It’s pretty well documented but go off kingDon't think that ever happened apart from in Andre Bolt's imagination.
Very good podcast on the hypocrisy of the left on this topic.
Delivered by a man very much from the far left, he articulates perfectly how ridiculous it all is.
Mates with pizza loving sigma Andre Tate I hearI've never heard of Andre Bolt mate. Is he French ?
Neither have I but I just go with the flow when you’re talking lmaoI've never heard of Andre Bolt mate. Is he French ?
I see where you’re coming from. I’d say they are as accepted as they’ve ever been.
What probably divides people more than anything are often the people driving these initiatives aren’t even apart of the group they “fight for”, and they are overly emotive and extreme.
Happens time and time again.
I think there is a far larger crisis for men as a whole than just the gays. That’s not a “cool” topic at all, however. In fact it’s completely shunned and scoffed at.
Well said CF.The issue here is not about coming out. It’s about having the space to live your life in a way that allows you to be happy within yourself.
Male AFL footballers, like many other sportsmen from other codes and countries, feel the need to conceal their sexuality which can lead to a very toxic, unhealthy quality of life.
Why, though? There’s been a cacophony of voices in here to say you don’t give a rats. So why then aren’t they living freely?
Maybe some fans aren’t quite as accepting as they make out to be?
Do we really need all this hoopla about the poor entitled gays? Why can’t it just be normal business as usual?
Probably for the best, don’t sound like they had that dawg in em.Well said CF.
When I was at high school - and I went to a very good one, football wise, sporting wise and otherwise, there were a few guys who
played football, for a while but gave it away, they were outside types, receivers, fast and skilled players but slightly built and not "one
of the boys" types and basically got bullied out of the sport.
There are plenty of these types running around today. Hill, Ginnoven, Dees guy with the headband on the wing, and so on, so things have changedProbably for the best, don’t sound like they had that dawg in em.
I haven’t had any and hadn’t realised we were conflating skinny runners with homosexuals, but I agree wing is probably the gayest positionThere are plenty of these types running around today. Hill, Ginnoven, Dees guy with the headband on the wing, and so on, so things have changed
to some degree - there are more of these type of players than there was 30 years ago I reckon. I could be wrong, I've had a few.
We fixed climate change? I must have missed that one.The gay thing being a battle is well and truly over in western countries, a significant percentage of young people are fluid in their sexuality and no one gives a rats, and despite some older homophobes still being around they’re by far the minority. Gay marriage happened and society didn’t fall apart. Plenty of representation in most cultural areas even if afl footy is a weird holdout.
Same as with climate change. The battle is over, the economics are clear on transition to renewables. Momentum will make it all happen without question over the next decade or so. Too much warming? Maybe but it is what it is so we need to focus on working out how to cope. Government policy at this point makes zero difference to the amount of warning.
It’s interesting on both of these to see the campaigners who based their entire identity on them - on both sides - and can’t see or acknowledge the huge progress. Seems like a lot of them would rather still have a battle to fight than have things be better.
We fixed climate change? I must have missed that one.
Yeh so it’s fixed, no point lobbying, protesting or doing anything at all to try and improve it.Exactly my point. Talk to anyone who knows and they all tell you that the economics are super clear these days. Distributed renewables generation fixes the energy sector, minimal new fossil fuels generation is being commissioned. Transport is being fixed largely thanks to Elon and Tesla skipping electric cars forward 10-20 years, and so demand now being huge for electric vs petrol. Agriculture is seeing huge efficiency gains from more carbon-sensible methods.
Yes, it's going to take time for all of that to flow through but basically any action taken these days on policy in those areas will have minimal impact above and beyond the fundamental economic realities.
Again, that doesn't mean that we won't see more warming, but it does mean that limiting warming is no longer the game. Coping with the inevitable but capped warming is - probably 2.5 degrees eventually and that's something we'll be able to deal with (with a huge amount of pain and effort).
Come on mate that‘s amusing but try harder, Gringo has lesbians and dwarf fights.
There has been a lot of work done at the local level so that’s not a problem Imo and you can hardly compare aflw or many female sports where for whatever reason many are gay. I’m just bemused that peoples sexuality is of such interest when we’re watching sport, inclusiveness and discrimination are the issues so if players coming out are a measure of that yeah maybe otherwise who cares.
Australia has had an openly gay Basketballer, Soccer player, Rugby player so it would seem its not the country.
Gotta say the weird backlash to the ABC doing an investigation probably shows exactly why it’s needed. If you don’t care then why get defensive about the doco?
I long for a world still allowed humour and nuance. Swiftly driving it to a place devoid of both.
Working with gay clients currently, they poke more fun at themselves than anyone. We have great banter, I would be prejudice to exclude them from banter.
I hate anecdotes but I guess what I’m trying to say is where does this end?
Well, I sure wish it ended before books about anal and gay sex were being printed for 8 year olds.
Hard to grasp when you’re in the majority but some people would just love for everyone else to accept them. My point was more that representation matters.