The Percieved Board / Coaching situation - Post Here no more individual threads

Re: Wallace goes: I'll almost give up on the club

Our list is on target for 14-15 wins next year imo. Why would we need Kerr? He will barely make a difference in his first year at a new club like ours imo. I doubt Terry would give away quality players for Kerr for short term gain. There's only a 2-3 players on our list who would be worth using in a deal. Do we even know if or what deal was considered? March has given too many signs that he wants a different coaching staff. He's given Terry no confidence of a future. He's restricted Terry's roles and it's almost like he is trying to force Terry out. March should be doing everything possible to make sure Terrys stays.

And if we don't reach that objective, what do we make of Terry? Underachieving?

I would expect you should be overly critical if we miss your target. I suspect you won't be.

Nevertheless, I'm quite happy that Terry's staying for the sake of stability if nothing else - the end of '09 is time for his assessment, not now.

Re: Keep terry,get cousins!!ps richmond board wake up!!

mate how would you have any idea how and why cousins got on drugs in the first place. saying it was because he had lots of money is just stupid. its fine to voice your opinion but dont state it as though you actually know

no its not because he had lots of money..how can i put this better...

the lifestyle and salary of being an AFL footballer fuelled his addiction

Re: I Have A Conspiracy Theory

I'm going to post this here, because if I post it on the main board, it'll get torn to shreds, which i can handle and argue, but it will be falling on deaf ears and frankly I can't be bothered.
Fact is that we have a list that only a Rance away from having a terrific back half. Deledio, Foley and Cotchin in the middle.
We are one ruckman and a gun key forward away from being a very, very good side.
If Wallace does resign tomorrow and the club hasn't already had a handshake deal from another coach, there will be a long line of ready and willing participants to take over the reigns.
Don't believe what you will hear from your mates if Wallace gets the sarse tomorrow. We are an enticing prospect. And the ironic thing is, Wallace has laid the groundwork.

Quote of the century!!!!

Well done Tugga!

Just when we get some professional and organisation going, people want him to go

Mind boggling, we sack him and we are where we were 4 years ago

The way I see it the club has 2 choices. It either re-signs Terry in the next month which scuttles all the rumours once and for all or it says look we don't think this is going as well as we hoped it would be when the deal was done 4 years ago. We'd like to thank you for your time but we believe we need to go a different way.

Otherwise the next 9-12 months are going to be hell, with a new rumour popping up every week or two. I can just see it now, if Wallace trades away early picks for experience the media will be into him for trying to save his job by topping up. If he goes the youth policy again they will be into him saying he does think they're quite ready and is looking to continue the rebuild.

Oh well off to bed now, will wake up tomorrow, flick on SEN and listen for them to announce a press conference at Punt Rd tomorrow, if there is nothing then everyone can relax until the next rumour surfaces. Ah the joy of being a Tigers fan. :(

I think your on to something with your conspiracy theory

If they haven't made there mind up about Wallace after 4 years to move ahead with a new contract then he is gone. 4 years is a long time to make up your mind if you need another half a season then you are just stalling for time waiting for other things to fall into place.

The Buckley theory is a good one he was bagging our list earlier in the season then later on was very complementary of the young list we have in his commentary duties

I don't think its necessarily a good thing or a bad thing I think that were the list is at who ever has it will do well and all credit should go to those who have got us to this point.

The question is though is Wallace the best man to take us to the next level or are we going to try a younger untried coach and or a recent star of the game.

Interesting times, interesting times indeed

Re: Terry Wallace- Gone ?

I haven't advocated Wallace getting the sack, just that I would prefer a coach who is more interested in developing the list further than what it currently is. I was a Wallace fan until the trade period last year which showed that a proper list management system was not in place (previous evidence I gave the benefit of the doubt e.g. 3 ND picks in 2005 and Kingsley/P.Bowden). Trading pick 19 for McMahon and now coming out and saying we are ready to push (and trade for more players) shows me that Wallace is overrating the list.

This mentality will only bring us further pain because the list is far from challenging in my opinion and we need do much much more if we are ever going to be a genuine premiership threat. Now if Wallace is prepared to allow our list management team to do their job and him his job he can stay. Otherwise we need to bring in someone who share the philosophy of further developing the list.

So you'd be happy to wait at least 3 years, possibly making a final 8 in one or more of those years, for him to draft players who won't be ready for the big time in order to have a crack at a flag in, say, 5 years?

