.You made an appeal to populism.It doesn't interest me ,thats all.I get you don't like his policies,thats painfully obvious.Having a bad day, are we? I thought it fairly straightforward: I don't find his positions likable. Frankly, I wouldn't have thought you would either.
Guilty as charged.Funny, Evo. You don't mind sinking the boot into other pollies, but you're remarkably touchy about your boy, aren't you?
Yawn.I hope your LINO (Libertarian In Name Only - do you like it?) brethren in the States enjoy their tax cuts if he gets in. Of course, they'd better buy the new car and home entertainment system before he sacks a few million federal employees and armed forces personnel and plunges the US and world economies into depression.
He's not a generic libertarian, Evo, and you know it (and he's certainly no "libertine).I don't see the analogy.I've always believed in the libertines since I was uni age.It would be like Contra seeing an anarcho-sydncalist getting a sniff.It's a refreshing turn of events.Thats all.
But you did, anyway.
I gave you a link that mentions the range of his supporters.It's not so easy to categorise as you've outlined.An easier way would be to group them as 'less government'.This may seem like an anachorism now but I can envisage a time when the majoritywill actually become sick of big brother.BB may seem like a slogan now,but his popularity amongst the internet community speaks to an ever growing group who have had enough.I'm just glad I'm still around to see the early stages of a revolt.
I've never seen him change message in 20 years.
Where as Bilary changes positions every time the latest polls come in.
Shrug.
Lets not be too literal.It's fair to say you don't rate the average voter,American or Australian.Thats the impression I get anyway.
Well every action the US has been involved in since WW2 could be construed as an 'act of agression'.It seems to me most people outside of the States love to have a bet each way.Either you approve or hegemony,or you don't.
No,good day.You made an appeal to populism.It doesn't interest me ,thats all.I get you don't like his policies,thats painfully obvious.
Guilty as charged.
Yawn.
CharlieG said:I give them more credit than I did a couple of years ago. That's not to say that I think many voters give their votes the consideration they deserve, I admit.
Come on.I'm no activist,it's never interested me.It's just an observation.It seems to me many people are fed up.Good.Ha. You sound like one of the gaggle that follows the WTO around from city to city speaking on behalf of the repressed masses.
I can't work out what Obama or Kucinich even stands for.Most middle politicians strike me that way though.Big on rhetoric,low on substance.I didn't say he had. I just noticed the double standard. I haven't seen Obama change message either, have you? For that matter, do you give the same credit to Dennis Kucinich?
Good,we both agree she's a fraud.Can I make myself any clearer? I'm not backing Hillary. I'll back her if she wins the nomination - but only because the worst Democrat in the field is better than the best Republican.
Yes,the polls.You're on shaky ground, Evo. Do you believe that Obama is pandering to the polls/donors or not? Please be clear.
Well where does Tony Blair reside.Good/Bad?I don't like hegemony, Evo. You're making this up as you go along. I want a responsible and sensible President in charge of the country with the greatest capacity to do good (and do bad) in the world.I want a President who will act in concert with world opinion.
Thats a simplistic portrayal of his position.Or for that matter any of his ilk in the past.I don't want a President who will vacate the field because he doesn't like paying taxes
Pardon me? We're not talking about minor details here, Evo. We're talking about where he stands on the death penalty, abortion and homosexuality. Things that you 'libertines' (you get inverted commas until you back away from him on this) should care about.
Don't you?Rightio then.I think it's a legitimate criticism, Evo. What effect would abolishing the Departments of Homeland Security, Education, Energy and Housing and Urban Development as well as agencies such as the IRS have on the American economy? Do you agree with him that public schooling should be abolished? What effect would that have on long-term productivity?
I don't think you've really thought this through. He's a flat-earther.
Are you appealing to the intelligence of the average American' According to you those "dumb rednecks" barely should be allowed to vote.
Yeah so? What's the deal,you actually like America when they are fighting causes you approve of?Rather convenient position.
I don't give a **** if he's likable.Since when was that a criteria for approving or disapprovaving of a potential candidate.
Lets make Eddie Maguire the next PM,eh.
You didn't answer the question, Evo. What impact do you think President Ron Paul would have on the US and world economies?
. He's opposed to abortion and has introduced bills that would allow states to prohibit abortion despite the decision of the Supreme Court. Most scarily, he defended laws against sodomy in Texas.
The guy is a nut.
The most relevant question is, after Bill gets another 2 terms will Jeb be too old to get his go?
I don't see the analogy.I've always believed in the libertines since I was uni age.It would be like Contra seeing an anarcho-sydncalist getting a sniff..
I'm a 'flat earther'-clearly I see it as having a positive impact.You didn't answer the question, Evo. What impact do you think President Ron Paul would have on the US and world economies?
And i think a reduction in bloated beauracracy would benefit all.Evo, you benefit from the trappings social democracy has provided, you'd do well to realize this.
This is a claim you've used against me in a similar thread long ago, that us lefties don't care about public voting.
In your opinion,I disagree.Sure we don't love the political thought process of the john smiths of this world but their needs are still important, and ultimately Paul would shaft the average American economically and socially.
Putting words in my mouth then rolling your eyes at it isn't an argument.When have i ever said the US shouldn't have got involved in WWII?Unlike you, there are some people who think that there ideals and things that are worth holding onto, or fighting for. When the US fights a well planned war, for the right reasons, I support it. You're the kind of guy who would've chucked a big sook when the US decided to get involved in WWII.
