Oppo Camp The Non-North Footy Discussion & Matchday Chat Thread (NNFD&MCT) VIII

One of the news stations said the GCS* franchise had some kind of no pay-out clause on Dewsy's contract.

*Gold Coast Scum.
That’s utter &&$#-@$@$&! How many concessions/ leg ups does this plastic franchise get….. hope he takes them to the cleaners for what he’s owed

Forgot for a moment that Ratts has been shoved aside for celebrity coaches twice.
For his own sake, I hope the time with us has helped heal that
Would think there are a few VFL teams that would be interested in him

How do Brisbane consistently push up the ladder so high? They never look like a bona fide top team and every finals series someone exposes them (usually badly) but there they are, every recent year perched up in the top 4.

It's weird.
Similar to Geelong, home ground advantage pretty solid, unbeaten this year so far 8/8, 10/12 last year

How do Brisbane consistently push up the ladder so high? They never look like a bona fide top team and every finals series someone exposes them (usually badly) but there they are, every recent year perched up in the top 4.

It's weird.
Classic front runners that beat up on mid level and lower level sides.

It's weird.
Reckon they make less mistakes than just about every other team and that means high floor, underwhelming ceiling. The Ash Barty of the AFL, if you will (mind you, Ash Barty actually won things). With finals, I don't think their style of play provides them enough when the intensity ramps up and some dare is necessary to circumvent sturdy defensive setups

It's weird.
They've been unlucky with injuries in the last couple of finals campaigns.

Fully fit, they'll beat Collingwood. They have the best balanced side in the comp.

Reckon they make less mistakes than just about every other team and that means high floor, underwhelming ceiling. The Ash Barty of the AFL, if you will (mind you, Ash Barty actually won things). With finals, I don't think their style of play provides them enough when the intensity ramps up and some dare is necessary to circumvent sturdy defensive setups
Seemed to get through Richmond and Melbourne's defense's ok in last years finals. Melbourne had the lowest points against last year so a pretty bloody sturdy defense. And Brissy were behind during the 3rd qtr in both matches so the intensity certainly had to ramp up for them to circumvent the defense and kick a winning score. They got smashed in the Prelim by a side that also smashed Sydney in the GF so weren't alone there. Geelong were red hot.

What exactly is it about their game style that you think doesn't allow them to do so well in finals, cause to me they seemed to pretty well last year?

Champion Data is the biggest rort and we got f*ed on the most cause the guy who worked there was a good North man and was mates with everyone. F*** me

Hoyne runs with this literally 8 days ago and now the blokes dropped. It’s not the stats either it’s the justification that he’s All Australian Ruckman