The Realistic Truth on your Team Chances in 2010.

What are you talking about? In the last 25 years the AFL has gone from a surburban league to a massive corporation with millions of fans attending and the game turning over billions of dollars. And in that time the Tiges have made the finals twice.

Clearly Richmond not making the finals is better for the AFL.

Good one mate.:D

What are you talking about? In the last 25 years the AFL has gone from a surburban league to a massive corporation with millions of fans attending and the game turning over billions of dollars. And in that time the Tiges have made the finals twice.

Clearly Richmond not making the finals is better for the AFL.
:D It gave me a good chuckle.

Glad to be of service.

It was a shit analysis. The bolded are just cheap digs or rubbish comments. I never have a problem with people judging Sydney so that's your opinion. Plus I don't get the categories you used to separate the teams. Richmond have roughly the same list?

oh so you are the politically correct police, sorry but um I don't much care for the feelings of those that attach them so tightly to how well a team might perform so I'll say as I like.
The fact is Ryder makes a huge difference to the Essendon performance.
Richmond has gone nowhere for quite some time.
West coast have some players that are not world beaters where as they have some incredible talent also.
Port are in need of funds.
North were very unentertaining and that is what happened I'm sorry if relating the reality of a situation is offensive to you precious. There are 4 pages on the gameday thread for that game there were many more about the predicted crowd.
Carlton have severely reduced their performance potential.

That your a princess about things isn't my problem.

Sydney -Michael Olaughlin, Barry Hall, Leo Barry. The topic opener is ******ed to think they are in a better place without these players

Why?

Hall only played 1/2 the year and was more of a distraction at times when he was in the team than a help.

Barry only played a few games and struggled with injury for the majority of the year.

Micky is a big loss, but with Goodes spending more time up forward, Bradshaw on board and the continuing development of White I think our forward structure looks more flexible and potentially damaging this year than last.

Just my $0.02

Why?

Hall only played 1/2 the year and was more of a distraction at times when he was in the team than a help.

Barry only played a few games and struggled with injury for the majority of the year.

Micky is a big loss, but with Goodes spending more time up forward, Bradshaw on board and the continuing development of White I think our forward structure looks more flexible and potentially damaging this year than last.

Just my $0.02

This. This kickin goals flog is also incredibly biased, and his comments about Port and some other clubs was just a poor attempt to troll.

oh so you are the politically correct police, sorry but um I don't much care for the feelings of those that attach them so tightly to how well a team might perform so I'll say as I like.
The fact is Ryder makes a huge difference to the Essendon performance.
Richmond has gone nowhere for quite some time.
West coast have some players that are not world beaters where as they have some incredible talent also.
Port are in need of funds.
North were very unentertaining and that is what happened I'm sorry if relating the reality of a situation is offensive to you precious. There are 4 pages on the gameday thread for that game there were many more about the predicted crowd.
Carlton have severely reduced their performance potential.

That your a princess about things isn't my problem.

U made a terrible analysis and continue to sound like a douche with a very narrow view of football. Oh wait i cant say that cause u said the dons wont move up i must be a princess too :p

Footy teams don't just come out 1 year from the bottom and go bang

It does happen, occasionally.

In 1997, Adelaide went from 12th to premiers, St.Kilda went from 10th to minor-premiers and the Bulldogs went from 15th to within a kick of the Grand Final.

In 1998, Melbourne made the Preliminary final after getting the wooden spoon in 1997.

Sydney made the Grand Final in 1996 after finishing 12th the year before and getting the wooden spoon the year before that.

Melbourne went from 14th in 1999 to a Grand Final in 2000

Adelaide went from 12th in 2004 to minor-premiers in 2005

That's the good thing about the AFL. There is no rule that says you have to claw your way back up the ladder in steps. Some clubs can do it in one go. It's hard but it can be done.

Somehow, I don't see us getting the realistic truth about every team's chances in 2010 on Bigfooty. Unless you are able to give us an in-depth analysis of each team's best 22, along with a summary on each club's depth players (22-30) and a couple of rookies who might make the jump, you are woefully unqualified to describe your opinion as "the realistic truth." Give us two paragraphs on each team, rather than two sentences and your opinion may be worthwhile.

