The Top 2 Draftees Are Settled..........

Good to see nobody is mentioning Hurley, we will have him thanks!!

No mention of Port Power here as well, they are a lock for bottom four now, I have not seen too many of their games, they obviously need another ruckman but what would they draft? any thoughts?

Cox will play for another 5+ years yet. We have 5 years to draft another ruckman. Id rather do it with a later pick then miss out on a certain good player like Rich

I stil like Seaby. He still has a future at our club. People who expect us to use pick 2 on a backup ruckman should be set for a shock. Even if we did somehow oddly draft Natanui he would play exclusively as a tall midfielder.

Cox will play for another 5+ years yet. We have 5 years to draft another ruckman. Id rather do it with a later pick then miss out on a certain good player like Rich

I stil like Seaby. He still has a future at our club. People who expect us to use pick 2 on a backup ruckman should be set for a shock. Even if we did somehow oddly draft Natanui he would play exclusively as a tall midfielder.
\
Rucks take 4 years to develop (minimum). Plus you have GC and West Sydney entering the draft next year and the year after and as sure as Tuesday follows Monday they will be both be taking the cream of the rucks from that draft.

If you don't get one this year, then you will have to wait until 2011 to get a chance at picking up another one. Cox will be 30 with 2 years left by then which means you could potentially be without a quality big man for years 2012-2014.

However if you get Naitunui now, you have an automatic transition. People at West Coast are too smart not to have thought about this either.

So we can take one with a lower pick, rookie pick or next year. NickNat is not the be all and end all.

During Worsfold's term he has implemented a pretty strict "draft the best available player regardless of position" system.

I would expect that to continue. Where they rate NickNat, Rich or Watts will be seen in time
Actually I don't think that the Eagles necessarily have a "draft the best player regardless of position" policy. Last season we drafted midfielders (Masten, Ebert, Scott Selwood, McGinnity) and rookied another one ( Arrowsmith) and the year before that it was tall players (Brown, MacKenzie, Schofield). There seems to be a pattern to West Coast's drafting, but not a strict one,of getting the best players that we can of a certain type all in one draft !

I would much rather Rich than Naitanui. Rich is almost a sure bet. He is a bit like Kerr with a Hodge kick. Naitanui could be anything but at this stage is only a project player. If Melbourne finish last, I reckon they will take Watts.

\
Rucks take 4 years to develop (minimum). Plus you have GC and West Sydney entering the draft next year and the year after and as sure as Tuesday follows Monday they will be both be taking the cream of the rucks from that draft.

If you don't get one this year, then you will have to wait until 2011 to get a chance at picking up another one. Cox will be 30 with 2 years left by then which means you could potentially be without a quality big man for years 2012-2014.

However if you get Naitunui now, you have an automatic transition. People at West Coast are too smart not to have thought about this either.

If Natanui takes 4 years to develop ill eat my head. He will be ready to go for day one.

I think your forgetting about Seaby. Hes had a poor year but he was VERY good against St Kilda and in reality he was kept out of the side by Lynch who had been rucking VERY well in tandem with Coxxy before hand.

We will keep some faith in Will Sullvian. VERY good tap ruckman who just cant find the pill atm. Similar to Coxxy when he came.

A ruck force of

Cox
Seaby
Lynch
Sullivan
Kennedy

Will do me fine thankyou

If Natanui takes 4 years to develop ill eat my head. He will be ready to go for day one.

I think your forgetting about Seaby. Hes had a poor year but he was VERY good against St Kilda and in reality he was kept out of the side by Lynch who had been rucking VERY well in tandem with Coxxy before hand.

We will keep some faith in Will Sullvian. VERY good tap ruckman who just cant find the pill atm. Similar to Coxxy when he came.

A ruck force of

Cox
Seaby
Lynch
Sullivan
Kennedy

Will do me fine thankyou

What will it be in 2012 though ?

Clubs don't draft for now.

What will it be in 2012 though ?

Clubs don't draft for now.

