Round 6 V Carlton (SAT)
Round 16 V Collingwood (SAT N)
Round 17 V Geelong (SAT)
Round 21 V Richmond (SAT N)
Round 22 V Essendon (SAT)

Should all draw blockbuster crowds

Not happy with playing Essendon at the TD again, at all :thumbsdown:

Playing Carlton once again for the season sucks :thumbsdown:

I agree its a joke - Essendon also have to play Geelong at the Dome again which is absurd

Why do Geelong have to play at Subiaco 2 matches in a row ?
I know its a 14 day break but thats a stupid thing re Subi .

Collingwood should play in Tasmania but they dont .

Carlton have many night games ( at least we dont see them live ) and we can watch something else on the tv .:)

Hawks travel too much for being the Premiers ( they surely pi%%ed off the AFL commission for winning this year )

Melbourne play too many games at the MCG given their club is in turmoil. etc and the runs ar not on the board .

North seem to travel a lot in the second half of the season :confused:

Richmond like Melbourne have a better draw than the Hawks ..why ?

Saints have an easy draw just like Sydney and the Dogs and Collingwood .

Eagles and Fremantle travel too much .

Hawks and North got scr##ed by the fixture committee.

Reminesent of 2003 when you played Sydney at the MCG

Pretty pissed that we don't play an away MCG game against either Essendon or Carlton (which both always sell out)

It doesnt seem to make any sense but Im actually looking forward to it, its only been 11 years. Good change of scenery against the lions.

I dont know why home v Hawthorn is not at the MCG epsecially when you consider Peter Jacksons comments of:

"We play Hawthorn twice which coincides with the 25th anniversary of the 1984 Premiership and then back-to-back with 1985 so we are going to build up that rivalry and it will be a great test for us to play Hawthorn twice"

No I can't find any other Victorian sides that travel 4 times. Minimum for the rest is 5. Pies fans won't admit how the AFL looks after them.

It's actually the AFL looking after all the other Victorian clubs who request home games against Collingwood in Melbourne.

Of the 5 Friday night games Collingwood play only 1 is a 'home' game to satisfy the other clubs.

why should they play in Tasmania?

Why do Eagles and Freo travel too much? They get 12 games in WA dont they? this is standard is it not?

They still do play 12 games @ Subi each. Looks like they have worked it so the home Derby team does not play away games each side of the Derby, and the away team does not play 3 in a row @ Subi which has happened in the past.

Carlton and Collingwood have just been given an easy ride into the finals.

Our draw is good from a business perspecitve mostly. Great exposure.

True, we only play 2008 top 4 teams once, but 2 of the top 4 could fall out and be replaced by clubs we are playing twice. We only play Melbourne and West Coast once. Interstate 5 times.

It's not a free ride by any means, we are still playing a lot of competitive teams.

True, we only play 2008 top 4 teams once, but 2 of the top 4 could fall out and be replaced by clubs we are playing twice. We only play Melbourne and West Coast once. Interstate 5 times.

It's not a free ride by any means, we are still playing a lot of competitive teams.

Exactly. Im sure teams at the beginning of this year were happy they were scheduled to play Bulldogs & Saints twice, yet by rd 22 both these teams made top 4.

There is no guarantee on any team's performance any year, only Richmond who we know will finish 9th.

It's actually the AFL looking after all the other Victorian clubs who request home games against Collingwood in Melbourne.

Of the 5 Friday night games Collingwood play only 1 is a 'home' game to satisfy the other clubs.
Is Collingwoods 14 MCG games to St.Kilda's 1 satisfactory?

LOL

If recent history has shown us one thing it's that ALL teams are competitive against Carlton.

Talk about getting ahead of yourself. :D

That would be for Melbourne only

Look like Geelong and esp the Bulldogs got duded in the FTA stakes considering the season they had last year

The Doggies got dudded by playing 11 on Foxtel, but St Kilda didn't by playing 12?

