The OFFICIAL Brownlow Is A Farce thread.

The guy is an absolute gun. Too many people get too caught up the possession count or their DT/SC score without actually watching games and having an understand on players that impacted on the month. Judd's work rate is 2nd to none and is by far the best inside mid.

Well done Judd you deserve every bit of credit you receive. Always a pleasure too watch and I truly believe he will go down as one of the games greats, if not the best ever.

He was goin to be the best ever in 2004. He has never been quite as good since he did his groin in 2007 however. Just not quite as explosive. Still an absolute gun and will be a great but in my opinion peaked early.

Re: Take Brownlow off the Umpires

Brownlow should be determined by Dream Team scores:rolleyes:. Quite simple, judd was the most aesthetically pleasing player to watch this season and the umps had the perfect view.

Re: Swan was robbed!

Swan isn't fit to tie Juddys bootlaces, Judd stars week in week out with the hardest tags imaginable, great result.
Oppositions don't bother tagging Swan as they know it would be useless. Carrazo tried to put a hard tag on Swan and that was effective for all of ten minutes of the match. If Judd was so good he would be at the standard of Ablett or Swan where opposition coaches realise that a tag is wasting one of their players for no effective result.
The saddest part of that story is til this day Swan still refuses to pay any compensation to that poor guy.
The guy has received his compensation from the civil suit so I don't know where your info is coming from - or does Swan have to keep giving him money above what the court decided even though it was Wayne Carey's nephew that was the instigator and main culprit???

Let us be reality, when Judd retires the media will perceive him as being one of the best/best ever. Whether this is true is debatable. All I know is Judd/Ablett/Swan where clearly the best 3 players this season and the umpires thought Judd was the best & fairest. Fair dinkum, any of those 3 were deserving winners but too discredit Judd is just fanatical bias.

I totally agree, Judd was a deserving winner. Carlton finished 8th (Swan in a the best Collingwood side in 30 years, Ablett in the best Geelong side ever) and i watch as he battled got the contested footy, work hard for teammates and got plenty of the footy. He missed first 3 games and look at his supercoach average to see he was no mug!

Swan and Ablett had great years but so did Judd-Simple.

All Australian numerous times (captain too), hascaptained two clubs, 1 to a premiership, norm smith medal, 2 brownlows, Best and fairests, MVP's and the guy is only 26? On this pace he will be the best ever!!

Oppositions don't bother tagging Swan as they know it would be useless. Carrazo tried to put a hard tag on Swan and that was effective for all of ten minutes of the match. If Judd was so good he would be at the standard of Ablett or Swan where opposition coaches realise that a tag is wasting one of their players for no effective result.The guy has received his compensation from the civil suit so I don't know where your info is coming from - or does Swan have to keep giving him money above what the court decided even though it was Wayne Carey's nephew that was the instigator and main culprit???

He got votes taken from him from Pendlebury etc...Judd was a lone hand at times which is a problem for us, acknknowledged. Judd won and you cant take away from the fact he has been a champion footballer this year and others. His record stands alone against the greats already!
Look at this 3rd Quarter against Sydney where he brought us back and nearly won us the game single handed. This isnt the only other time he does this. Thats eye catching and what the umpires and all of us see (unless your a one eyed moron)...A deserved winner.

Looking like your running on the spot, getting cheap kicks in Collingwoods best side in 30 years unfortunetly doesnt get you the brownlow. Inspirational Swan? No, Damaging? No, look good on a stats sheet? Yeah but who cares.

He got votes taken from him from Pendlebury etc...Judd was a lone hand at times which is a problem for us, acknknowledged. Judd won and you cant take away from the fact he has been a champion footballer this year and others. His record stands alone against the greats already!
Look at this 3rd Quarter against Sydney where he brought us back and nearly won us the game single handed. This isnt the only other time he does this. Thats eye catching and what the umpires and all of us see (unless your a one eyed moron)...A deserved winner.