I thought he'd done quite a good job, generally agree with most of his statements and although very conservative, if he went out on a limb, he'd be getting bagged liked crazy! But anyway, thought I may as well give it go, here it is:

Adelaide: Will finish the season strongly, just missing out on the top 4, before bowing out of the finals in the prelims in another ripper. All-round very good year for the crows.

Brisbane: Will be hard to stop this year with fev and brown up forward. Will sneak into the 4 but wont progress to the GF. Rich and Black to form a new powerhouse midfield.

Carlton: Will really drop of this year, small chance of making the 8 but may slip down into the bottom 4. Will show some good signs, but wont be the best year for carlton fans.

Collingwood: Good year for the magpies. Will nearly make the top 4, hit good form at times but in the end not good enough to really push for a flag. Looking very very dangerous for 2011.

Essendon: Wont make the 8, but youngsters will show good signs, will be too inconsistent to really make an impact this year. Mark Williams to kick 60+ as the main forward target.

Fremantle: Will show some awesome signs, but wont be consistent enough to make the 8. I'd expect them to finsish between 10-13, taking a big step-up from last year.

Geelong: Through experince and being consistent will make the 4, but will drop off alot and I'd expect this to be their last realistic chance at the flag for a while to come.

Hawthorn: Will show signs of 2008, and be very dangerous but will be too inconsistent to really push for a flag. Finishing outside of the top4.

Melbourne: Will definitely improve on last year but simply not good enough to challenge the 8. Will finish bottom 4 again but starting to look like a real team again.

North Melbourne: Will be very dangerous throughout the season but wont be able to make the top8, although 2011 and 12 will be looking good for kangaroo supporters as NM start becoming a finals side.

Port Adelaide: Will show signs of a top 4 worthy side but will be way too inconsistent again. May sneak into the 8 but id expect them to miss out again.

Richmond: Wooden spooners for 2010. Will have a shocking year but some youngsters will really start to come along, particularly Dunstin Martin and Trent Cotchin.

St Kilda: Top 2, will be hungry for a flag after narrowly missing out in '09 when they probably should have won. Have a feeling they'll leave empty handed again this year, either bowing out in the semi's or losing the GF again.

Sydney: Will be hard to beat again, and I think they'll be in a dog fight for the 8th possie with WC. Jetta to have some amazing games and Bradshaw to enjoy his time as the number #1 forward target.

West Coast: After a slow start will really start to get things going by the end, sneaking into the 8 with 11 wins. Almost unbeatable at subi, but will again struggle away from home. Masten, Kennedy, Naitanui and Shuey to become big AFL names.

Western-Bulldogs: 2010 Premiers. Will have a fantastic year with barry up forward and are my tip for the flag.

My Ladder Prediction:
1: Western Bulldogs
2: St Kilda
3: Geelong
4: Brisbane
5: Collingwood
6: Adelaide
7: Hawthorn
8: West Coast
---------------------
9: Sydney
10: Port Adelaide
11: Fremantle
12: Essendon
13: Carlton
14: Kangaroos
15: Melbourne
16: Richmond

I think your really under rating Carlton they have 3 number 1 picks along with one of the best players in the League Judd. People are forgetting if Warnock makes it he will be hard to beat in the Ruck.

Carlton missed a top 4 just last year.They should have been 4th and they were missing 2 of their best defenders Waite and Jamison who missed most of the Season even Paul Bower missed games.

Carlton plan was to kick it to Fevola at most cases.The 3 trio in Yarran,Gartlett and Betts will be difficult to stop down on the forward as well as Mitch Robinson all rotating.

They will rotate Henderson,Waite down there and maybe even Paul Bower who was originally a forward in juniors.Matthew Kreuzer will play there also at times.

People forget West Coast Eagles won a flag with no key forward they had Lynch as their main one but their midfield got plenty of the ball like Carlton will get.