You'd have enough patience with Terry and his team for them to take the extra time needed, as Geelong have done, in order to have a tilt in 5 years?

There are too many people wanting too much too soon for Wallace to not trade for a gun, he's under pressure to perform and perform well with a list which, as you put it, that isn't good enough.

The bloke's in a catch 22, either he drafts and waits for players to develop, all the while defending his appproach, and trying to explain away a lack of success, or he trades to try and bring that success on quicker.

At least if he trades this year he'll have ample opportunity to access the best before GC17 come into it - they'll have all bargaining power and all clubs will have to bow down to them in coming years.

Which would you guys prefer? More pain while watching kids come of age, or a couple of guns that could just be what you need to have a crack?

I've seen first hand what gun players can do for a team, I follow a whole side of default premiership players (bar about 6).

Re: Keep terry,get cousins!!ps richmond board wake up!!

cousins is a must get for richmond, gives us as much as kerr would without costing 600,000 and 1st & 2nd round picks.
if he goes into the nd, we would be able to pick him up with our 4th pick
which would be a speculative pick at best anyway
peterson,casserly.............etc

cousins body is still good enough to give us 3-4 years of good football and the kids will also get to see exactly how the champions train & play.

if he f**Ks up sack his ass & get rid of him quick smart

what do we loose pick 59 or something WOW

The way I see it the club has 2 choices. It either re-signs Terry in the next month which scuttles all the rumours once and for all or it says look we don't think this is going as well as we hoped it would be when the deal was done 4 years ago. We'd like to thank you for your time but we believe we need to go a different way.

Otherwise the next 9-12 months are going to be hell, with a new rumour popping up every week or two. I can just see it now, if Wallace trades away early picks for experience the media will be into him for trying to save his job by topping up. If he goes the youth policy again they will be into him saying he does think they're quite ready and is looking to continue the rebuild.

Oh well off to bed now, will wake up tomorrow, flick on SEN and listen for them to announce a press conference at Punt Rd tomorrow, if there is nothing then everyone can relax until the next rumour surfaces. Ah the joy of being a Tigers fan. :(

Which is what I was arguing when I put up the give wallace 2 more years thread a month ago.

either he is re-signed or sacked, or this is the way its going to be all of next season.

I've seen enough of Cleve Hughes to be pretty damn sure he won't make it. Gourdis I have no idea, but we are really struggling if we relying on him to come on. Oh that's right we are struggling. Far too few are relied upon to come on.

Exhibit A Cleve Hughes "wont make it"..... 2 years down the track " I'm happy to be proven wrong"....

I think it will take another 4-6 years of development before we have a list capable of winning the flag. That doesn't mean we can't make the finals. Trading for stars now will not help us win a premiership so what is the point? Especially considering we are only going to be hurt by it long-term.

Sadly we really couldn't afford to cop more pain in 2005,2006 and this year because we needed to show something for the sponsors and fans.

Sure Wallace is in a bind, but it is obvious he is not interested in further list management, besides is he even capable of it? I have serious reservations. If he showed more shrewd list management in the last 4 years than perhaps he would have garnered more support, but he and Miller made some very dubious decisions that many did not like.

Hey Mate we have not been mighty for 28 Years That is the Problem!

It is time to get nasty like we used to be 28 Years Ago!

No we were nasty when GR was in charge.... since then we have had a dozen GR wannabee's stuffing the place up.
We need stability .......

Exhibit A Cleve Hughes "wont make it"..... 2 years down the track " I'm happy to be proven wrong"....
hehehe I'm not saying these things for glory nut. I have major problems with Cleve Hughes' abilities as a footballer and am voicing them on a forum. That is its purpose is it not?

Mate seriously, Wallace has had chance he has been at the tigers for 74 Games and won (26) of those games. Thats poor, He cant decided to pull up his socks when he knows that his contract is on the line.

Why keep him when there are people like,
Buckley Mathews Sheedy that could take over. Because its not good enough. last year we won 3.5 games this year we won 11.5. Who says were not gonna go back to the bottom.

Mate, you're the one carrying on like a child. You have no idea of the situation. Do you know the inner workings of the club? No. Do you have any idea what Gary March does for Richmond? No. Do you realise that Wallace steals his game plan from other coaches and that the talent he has at his disposal is thanks to his recruiters?? NO! Will you be jumping on the bandwagon when Hardwick or whoever makes us into a genuinely competitive team? YES! Have you just emerged from your Y2K-proof bunker, Henny-Penny? Quite possibly. Get a grip. Frankly my dear, I don't give a damn for your panicky hysteria. Tomorrow is another day, and as God is my witness, Punt Rd will rise again! (Apologies to Margaret Mitchell - yes, Michael's mum.)