Looking like your running on the spot, getting cheap kicks in Collingwoods best side in 30 years unfortunetly doesnt get you the brownlow. Inspirational Swan? No, Damaging? No, look good on a stats sheet? Yeah but who cares.
Judd was not consistent during games this season. If he had of played like he did in the third quarter for teh whole match what would have been the result against Sydney? You may not see the flashiness of Swan but the correlatiopn between Collingwood performing and Swan getting his hands on the ball is clear. He is great for most of the game rather than exceptional in a burst and then ordinary for the rest. Look at our second meeting this year where Carrazo's tag kept Swan possessionless for the first ten minutes and Carlton were in the match if not playing a little better than us. A trip to the pine and a ten possession plus first quarter by Swan saw the game firmly in Collingwood's hands. Just because he is not flashy, don't write off the impact that he can have on the match. Judd has been a champion footballer but he wasn't near the best this season as shown by any other judgement on the players this season.

If Ablett pipped Swan to the Brownlow by one vote then you would not hear any complaints as that is the vagaries of the system but when a player polls BOG nine times in a season and struggles to get a place on the bench of the All Australian team, there is obviously something amiss.

Judd was not consistent during games this season. If he had of played like he did in the third quarter for teh whole match what would have been the result against Sydney? You may not see the flashiness of Swan but the correlatiopn between Collingwood performing and Swan getting his hands on the ball is clear. He is great for most of the game rather than exceptional in a burst and then ordinary for the rest. Look at our second meeting this year where Carrazo's tag kept Swan possessionless for the first ten minutes and Carlton were in the match if not playing a little better than us. A trip to the pine and a ten possession plus first quarter by Swan saw the game firmly in Collingwood's hands. Just because he is not flashy, don't write off the impact that he can have on the match. Judd has been a champion footballer but he wasn't near the best this season as shown by any other judgement on the players this season.

He has great year Dane, well Done, best pies side in 30 years, would be hard to standout. Juddy well apparently the umpires are biased towards him as umpires generally are biased in the modern world of professional sport. Hey lets compare their stats over the years because they are the same age right?, i wonder if they have been biased all his career, i wonder if he is really that good..mmmm...i wonder if i had to chose which player to pick for my side..who would i choose, a flashy player who is great then "ordinary for the rest" or a player who accumulates possies at will and really hurts you...really he does just look below:

Dane Swan - 26 years of Age

Copeland Trophy Winner

Bob rose -charlie sutton medal
Herald Sun Player of the Year
Runner up AFLPA MVP Awards
All-Australian (Half-Forward Flank)
Copeland trophy winner

Herald Sun Player of the Year
AFL Players Association MVP Award
All-Australian (Ruck-Rover)

Chris Judd - 26 years of age

Premiership player at West Coast: 2006 (Captain)
Brownlow medal: 2004, 2010
Runner-Up in Brownlow Medal: 2009
AFLPA award: 2006
All Australian: 2004, 2006, 2008 (Captain), 2009 (Vice-Captain), 2010
Norm Smith: 2005
Victorian Team representative honours in AFL Hall of Fame Tribute Match: 2008
International Rules Series representative honours: 2002
AFLPA Best First Year Player Award: 2002
John Nicholls Medal: 2008, 2009
Captain of Carlton: 2008-present
West Coast Club Champion Award: 2004, 2006
Ross Glendinning Medal: 2005 (twice), 2006
Captain of West Coast Eagles: 2006–2007
AFL Goal of the Year: 2005
The Age Player of the Year: 2009

Nah ill still pick Dane any day, he hurts you more!

hahaha LAUGHABLE!!!

I don't get the whinging at all.

If Judd was on 19 next year with Murphy on 18 I'd be wrapped as we'd more than likely be top 4.

Pendles ( Great year ) was the only man that robbed Swan.