The only way Carlton will drop so bad is if their skill levels have gone out the windows as i doubt that as every club gets better with it each year with their kids or the class midfield is out injured.I Personally think you underrating Carlton and the Kangaroos

Too many unknowns with Carlton. I think you are overrating them slightly. It all sounds good in words but in reality it will probably take time for you to get used to the new structure.
I'm not sure about the top 4 finish last year either. You probably finished where you deserved to.

I thought he'd done quite a good job, generally agree with most of his statements and although very conservative, if he went out on a limb, he'd be getting bagged liked crazy! But anyway, thought I may as well give it go, here it is:

Adelaide: Will finish the season strongly, just missing out on the top 4, before bowing out of the finals in the prelims in another ripper. All-round very good year for the crows.

Brisbane: Will be hard to stop this year with fev and brown up forward. Will sneak into the 4 but wont progress to the GF. Rich and Black to form a new powerhouse midfield.

Carlton: Will really drop of this year, small chance of making the 8 but may slip down into the bottom 4. Will show some good signs, but wont be the best year for carlton fans.

Collingwood: Good year for the magpies. Will nearly make the top 4, hit good form at times but in the end not good enough to really push for a flag. Looking very very dangerous for 2011.

Essendon: Wont make the 8, but youngsters will show good signs, will be too inconsistent to really make an impact this year. Mark Williams to kick 60+ as the main forward target.

Fremantle: Will show some awesome signs, but wont be consistent enough to make the 8. I'd expect them to finsish between 10-13, taking a big step-up from last year.

Geelong: Through experince and being consistent will make the 4, but will drop off alot and I'd expect this to be their last realistic chance at the flag for a while to come.

Hawthorn: Will show signs of 2008, and be very dangerous but will be too inconsistent to really push for a flag. Finishing outside of the top4.

Melbourne: Will definitely improve on last year but simply not good enough to challenge the 8. Will finish bottom 4 again but starting to look like a real team again.

North Melbourne: Will be very dangerous throughout the season but wont be able to make the top8, although 2011 and 12 will be looking good for kangaroo supporters as NM start becoming a finals side.

Port Adelaide: Will show signs of a top 4 worthy side but will be way too inconsistent again. May sneak into the 8 but id expect them to miss out again.

Richmond: Wooden spooners for 2010. Will have a shocking year but some youngsters will really start to come along, particularly Dunstin Martin and Trent Cotchin.

St Kilda: Top 2, will be hungry for a flag after narrowly missing out in '09 when they probably should have won. Have a feeling they'll leave empty handed again this year, either bowing out in the semi's or losing the GF again.

Sydney: Will be hard to beat again, and I think they'll be in a dog fight for the 8th possie with WC. Jetta to have some amazing games and Bradshaw to enjoy his time as the number #1 forward target.

West Coast: After a slow start will really start to get things going by the end, sneaking into the 8 with 11 wins. Almost unbeatable at subi, but will again struggle away from home. Masten, Kennedy, Naitanui and Shuey to become big AFL names.

Western-Bulldogs: 2010 Premiers. Will have a fantastic year with barry up forward and are my tip for the flag.

My Ladder Prediction:
---------------------

Bias much?

My Ladder Prediction:
---------------------

i liked your ladder prediction...similar to how i see things....dogs minor premiers and richmond for the wooden spoon...although i felt some of your comments were pretty much a rehash of hos things went last year...wc starting slow/finishing hot, hawthorn showing glimpses of 08, port being inconsistent...but then again...we're all going off what we saw last year so can't blame ya...

