Radio The SEN Thread 7

You mean you only just noticed this about Derm? I remember a big article he wrote criticizing James Hird in The Aged in about 97. Someone did a count on the number of times the words "I", "me" and those types or words were used. It was really funny.

hehe nah ive known it for a long time. just like to complain about it.

as for the "I" thing, sam newman ended up calling him the "I" specialist.

You mean you only just noticed this about Derm? I remember a big article he wrote criticizing James Hird in The Aged in about 97. Someone did a count on the number of times the words "I", "me" and those types or words were used. It was really funny.

Hahaha yes, Sam Newman read it on The Footy Show a few years back. Some ridiculous number of times he mentioned "I" and "me"

Apparently Christian Argenti is leaving. Anyone know why?

It's a shame because he is a very underrated host in an unattractive timeslot. He knows his stuff.

Are they simulcasting overnights with the new talk station even though they are remaining separate entities? Not suggesting that they are but it's a first thought (JUST A THOUGHT, NOT A RUMOUR OR FACT OR ANYTHING LIKE THAT) I had that the host got wind of this and got bitter.....

It's a shame because he is a very underrated host in an unattractive timeslot. He knows his stuff.
That is disappointing. I do not listen to SEN in the off season but that is a huge loss. I think he is the best host on the station, bar none.

Christian Argenti from 1116 SEN Melbourne will host the new national talk show on Southern Cross Media's Gold Stream stations. Station PD Brad McNally told JJ: "We had lots of replies to our ad (locally) and from around the globe."
Link

What were the latest ratings for SEN 1116, I see Eddie McGuire Hot Breakfeast radio show is up in the latest ratings, what about SEN?'

Keen to see the ratings afternoon with Harf.

On the poll for who we listen to in the mornings, it listed all the main ones + "other station"......other station was coming in second, ahead of AW etc.....could it be possible??...maybe Tim + Andy are doing better than we think;)

Breakfast down 0.1
Morning up 0.1
Afternoon down 0.3
Drive down 1.5
Evening down 0.5
Weekends down 1.1

http://www.au.nielsen.com/site/documents/Metro110.pdf

This survey is always traditionally a bad one for SEN being slap back in the middle of the non football season.

They lost 2.1 with the 25yo to 39yo which would be concerning but nothing to be alarmed about.

Its the next few surveys which are what SEN are all about.

Sad to see Christian Argenti go,did a good job I thought. Just hope they get someone with a BROAD KNOWLEDGE OF SPORTS AROUND THE BIG WIDE WORLD

Darren Parkin wouldn't be a bad choice?

Not sure which way they'd go, but my guess is that would be the natural progression.

Hosting the weekends already

Breakfast down 0.1
Morning up 0.1
Afternoon down 0.3
Drive down 1.5
Evening down 0.5
Weekends down 1.1

http://www.au.nielsen.com/site/documents/Metro110.pdf

This survey is always traditionally a bad one for SEN being slap back in the middle of the non football season.

They lost 2.1 with the 25yo to 39yo which would be concerning but nothing to be alarmed about.

Its the next few surveys which are what SEN are all about.

I guess the people who switched off during the Xmas/NY period forgot to put it back on SEN?

Not surprising.

Christian Argenti is a gun. Will be a big loss to the station. Fight Night has been a quality show.

Darren Parkin wouldn't be a bad choice?

Not sure which way they'd go, but my guess is that would be the natural progression.

Hosting the weekends already

Darren's okay just way to much Stkilda talk for mine
Footnote: Not in the same postcode as Peakey though!!

Christian Argenti is a gun. Will be a big loss to the station. Fight Night has been a quality show.

I don't see how he will be a big loss to the station. He's on at a time when nobody listens and when nobody advertisers.

Commercially him leaving means nothing.

maybe some of us [working ] enjoyed his show!:rolleyes:

Exactly.

Like I could give a stuff about "advertisers". Christian knows what he's talking about and brought a lot to the overnight show. His work on weekends was good aswell.

Parkin is ok but isnt the most exciting type.

If we were concerned about Advertisers and Commercial viability we'd have dead air on the audio and visual medium after about 9.30

I guess the people who switched off during the Xmas/NY period forgot to put it back on SEN?
Not surprising..
Yep, music stations tend to go up a bit over summer [Gold and (even!!) Triple M had very good increases)], while talk stations dip a little, perhaps with the exception of the ABC, due to them having the cricket. During summer, people are more inclined to listen to FM music while they're on holidays and cruisng around the beach.

It's fair to expect SEN (and this is stating the obvious) to go up when the footy starts, especially if there a few scandals. :p

Hutchy, Pickers, Dr. Turf, and Max “Shister” Markson

max_marksons.jpg

The spin never stops... folks.;)

[…]

Hutchy: It’s been a controversial week for you. Can you tell us, has Lara Bingle done the magazine interview on Monday in Woman's Day, and what can we expect?

MSM: Yeah, Woman’s Day. Comes out on Monday morning. Woman’s Day, the most revealing interview she’s ever done. She talks about everything.