The last time I checked, these teams finished in the same place last year - beaten in a Preliminary Final. Both got dudded.

The Doggies got dudded by playing 11 on Foxtel, but St Kilda didn't by playing 12?

The last time I checked, these teams finished in the same place last year - beaten in a Preliminary Final. Both got dudded.
Fair point.... but if you look at games won.

Perhaps they should have a system for Vic clubs that the amount of H&A games you win = the number of times shown on FTA.

being the premiership team is great, you stop caring about things like the draw because interstate trips and tough schedules just mean challenges to keep you on your toes.

when you're a shit club, everything sucks, the draw is just insult to injury.

i reckon it matters most when you're a break-out team trying to crack to top four for the first time, or a genuine 'window open/window closed' team that battles to make the 8 every year, never challenging, never bottoming out.

so yeah, i'm happy with hawthorn's draw

why should they play in Tasmania?

Why do Eagles and Freo travel too much? They get 12 games in WA dont they? this is standard is it not?

take some of your MCG games away from there and go elsewhere for the better of the game including your many fans

The eagles and freo should have more games at home as they travel many thousands of Kl more than any other club and that takes its toll on the players .

compared to most sides other than Collingwood you have an easy draw

Collingwood have to play a minimum of 14 games at the MCG as part of the Prelim Final agreement between the AFL and the MCC
"Have to"????

lol, you'd swallow anything if Ed served it to you on a platter. :D

Collingwood have to play a minimum of 14 games at the MCG as part of the Prelim Final agreement between the AFL and the MCC

Is St Kilda's 15 TD games to Collingwood's 4 satisfactory?
LOL.
Considering that's 18 games in Victoria, for the pies, yes.

by the way some club pages (AFL website run) are still calling the dump "telstra"

i wonder how many months it will take before it's changed to etihad....given bigpond run the websites

also hawthorn only 3 games at the dump is a massive win - good to see we're playing essendon there again???? i mean hell if they continue to flog this 'one-way rivalry' rubbish and continue to treat us with disrespect (ie, essendon plays big teams and blockbuster home games at the MCG) then i can't see our winning streak against them ending.

"Have to"????

lol, you'd swallow anything if Ed served it to you on a platter. :D

http://www.afl.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=14273
The key elements are:

• Removing the requirement to play one preliminary final per year at the MCG when two non-Victorian teams earn the right to home games.
  • Ensuring all preliminary finals played in Victoria are at the MCG.
  • Allowing greater flexibility to bank finals in weeks one and two, with the clause amended to ensure 10 matches are played over five years.
  • Delivering an additional four home and away matches to the MCG each season, taking the number of matches played to 45.
  • Delivering 14 Collingwood home and away matches at the MCG.
  • The AFL making the MCG available for other major sporting events on a limited basis.
  • Provision to review the agreement every five years, but only to the mutual benefit of both parties

also hawthorn only 3 games at the dump is a massive win - good to see we're playing essendon there again???? i mean hell if they continue to flog this 'one-way rivalry' rubbish and continue to treat us with disrespect (ie, essendon plays big teams and blockbuster home games at the MCG) then i can't see our winning streak against them ending.

oh it will end and it will cut deep.

by the way some club pages (AFL website run) are still calling the dump "telstra"

i wonder how many months it will take before it's changed to etihad....given bigpond run the websites

I believe the ET Phone Dome naming rights changes at the beginning of the footy season next year. I heard March 09. The other name for this is Jihad stadium. Agreed how happy only have to go to this shit hole only 3 times next year. How much do we all hate Ian Collins?

I hate rivalry round - round 3, such a contrived crappy idea that continues and guarantees the AFL to play the usual OLD traditional rivals.

Good news about round 22 vs Essendon as Buddy will only have to be on 88 goals to be guaranteed the ton.

Hawks proabaly have the best draw as they are the only team that don't have to play the premiers.

The Official AFL 2009 Draw Discussion