My Ladder Prediction (for what it's worth...it's all opinion)
1: Western Bulldogs ...provided the wheels don't fall off (quite a few pivotal aged players)
2: St Kilda...hungry, not many changes to the list, and still have an effective game plan...will beat most teams, and have shown that they can win the close games
3: Geelong...lost the aura of invincibility, it'll be hard to remain as dominant as they have been throughout a whole season...expect them to slip a little, but could still win the flag
4: Collingwood...the addition of jolly will keep them right up there...
5: Brisbane...fev will kick a few huge bags...but can sometimes be completely ineffective...could finish higher but i doubt it...took a punt on some mature-aged recruits...i don't think it'll pay off as well as hoped by voss
6: Hawthorn...i don't expect 08 from them...this year will prove if 08 really was just an abboration by geelong
7: Adelaide...injuries + a few older players underperforming could have them sliding
8: West Coast...finished strongly last year...have them in the 8 JUST...with sydney and port challenging for the spot...not entirely convinced they're there though...
---------------------
9: Sydney...lost alot of experience...forward line is still a giant question mark at this point...barry hall will be sorely missed...despite our hopes...white will not be a ready made replacement and goodes may struggle for the first half of the season, bradshaw to take time to adjust...will have close games against good teams but will struggle to kick the winning goal when the game is on the line...
10: Port Adelaide...if they can find some consistency they have shown they can trouble the top sides...could be a surprise packet and make the 8 at the expense of possibly west coast or adelaide
11: Carlton....wouldn't expect them to finish much higher than this...still have a strong midfield, still have judd...but you can't just throw players in the forward line and expect them to fire...
12: Fremantle...have some good youngsters coming through...some good experienced players...but i just don't see them coming together just yet
13: Essendon....this is a rebuilding year imo...lost quite a bit of experience....really fell into a heap in the last 3rd of the 09 season...i think they were a bit fortunate to win as many games as they did in 09 to be honest...i expect a drop for this year at least... should rise in the next few tho
14: Kangaroos...still developing...new coach etc...probably another couple years before they see finals
15: Melbourne....like everyone else says...will improve on last season...but don't expect them making any huge leaps this year...injuries hit too...
16: Richmond...they sucked last year...don't expect them to do much better this year

SAINTS
DOGS
CATS
PIES
LIONS
CROWS

then 6 teams fighting for the last 2 spots in the 8, Hawks, Swans, Blues, Dons, WCE, and Power.

Bottom 4 - Demons, Tigers,Freo and Kangas.

Good work on predicting 2009, practically perfect prediction, now can you do me 2010?

the opening post is vague and yet still inaccurate.

Teams with weaker lists -

Sydney -The topic opener is ******ed

Carlton -An idiotic club

Essendon -This team is a joke

Teams with developing players +/-

Adelaide -Have their seniors still and a large group of developing players, seem to keep losing players to injury with every game they play. Likely to stay right up there if they can keep their players on the field some see them as a real chance this year however their inability to win against the top sides in close games may see them missing out again in the finals.

North - As mediocre a it gets.

Teams with about the same lists

Hawthorn - Stagnating, possibly getting weaker.

Port Adelaide - Sleep on park benches.

Richmond - Richardson can't save them as a boundary rider.

Saint Kilda - Riewoldt annoyingly somehow got in their side from South Australia.

Collingwood - Get so many home games.

While I've deleted some content from your post, the bits above where the key points I noticed and retained. Great to see how your team of Senior Citizens and fragile China Dolls are going to keep you right up there this year.

You hit the nail on the head though... likely to stay right up there if they can keep their players on the field! Seen the papers recently :rolleyes:.

ps: please explain how your a developing list vs what you say are the same lists ie: Hawthorn, Port Adelaide, Collingwood, St Kilda, Geelong etc

People forget West Coast Eagles won a flag with no key forward they had Lynch as their main one but their midfield got plenty of the ball like Carlton will get.
Kerr and Cousins from 2004-2006 shit all over Murphy and Gibbs currently. Plus Judd is not as good as what he once was. Not to mention the depth the Eagles had in the midfield compared to Carlton. WC also had a solid defense with Glass dominating - where is Carlton's dominating defender? They are lucky if they have an above average defender. Shit comparison.

don't 4get the pharmaceutical help the eGirls had, but i do agree with your post

I'm not sure about the top 4 finish last year either. You probably finished where you deserved to.

Probably true. What if's are freely available in sport. Might be a little more accurate to say that Carlton's finish and a top 4 in 2009 were only separated by a tiny margin in some close losses. But if we allow ourselves to get too in love with that idea we end up sounding like Collingwood supporters.

