Oppo Camp The Non-North Footy Discussion & Matchday Chat Thread V

Loving the Brisbane sookery about umpiring.

And going on about Toby Greene when they have that pointy faced sniper Zorko.

Really ? For what ?
Apparently eye gouging again.

Herald Sun chief of football Mark Robinson reported the star player had “charged with unreasonable and unnecessary contact to the eyes”.

But there was no evidence he did it last week? Maybe they learned something - I heard Nathan Burke yesterday explaining how he would have laid the charge for high impact, not misconduct.

Just wow!

This is why the AFL match review system irks me. Last week... move along, nothing to see (despite video showing that there was) and this week, less video evidence (that I saw anyway) but Green goes for a week. The Abblet fiasco was even worse.

I'm in favour of Green being suspended, but he should have gone last week. If I were his counsel I'd be arguing that the Toby thought that AFL sanctioned eye gouging last week and Toby, being not the sharpest tool in the shed was of the certain belief that he's been allowed to deliberately poke his fingernails into the eye sockets of his opponent while a team mate is holding him down, otherwise he'd have been pinged for it last week.

That's an unlosable case.

Since footy, and this is mostly on the players themselves have over dramaticized their reactions or outright faked them to get a free kick it leads almost anyone to doubt the aftermath of any supposed or suggested contact to a player who reacts to it.

Neale covering his eyes could've been him just playing against the reputation of Greene in the wake of what happened with Bontempelli.

And also, I can't see exactly whether he did or didn't gouge eyes, I can only assume and I think thats what everyone is doing, assuming. So in a roundabout ****ed up way I can't believe I'm agreeing with Kane but I am. I don't think its conclusive at all and Neale's reaction after it happened doesn't tell me anything because every player cries wolf these days. Its pathetic soccer tier acting.

Toby Greene, GWS GIANTS, has been charged with making Unreasonable or Unnecessary Contact to the Eye Region of Lachie Neale, Brisbane Lions, during the second quarter of the Semi Final match between the Brisbane Lions and the GWS GIANTS, played at The Gabba on Saturday September 14.

In summary he can accept a one-match sanction with an early plea.

Based on the available evidence, the incident was assessed as Intentional Conduct with Low Impact and High Contact. The incident was classified as a one-match sanction.

I couldn't see any clear footage from last night's game. I think it was more obvious the week prior though.

Same, and if it was clear I'd probably agree with Lloyd, cop a fine at least. But it wasn't at all, so I have no clue how its jumped to a week suspension from that.

The Hawkins one was way more clear.

He should only be suspended if there's sufficient evidence to show that he's committed an indiscretion. On available evidence it appears pretty sketchy over the past few weeks.

With that said I'm not a fan of the way he carries himself, he has heaps of talent to burn and what he does is far from necessary. He's gotten a decent ride on the stuff he's genuinely done wrong and still acts like a dill.

If people would want him at North for his talent, fair enough but the physical shit is up there with Crowley et al whom we all lost our shit over.

This is tough IMO. Game has gone so far from it these days it's unrecognizable. If it weren't for our club would have given up on footy ages ago.

images

I couldn't see any clear footage from last night's game. I think it was more obvious the week prior though.

I thought the week before he just rubbed his fist in his face which i don't consider "eye gouging" but isn't very friendly. Its not unheard of in finals. I'd be willing to bet a few of our most celebrated names have done it.