Rumour The Thread formerly known as the rumour file, now with zero rumours

Did anybody else see how Glen Jakovich was dodging the question about coming to the Blues? Dunstall outright asked him and wanted to hear it from the horse's mouth but Glen dodged the question by saying he couldn't hear.

And no joke, he used to support Carlton as a kid.

Anyone watching the pre mate coverage?

They asked Jakovich if he was joining MM at the Blues, and was pretty funny when said "when growing up, there were no eagles or dockers, but there was carlton...I loved watching maclure..." or something along those lines.

Thoughts on having him as our defensive coach?

I didnt miss it. I just put it in the context of the rest of his answer. Which wasnt the most convincing response I ever heard and far from definitive on the matter of him taking a pay cut.
Murph also said that a few blokes had opinions. Does not sound unanimous. He mentioned that players play for a little less in order to win a flag, but then you would everybody else playing for less to accommodate one bloke who is playing for far more. No wonder his answer was a little reserved.

Having said that, what Carlton pay Cloke will not be Cloke's fault necessarily. Carlton have to offer him more than Collingwood or he has to stay at Collingwood or be traded.

Anyone watching the pre mate coverage?

They asked Jakovich if he was joining MM at the Blues, and was pretty funny when said "when growing up, there were no eagles or dockers, but there was carlton...I loved watching maclure..." or something along those lines.

Thoughts on having him as our defensive coach?

Seems he is not universally liked......

http://yobbo.wordpress.com/2004/04/28/glen-jakovich-is-a-****wit/

Obviously this is a rumour thread so I will post something I have just heard without obviously revealing my source. A guy I know really well knows someone very high up at the club, and is very good mates with him, and was told by this Carlton person that if Ratts was retained as coach, Gibbs and Betts would have left the club.

Was a bit surprised about Betts, but I can understand if there was some tensions between Gibbs and Ratts due to the fact Gibbs was never played as a pure midfielder, which is what we recruited him as. I remember last week BT had Gibbs on the lie detector test on Sat night footy (few days after Rats was sacked) and BT asked him if he believed he was played out of position. Gibbs answered yes. I doubt he would have said that if Ratts was still coach.

Prob not too much to read from what I have said, but I guess it prob shows that Ratts had a few frosty relationships with board members and some players.

The change had to happen.

Obviously this is a rumour thread so I will post something I have just heard without obviously revealing my source. A guy I know really well knows someone very high up at the club, and is very good mates with him, and was told by this Carlton person that if Ratts was retained as coach, Gibbs and Betts would have left the club.

Was a bit surprised about Betts, but I can understand if there was some tensions between Gibbs and Ratts due to the fact Gibbs was never played as a pure midfielder, which is what we recruited him as. I remember last week BT had Gibbs on the lie detector test on Sat night footy (few days after Rats was sacked) and BT asked him if he believed he was played out of position. Gibbs answered yes. I doubt he would have said that if Ratts was still coach.

Prob not too much to read from what I have said, but I guess it prob shows that Ratts had a few frosty relationships with board members and some players.

See I disagree with that line of thought. i think we've spoilt and coddled the players - Walker being a classic example - of the "play me how i want or Im walking" variety. be a good lad and play where your friggin told for the sake of the team or leave. It also fits with rumours that senior players werent happy at being dropped to the reserves and reports that it was the players who forced Ratten from the bench to the coaches box. The tail is well and truly wagging the dog now. And I blame the Leading Teams program for it.

lets see if Malthouse takes that crap.

See I disagree with that line of thought. i think we've spoilt and coddled the players - Walker being a classic example - of the "play me how i want or Im walking" variety. be a good lad and play where your friggin told for the sake of the team or leave. It also fits with rumours that senior players werent happy at being dropped to the reserves and reports that it was the players who forced Ratten from the bench to the coaches box. The tail is well and truly wagging the dog now. And I blame the Leading Teams program for it.