Too many unknowns with Carlton. I think you are overrating them slightly. It all sounds good in words but in reality it will probably take time for you to get used to the new structure.

True also. Like many Blues supporters I see matching last year as a good result, anything less than that as worrying for the future. In broad terms take out Fev's scoreboard contribution, spread it out over other players and make up whatever difference there is with ongoing improvement in the team as a whole.

The suggestions that Carlton is screwed without Fev amaze me. The very solid movement up the ladder over two years did not come from him, it came from Judd's influence, it came from the young stars, but most importantly it came from a steady improvement in our 10-25 ranked players.

And if I take anything at all from the pre season it's the indication that a number of the 10-25 names look like making a significant lift in their contribution this year.

True also. Like many Blues supporters I see matching last year as a good result, anything less than that as worrying for the future.
I wouldn't be worried. You have a tough draw and you're probably expected to go slightly backwards this year. Long term you should be fine, so it's 2011 and 2012 that need decent years. The only worry would be if they don't become a premiership contender while Judd is in his prime. You need to sneak a flag while Judd is still a gun.

I'll get out the way stuff like 'pending injuries' and the like now and make some predictions which I don't like to do too much because it's just so impossible -

Dogs, Saints going for it harder than any other clubs.. nothing but the Granny will suffice and they'll both be aiming for a top two spot as their goal. I wonder how much the game will change again this year, teams might find easier ways to get it over their zone.

Collingwood probably in the most similar boat, have recruited for this year being the one despite a young list, have very tough psychological opponents though.. need to play football in September not bomb it long when times are tough..

Hawthorn have a lot to prove and know they can win it with their list, so watch out, can 'easily' finish top six, but they could be overridden by others and just sneak in

don't underestimate the Cats who wont be that scary force anymore to other teams (or will they who knows) but can finish top four 'no sweat'

Crows and Lions - want it bad but things have to go right. Crows gearing up for the flag, lots of weight on their shoulders but good luck to them

-

Essendon - Sydney - Port Adelaide - West Coast - North Melbourne - Carlton ~ can't split these clubs up too much yet. North will give their all and wont make finals simply if there are 8 better teams. I never know how to call Sydney but they have an interesting/tough first half to the season. are the Dons and Blues in pretty much the same boat? I like Carlton's defense but some tall needs to command space up front. Same with the Dons? I know a bit less about them so far this year. Being truly unbiased I think I place Port on top in this bunch for now, we look well drilled around the park and have solid key posts up front and down back. Would love to see us keep proving ourselves in the real stuff, I think we can, and can push for a bottom four of top 8 spot

Fremantle, Melbourne, Richmond, think Freo are in a slighly better position than the other two, actually pretty unwise to put them down here. this is why I don't like predictions.

OP needs to face facts that Carlton lost their top goalscorer and replaced him with nothing and that finding 100 odd goals a year from their current crop will be difficult for them in 2010. Pity the Bradshaw trade didn't go through for the blues as he would have looked good in their forward structure this year.

I am really glad Fevola has gone and that we din't get Bradshaw. Who wants a forward that rouins your whole forward structure and only fires every second week. Any way whould you want an old broken down has-been that will be finished or as good as finished at the end of the season when you have a young list. Carlton got Kane Lucas and Lachie Henderson for Fev who himself only has a few years left in him. It no doubt will turn out to be a great move by Carlton in the long run, good to have a list that will all mature at the same time IMO.

Pretty spot on OP by the way.

I am really glad Fevola has gone and that we din't get Bradshaw. Who wants a forward that rouins your whole forward structure and only fires every second week. Any way whould you want an old broken down has-been that will be finished or as good as finished at the end of the season when you have a young list. Carlton got Kane Lucas and Lachie Henderson for Fev who himself only has a few years left in him. It no doubt will turn out to be a great move by Carlton in the long run, good to have a list that will all mature at the same time IMO.

Pretty spot on OP by the way.

Based on what you have written and the way youv'e written it, I'm not sure that you are qualified to comment on "struture".:D

The Realistic Truth on your Team Chances in 2010.