Charlie said his social policies aren't 'likable'.Radical steps rarely are.Thankfully he's not too interested in being liked.He just interested in doing what is the right thing(in his opinion)Stop twisting evo, that's not what charlie said and you know it, Paul is shaky on social issues.
I conceded i don't agree with position on that.His stance on abortion is a joke.
Charlie said his social policies aren't 'likable'.Radical steps rarely are.Thankfully he's not too interested in being liked.He just interested in doing what is the right thing(in his opinion)
Winning elections isn't supposed to be easy, and your opinion regarding Hillary Clinton is loud and clear. In my opinion though, the Democrats best chances of winning the election lay with either Edwards or Clinton for a number of reasons that go beyond issues alone. I can't see John Edwards winning the nomination though.
I'd like to respond more to your post and your unabashed hatred of Hillary Clinton, but for now I'll just say that of course she won't fracture the party like never before. She will pick a VP running mate that will make everybody happy, and everybody will come together for the good of the party. It has happened before and it will happen again.
Well yes, however the upcoming election should be the easiest for the Dems to win in a significant landslide considering everything the worst administration in modern US history has wrought in the past 7 years.
Of course it should be the easiest, but it's still going to be difficult regardless of which Democrat leads them into the election. That said, I feel that Clinton, Edwards or Obama are capable of beating any of the current Republican options.Well yes, however the upcoming election should be the easiest for the Dems to win in a significant landslide considering everything the worst administration in modern US history has wrought in the past 7 years.
I don't agree, and the current polls would support my opinion too. Clinton may have the most negative points, but it is also considered that she has the most positive points. A lot will come down to how well her campaign is run, which is the difficult part, but I believe that if she leads the Democrats into the election, then she will be the next president.But if Hillary is the nominee then in my opinion it's going to be beyond difficult for the Dems to win back the White House.
Firstly, where is this "hatred" from the Democratic party that you speak of? Do you have a source about that? If you do, then I'd be interested in reading it. I have seen some hostility toward her from fellow Democratic candidates, but I haven't seen any "hatred," and this is just a normal reaction when the other candidates have been playing catch-up in the polls for as long as they have been doing.With all her baggage, coupled with the already intense hatred and distrust for her from both sides of the aisle, I'm afraid she may ensure another loss for the party.
Good. I hope they do underestimate her because that will play right into the Clinton campaigns hand in my opinion.She is the candidate that the right are frothing at the mouth to run against.
They won't match the Republican voter turnout of 2004, while the Democratic voter turnout was disappointing, even though Kerry received the second most votes ever.The GOP are absolutely counting on her to mobilize and unify their base, especially since there's still a large chunk of Republicans in disarray and very unenthusiastic with their party's crop of candidates.
I don't agree. Karl Rove was able to get them to the polls in record numbers in 2004 on issues such as abortion and gay marriage, and I don't expect those record numbers to be matched, let alone beaten, in 2008. Despite those record numbers, John Kerry was still able to receive the second most votes in election history after a poorly run campaign.No one is going to motivate and maximize their turnout better than Hillary. Mark my words they will be out in droves.
But I think you're underestimating the strength of the Clinton support vote. The Democrats need to have a candidate that generates their base to the polls in record numbers, and the polls would suggest that it is Clinton. The Republicans won't match the voter turnout of 2004 with their current list of candidates, even with Clinton winning the Democratic nomination.I think you are underestimating the strength of the anti-Clinton vote.
Maybe it will be Elvis Costello? Yes there is talk of Bayh, but still stronger talk for Clark, and I expect him to be her preferred choice.If she wins the nomination and chooses Wes Clark, then I can see that happening But, there is quite strong talk that this will be the Dem ticket for 2008. Bayh bringing everybody together? I somehow don't think so.
Clinton may have the most negative points, but it is also considered that she has the most positive points. A lot will come down to how well her campaign is run, which is the difficult part, but I believe that if she leads the Democrats into the election, then she will be the next president.
Clinton will run a better campaign than Kerry did, and will generate a record Democrat voter turnout according to the current polls, and there will not be the amount of Republican voters as there was in 2004. Mark my words.
Her experience will be the reason that she would receive more votes than Kerry did in 2004. Her husband will be a big part of her campaign, and that will be a huge asset in battleground states such as FL, OH, and PA.Billary's big strength in the presidential election - as compared to Obama and Edwards - is her credentials to be Commander in Chief. Another Billary plus is that s/he has "recent" Admin experience of dealing with islamic terrorism and fighting other interventionist wars. Normally it's the vice president who is the candidate of "linkage" but in this case it is Billary.
He is highly respected by Americans, and I think Clark would be her best choice.Putting Wes Clark on the ticket would on the face of it strengthn these credentials even more
I'm not underestimating it, because I have not ignored her high negative factor amongst Republicans. I just don't think that any of the Republican candidates, Guiliani and McCain included, will be able to attract the record number of votes that Karl Rove was able to generate for Bush in 2004. I do feel though that Clinton will receive more votes than Kerry did in 2004.I think you are underestimating the visceral loathing for Billary in the Republican base?
I don't agree. I don't think that either of those candidates will be able to get the number of votes that Bush was able to get with the campaign that was run by Karl Rove, even with Clinton as the Democratic candidate.Am not so sure about Romney (seems too bland so far), but Guiliani or McCain would have to run a very incompetent campaign indeed not to get a maximum turn out in an election that will be just as polarised as '04 if the choice on offer is Billary.