Bloody hell. Read my original post before your look at how many games he has won. He never had a team that could win 13 games in his first 4 seasons anyway. First 2 years we were cleaning out players and we had too many new kids too. But Terry coached us to about 11 wins in each year. Frawley would have won about 6 games in those 2 years at best with that list, but he wouldn't have had the smarts to make as many changes to the list anyway. 3rd year we played all kids and look what happened. 4th year is where things look exciting for next year and beyond. Terry is the best person to coach our club. Quality coach who is 2 years advanced at our club than any other proven quality afl coach who could possibly coach our club next year. Anyone who suggests we risk picking up a hardwick or Buckley should realise this will set the club back about 3 years and that is if they are any good at coaching. You would have thought some people have learnt from the past after Walls, Geishan and Frawley. You would think they see the potential for next year with Terry in charge. But NO. There are some really dumb people out there. I mean really stupid supporters :thumbsdown:

9th, 9th, last, 9th, it dont really matter if he goes or how he goes.

You're hopeless. You have no brain to think about why things happened. You just pull out 4 numbers and say get rid him. There's half a dozen absolute brainless bogans in this forum and you're one of them. :thumbsu:

Only half a dozen MT? I could rattle off more than that!

Honestly, I want TW to stay... if he is pushed I'll be pissed. If he goes on his own terms (for whatever reason) then so be it... I wish him all the best in his next venture.

I believe he has done a great job in and around the club.

And if you don't believe me, how many of you had actually been in to the Punt Road rooms before and after TW came on board the tiges?

Tigerland (Off Field, Punt Road oval, Facilities etc) is a much better place now, and a lot of it is to do with the fact that when TW signed on recommended a lot of improvements. Sure the club, sponsors, AFL, members, supporters, councils, governments etc funded it all, but someone from outside had to talk about it.

Remember the Back Page of the HSUN when he signed up... "Punt Road full of Bird Poo"... No one around the club even cared about it before... Sure most of it was on unused parts of Punt Road Oval and Buildings, but the point is... wait for it... RFC PRIDE.

And I feel TW has gone a long ways to restoring it. Record membership, Genuine Optimism (for most of us anyway), and a good young list.

Over to you now Terry... I hope this is just a rumour.

Yes, yes, YES!

People look for excuses more than they look for reasons to keep a bloke doing a good job.

I'm convinced, reading half the posts in here, that some, if not most, RFC supporters actually thrive of in-stability.

Just when things are coming together - "Get rid of him, he's a terrible coach, he's taking us nowhere, we've finished ninth again, blah blah blah"

How about you look for the positives, of which there were plenty, to come out of 2008.

So you didn't finish in the 8, 7 other sides didn't either. Lids had his best year, will only be better next year, same goes for Tambling, Newman, Thursfield, McGuane, Moore, Riewoldt, Morton, then there was the emergence of Cotchin, Edwards and Matt White. Richo played his best footy for a long time, fell away at the end of the year, but was very, very good all year, Bowden found that spark he'd been lacking, Johnson played more good games than bad ones, there's so much to like about the Tigers, but all you people seem to see is that you finished 9th, therefore the year is a write off and the coach needs to go because he's not up to it.

Then there's Cogs making very good progress to come back in next year - 3 games in the best with his last an integral part of a 100 point thumping.

So you get rid of Wallace, the new bloke comes in, sure he'll have a better list than TW had when he started so he'll be more likely to have a side playing finals sooner, but what happens when he hasn't got the flag he promised in 4-5 or even 6 years time? Matthew Knights, anyone?

It all happens all over again, FFS, you blokes wonder why it's been 25 years... THIS GARBAGE IS WHY!

I'm sorry to harp on about the same stuff post after post, but it just really gets to me, the way people just want to the quick fix.

At least Beaver Fever, even though he wants TW out and a better manager in, seems to have the patience for moving in the right direction.

I'm sorry to harp on about the same stuff post after post, but it just really gets to me, the way people just want to the quick fix.Like TW wanting Kerr?

At least Beaver Fever, even though he wants TW out and a better manager in, seems to have the patience for moving in the right direction.
Thanks for your input.

The Percieved Board / Coaching situation - Post Here no more individual threads