Radio The SEN Thread 10

I wonder if that flog that rang up Finey realises that they have on record what he said , forever.

Using forensic voice identification

All they need to catch him is install this , Speaker recognition authentication software , at the radio station.

Meaning that if it the caller made a significant threat , his voice can be matched if he has rang in previously or to another radio station , as they keep most things said in digitised archives , where they could match the voice and put a name to him

From Wikipedia

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Speaker_recognition

In May 2013 it was announced that Barclays Wealth was to use speaker recognition to verify the identity of telephone customers within 30 seconds of normal conversation. The system used had been developed by voice specialists Nuance, the company behind Apple's Siri technology. A verified voiceprint was to be used to identify callers to the system and the system would in the future be rolled out across the company.
The private banking division of Barclays was the first financial services firm to deploy voice biometrics as the primary means to authenticate customers to their call centres. 93% of customer users had rated the system at "9 out of 10" for speed, ease of use and security.[9]

Is the "Gai living the dream" thing the worse sales pitch ever?

Without knowing much about it, it sounds like we're meant to sympathise with her that she hasn't won a Melbourne Cup and we should help by pitching in $80 and be "apart" of it.

Not all all that is how rich people become even richer , by selling off shares and many small portions of their product.

I doubt that they are selling shares in the next "Black Caviar" or "Makybe Diva" just something that will have the odd mid order finish , or maybe a place

Had similar thoughts.....and I think it was $97 a month for the privilige:eek:...I'm not a huge fan of the Waterhouses.

The ANA boys mentioned that Finey had to deal with a "difficult situation" shortly before midnight.

Anyone know what happened?

Okey dokey, I heard it. (remember, I have no life, but I'm a reasonable typist, so it didn't take me long.... :)).

A guy calling himself Andrew from South Morang called in and said:

"I wanna talk about the upcoming Spring Carnival, and some of the fillies that are involved; just one in particular in name of...um, Natalie Fine. Have you heard of her?"

Finey: "Hang on, hang on. Andrew, are you still there, mate?
Andrew: "Ah, yeah, are you there?"
Finey: "Um, I've got your phone number, and I'll make....I'll, I'll do....I'll make sure that you're sorted out. Do you understand? You'll be sorted out. All right? Take down his phone number, and I'll pass it on to the relevant people. Smartarse little dog. "
Peakey: "Hmmm, hell."
Finey: "Have we got his number? Private number. What a gutless prick you are, Andrew. Give us a call back, or drive down here. Why don't ya drive your car down here, ya no-hoper? How dare you?! You arseh*le! We don't have his number?"
Peakey: "Anyway, he's disappeared off the screen there."
Finey: "No worries. No, we don't need to go to a break.

He went on to say again that he was gutless, etc.

I didn't hear that but that is decidedly gutless.
You can disagree with the guy but to bring up his family into the equation is despicable

Perhaps radio stations shouldn't accept calls from silent numbers.

No

All callers if they want to be taken seriously , should by all means express their thoughts agreeing or disagreeing with the topic in question or the guest or hosts opinion , but do it in a respectful manner.

Why do people have to be dickheads when hey ring up , who are they trying to impress ?

Mark Fine is entitled to be treated with respect , just like he and Sen did when they accepted that idiot callers call and put him to air.

They gave that caller his time and and he let himself down. Badly

Wasn't there also a problem several years ago with callers mentioning Finey's wife during the quiz?

Shane banging on about "the afl "fix"ture" , its a disgrace that it compromises the season , and the AFL are only after the money scheduling blockbusters

Does that mean then that the team that he supports , Hawthorn , won the compromised premiership this year ?

And if Hawthorn didn't go to Tasmania for some of their games when they did , for the guaranteed money , because they were losing money and because they weren't drawing crowds back then , they would not be in the sussesful financial position that they are in now.

we heard some ok yarns from Gary Honey today without interruptions from Dowling with his shit "jokes", coz he wasn't there.

Listening to Honey reminded me of this guy, who was ripped off by the Soviet judges at the Moscow Olympics. Aussie triple jumper, Ian Campbell.

What a story! The Soviet judges cheated by fouling every jump that was longer than 'their' Estonian guy. The Aussie should've won, but obviously didn't. He wrecked his ankle 18 months later, ending his career before he was 25.
http://www.theguardian.com/sport/blog/2013/aug/07/ian-campbell-triple-jumper-moscow-olympics

One for the Schibecsta files :cool:

Im pretty sure that during his report in the 2pm news hour today , he said that the Melbourne Tigers reunion on the weekend were celebrating their 1933 win over the Perth Wildcats , waited for Harf or an SMSer to mention it.

Luv the Schibecsta :thumbsu:

Ha.

TV Times, May 13, 1978

A scornful look for a pretty girl?
Gai Smith, a newcomer to Nine’s soap The Young Doctors as fashion designer Natalie French, comes face to face with Dr Chris Piper (Bartholomew John).
Smith, who had graduated from drama at the University of NSW and played roles in the United Kingdom and Canada, is introduced to the series as an awkward patient who won’t take advice from experts.

Ha.

TV Times, May 13, 1978

A scornful look for a pretty girl?
Gai Smith, a newcomer to Nine’s soap The Young Doctors as fashion designer Natalie French, comes face to face with Dr Chris Piper (Bartholomew John).
Smith, who had graduated from drama at the University of NSW and played roles in the United Kingdom and Canada, is introduced to the series as an awkward patient who won’t take advice from experts.

Awkward and won't take advice? Probably not much acting required from Gai there :cool:

Funny, I was a Young Doctors addict back in the day and I also knew that Gai did some acting when she was young but I don't actually remember her being in this (I didn't think she appeared in anything in Australia actually).

One for the Schibecsta files :cool:

Im pretty sure that during his report in the 2pm news hour today , he said that the Melbourne Tigers reunion on the weekend were celebrating their 1933 win over the Perth Wildcats , waited for Harf or an SMSer to mention it.

Luv the Schibecsta :thumbsu:

Speaking of the Schibecsta, hear his Valentino Rossi impression?