Mick aint into that leading teams stuff?.remember him commenting on it

Yeh i agree about the leading teams stuff...

Did any1 hear Eddie McFatass say today that he is working on a story that will "blow the world apart"?

Noticed it on the Filth board as well. Wonder if it has anything to do with us.

Not sure it will be anything to do with Carlton (as most of of the knobs on the main board are surmising).

Reckon our salary payments will be spot on, with the AFL and Ken Wood looking over our shoulder, and the Visy deal has been signed off by the AFL.

If anything it would be Fev mouthing off about tanking but have noticed that Eddie and Mick have been pretty soft on the Melbourne tanking issue - Eddie calling for an amnesty I think and Mick clearing playing dumb when questioned on 3AW at the time about Collinwood in 2004. Think Eddies happy for the tanking can of worms to remain closed.

If anything I suspect it's drug related if its truly something that will 'blow the world apart'.

As you say it is a rumour, but there does seem to be quite a few rumblings about Rattens ability to work with others.

well ****ing said champ

I completely agree with you in principle, but let's hope the Club (and the playing group) have learned the lessons of the past. There was a similar power struggle (for want of a better term) when Pagan came in... He had a mandate to do it his way, and we saw a remarkably quick turnover of our senior players, guys like Hickmott, Ratten, McKay, Allan, Camporeale, Murphy, Beaumont, Manton, even McKernan, all finished up at Carlton a bit quicker than they probably expected... and although the Club was right to support the coach, it basically left us with Koutoufides, Whitnall, Stevens, and not much else. Which wasn't a great thing.

Obviously we're better placed now, but you'd hope there wouldn't be too much player disaffection with Mick's regime. But we are Carlton, we know Mick will be tough and authoritarian, and if the results don't come pretty quick, there will be rumblings.

Glen Jakovich will be an assistant coach with us next year.
High chance that 2 West Coast players will be joining us, one of them being Q Lynch who is just about a done deal.

And who is the other west coast player with a high chance coming to us?

Not sure it will be anything to do with Carlton (as most of of the knobs on the main board are surmising).

Reckon our salary payments will be spot on, with the AFL and Ken Wood looking over our shoulder, and the Visy deal has been signed off by the AFL.

If anything it would be Fev mouthing off about tanking but have noticed that Eddie and Mick have been pretty soft on the Melbourne tanking issue - Eddie calling for an amnesty I think and Mick clearing playing dumb when questioned on 3AW at the time about Collinwood in 2004. Think Eddies happy for the tanking can of worms to remain closed.

If anything I suspect it's drug related if its truly something that will 'blow the world apart'.

I agree, I doubt it will have anything to do with Carlton at all. My guess will be drug related or a story about AFL footballers who are homosexual and their difficulties in coming out in such an environment as a football club.

High chance that 2 West Coast players will be joining us, one of them being Q Lynch who is just about a done deal.

An old article below stating that he threatened Adrian Barich (former West Coast) with legal action for telling "Jokovich jokes" at corporate functions. He is even credited with the famous "It's not rocket surgery" quote. If he came up with this quote, and I was on the job interview panel...I'd shake his hand and sign his contract. Maybe he'll be Mick's one-liner assistant.
(http://www.perthnow.com.au/news/wes...rian-barich-gags/story-e6frg13u-1225911292703).

Don't know why a young player would choose the Saints whose guns are 28 or older. Plus Goddard is a chance to leave if those reports are to be believed. Their window is closed.

Ageing Cats could drop off without Scarlett and a gun ruck, but their culture and development makes it an attractive destination if Caddy wants to come home. They've still turned over their list whilst winning flags and playing finals.

Saints have stagnated.

Stevens???

And would love the big Q Stick at the Eagles, >> God ugly, put can clunk a mark, can kick it 60 metres and inst the worst kick in the world.
Would be the perfect player to take the second best defender (behind Waite) and kick 40-50 odd.

Plus doesn't have an injury record like every other one of our players.