Dr. Turf: Max, do you not see the conflict, if you like, of her being upset about the picture being published in the Woman’s Day and like two or three days later doing a deal with Woman’s Day and actually getting a quid out them?

MSM: It’s actually not a conflict if say a newspaper defamed me, I’d want an apology in the same newspaper and the same sort of coverage. So that’s what(sic) we’ve gone back to Woman’s Day coz we want to get to the same readers and the same forum that the action took plate(sic), or the article was in this week. We’ve gone back to the same place. It’s quite a logical thing to do.

Dr. Turf: Max, that’s spin. Because all she’s doing; if she was dirty on the Woman’s Day-

(MSM is not about to talk ethics, so he talks turkey to Turfy)

MSM: What was that word you said?

Dr. Turf: If she was dirty on Woman’s Day she wouldn’t be doing something that would increase Woman’s Day’s circulation!

MSM: Sorry, what was that word you said, that’s what?

Pickers: Spin

MSM: Spiv?

Pickers: SPIN!
Dr. Turf: Spin, Max

MSM: I couldn’t- No, what’s the word: B-I-N, bin?

Pickers: Sssspin, as in have you ever played cricket?

Hutchy: He heard you, Pickles(sic)
Pickers: I know that

MSM: No, I didn’t hear it. No, I disagree with you, whatever the word was. It’s absolutely the right place. Again, I reiterate, if you’re a lawyer and somebody’s done something wrong by you, then you want to have the apology in the same place. So the theory has gone for me, that with this that was where we wanted to do(sic). So for the same readers, the same people can see, the reply. It’s a fantastic- It’s a fantastic interview.

Dr. Turf: You don’t want to do something that’s gonna further enrich the piece that actually exploited you in the first place, or that you believe exploited you in the first place.

MSM: Well we know it exploited her, and we know that-

Dr. Turf: You’re filling their pockets up again!

MSM: What it comes down to - what it all comes back down to is Brendan Fevola taking the picture and distributing it. So let’s not get away that we’ve ah, you know, exploited this Lara, ah, her rights, her human rights, and women’s rights have been violated. I think that is the key issue with all this.

Hutchy: Are yo still taking action, Max, against Brendan?

MSM: Absolutely. Yeah, there’s legal action. It’s all in the hands of the lawyers. And that’s already under way.

Pickers: Do you think this weakens your stance from a legal perspective, Max, if you’ve then gone and done a story with them?

MSM: Not at all. The lawyers have approved everything (no doubt including that Fev makes an approximate, and tasty, $700K per year) and it’s all been done, you know, the legal action is totally separate to getting the story out. We are trying to reduce the defamation, reduce the damage that’s been done to Lara Bingle this week; by Brendan Fevola taking that picture.

Hutchy: Max, is there anyone of the 5200 people who were there for Spencer Tunick wanted to take action, would you be happy represent them?

MSM: You know, that’s a different issue altogether. They did that voluntarily and were in control of it. Lara Bingle was in the shower, O.K? And he took this photo. Without her permission and without her consent.
(A shrine to Lara by “Crazy” B. Fevola? :D)

Hutchy: Has Lara tried to take this up with Brendan. Or have you tried to take it up with Brendan?

MSM: Read Woman’s Day on Monday; you’ll get that answer for you there(sic). Spend your $4 dollars like everybody else and buy the Woman’s Day on Monday morning.

Pickers: Gee whiz!

Hutchy: Before we let you go, Max. We’ve had a lot of fun with you on our program over the years. Pickers is not your biggest fan. I’m a bit of a fan. (no surprise there, Hutch) We love discussing your antics on Saturday morning. Liam manages Lance Franklin who you’ve commented about many times-

Pickers: Too many times.

Hutchy: He’s an IMG player manager. Have you got some advice for Liam on the Ablett/Franklin scenario; on what he should do with the Gold Coast hovering?

Pickers: [LOL] Ohh shut up, Hutchy.

MSM: I, you know, I don‘t know, I bunked(sic?) Lance Franklin at the Crown Casino last Saturday night-
Pickers: Keep your hands off him, Max. He’s my bloke; don’t even think about it.

MSM: Well look, if he needs a good manger I’m available. [laughter all around] I reckon I can make more money for him than you’re making for him. [now hysterical side-splitting laughs abound]

Pickers: I don’t tend to peddle with the Woman Days of the world, mate.

MSM: Liam, be serious. Is he on any TV commercials in Melbourne at the moment? Yes or no?

Pickers: [LOL] I’m not going to talk about-
MSM: Fine, who does your endorsement sponsorships and deals? He’s playing in the AFL along with Ablett, they both should be earning more money than they are, and I think who is ever managing them is not doing the right job by them. They’re leaving money on the table at the moment. [Hutchy is seemingly on his back, pointing, clapping, and laughing at Pickers]

Pickers: Unfortunately Max you have no idea how the landscape of AFL football works and the conflict of sponsors - and what you can and can’t do - but you keep selling your deals on the Lara Bingles of the world, champ. You’ll be right.:rolleyes:

MSM: thanks, I appreciate your support.:thumbsu:

Hutchy: Max Markson, thanks for your time this morning.

MSM: Always.