In all seriousness though, Judd may not rack up the stats as much as Swan does but he is a more eye catching player with his breakaway speed and ability to break the lines, something that umpires would notice. Swan for all his ability to rack up big stats isn't as eye catching as someone like Judd.

So let's just call it the Eye-Catching Medal, huh? :cool:

Judd was not consistent during games this season.
He has great year Dane, well Done, best pies side in 30 years, would be hard to standout.
Nah ill still pick Dane any day, he hurts you more!

hahaha LAUGHABLE!!!
Since when is the Brownlow decided on previous seasons' performances? (I know it has an impact but shouldn't ie Barlow's Round 1 game). As I clearly said - this season. You were the one who pointed out Judd's third quarter against Sydney, I was the one who questioned what happened to him in the other three quarters. That was not the only game this season where Judd blitzed the game in a short spell but didn't have the influence on the game in the rest that would be expected of the league's best and fairest. Ablett also has the ability to stamp himself on the game in a short spell but this season (and a few of the previous seasons), the rest of his game has been more influential than Judd's. Swan doesn't have that ability but his influence is consistent and greater than most others on the field. Would you rather "he nearly won us a game in that one quarter" or "he won us the game in those four quarters"?

It wasn't so hard for 99% of the football public to see that Swan stood out in the best Pies side in 30 years, maybe you should join the umpires at an appointment at OPSM?

Re: Proof that the Brownlow medal has lost all credibility.

[youtube]WAlEftlJnGc[/youtube]

Best and Fairest?

I'm sorry how many people has just bashed and given brain damage to ?

When you bash some one like Swan did, be happy you play footy because if it was a normal person you would be in jail playing hide the massive sausage in a very painful hole.

Look, I don't hate Judd, but this is an absolute joke. Swan is quite clearly the best player in the comp this year, and to all those Carlton bogans saying he has no impact on games, get a life. Shows how Carlton would still be a bottom 4 team without him though, pathetic club with pathetic culture who will never win a flag for another 50 years+. Enjoy your moment in the sunshine river rats.
One angry kid right here :)

Re: Proof that the Brownlow medal has lost all credibility.

Let's be serious for a moment. The guy picked a fight with 3 footballers, and didn't have the minerals to back himself. It's quite clear he already had brain damaged.

No lets be honest, he punched the shit of a guy and kept on hitting him when he was laying defenseless on the ground.

Care factor zero.
Carlton supporters need something to sustain them, even though if it was my decision they wouldn't get anything.
I often see Brownlow results and just go...WTF????...not always but often.
It is the definitive proof that umpires see the world differently than normal people and it's never going to change
That was the first Brownlow I've watched and what an agonising load of drivel that broadcast is.
Talk about bringing the game into disrepute....Vlad must be gagged.

Time to move on...really big fish to fry and I can't wait.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Go Pies.

PS. What are the odds Eddie slips a horses head into Vlads bed tonight...???:D:D

Yeah sounds like you don't care at all LOL

You guys are making something out of nothing, it's not the first or last time the best player for the year didn't win the brownlow.

I'll tell you next dry your tears with a f$%king premiership flag. I think that is worth just a little more.

The guy is an absolute gun. Too many people get too caught up the possession count or their DT/SC score without actually watching games and having an understand on players that impacted on the month. Judd's work rate is 2nd to none and is by far the best inside mid.

Well done Judd you deserve every bit of credit you receive. Always a pleasure too watch and I truly believe he will go down as one of the games greats, if not the best ever.

Here is a tip, watch what his opponents do going the other way.

Collingwood don't tag him because we get more drive from whoever we have on him. Judd only goes one way, forward.

There were a lot more worthy winners than Judd. Just because the umpires (and you) say so. Swan was ripped off and the umpires got it wrong. Judd got 1 vote in the last game vs Freo, Gibbs 2 and sandilands 3 AND FREO WON THE GAME!!! Not right.

Now i think if you watch that game again, you will see the umps gave you enough help my friend.

The OFFICIAL Brownlow Is A Farce thread.