Seaby and Lynch

or

Seaby and Sullivan

The only player who would of retired by 2012 is Cox. What will your ruck division be in 2012. Hille is 28 too.

Personally I think

Seaby and Lynch > Laycock and Bellchambers'

Clubs dont draft for 2012 either mate. Do you think Fremantle are gonna draft Jack Watts because Pavs gonna retire in 5 years? Wouldnt we be better of drafting to replace someone who retired this year in Braun then someone whose gonna retire in 5 years time?

Seaby and Lynch

or

Seaby and Sullivan

The only player who would of retired by 2012 is Cox. What will your ruck division be in 2012. Hille is 28 too.

I'd be shocked if Essendon didn't draft a ruck this year because of your scenario above.
West Coast are in exactly the same position.

They said the same about Kreuzer, Leuenberger, Ottens, Gardiner, Fraser.

IT NEVER HAPPENS with rucks.

Neither took 5 years though. Not sure id put Frasier and Ottens in the same category because they spent a large chunk of there early careers up forward. Either way we already have Wil Sullivan whose developing along with 2 AFL ready ruckman and a bloke like Lynch who rucks very well especially around the ground.

Id be happy to draft someone to understudy Seaby in a few years time. We are very good at developing ruckmen down at the Eagles. Im sure learning from Cox will help any ruckman we draft in the future. Why not fill a position on a wing that has just been vacated by Braun instead of forcing a youngster to play WAFL for 5 years until Cox retires?

Good to see nobody is mentioning Hurley, we will have him thanks!!

No mention of Port Power here as well, they are a lock for bottom four now, I have not seen too many of their games, they obviously need another ruckman but what would they draft? any thoughts?

Urgently require;
1) KPP which could be either of Watts, Hurley or McKernnan
2) Inside Mid probably Rich or Hartlett
and
3) Ruck which would be Nat.

Therefore they should be able to fill either one of those positions well dependant on selections prior to theirs which looks to be pick 4. On saying that however most seem to feel that Freo will finish lower, i'm not so sure on current form.

Port have: Saints away, Carlton away, Collingwood home, Melbourne home and North away = possibly 2 wins

Freo have: Eagles home, Sydney away, Saints home, Richmond away, Collingwood home = possibly 3 wins

Port are currently one spot above so could be very close at season end for pick 3 which IMO will be NAT either way...:thumbsu:

Urgently require;
1) KPP which could be either of Watts, Hurley or McKernnan
2) Inside Mid probably Rich or Hartlett
and
3) Ruck which would be Nat.

Therefore they should be able to fill either one of those positions well dependant on selections prior to theirs which looks to be pick 4. On saying that however most seem to feel that Freo will finish lower, i'm not so sure on current form.

Port have: Saints away, Carlton away, Collingwood home, Melbourne home and North away = possibly 2 wins

Freo have: Eagles home, Sydney away, Saints home, Richmond away, Collingwood home = possibly 3 wins

Port are currently one spot above so could be very close at season end for pick 3 which IMO will be NAT either way...:thumbsu:
stay away from pick 3 :mad:

;)

i agree though, your draw looks tough on paper. anything can happen in the next 5 weeks

He's already getting midteens in disposals as a ruckman in the WAFL. Not many AFL ruckman get more possessions. Its the tackles and shepherds thats getting everyone excited.

Definately a worthy number 1 pick.

Fair enough. just going by what the reports are on radio over here and by what I saw at the carnival. Happy to bow to the local knowledge.

Still think he needs more work than the other two though.

Fair enough. just going by what the reports are on radio over here and by what I saw at the carnival. Happy to bow to the local knowledge.

Still think he needs more work than the other two though.

No one is disputing that, but he also has the most to improve as well.

It's a calculated risk that the clubs have to decided on, take Rich who is good now and could play imediately but room for improvement might be a bit limited, take Watts who might need a bit of time to get some size and could turn into a dominent CHF with a bit of work or take Naitanui who is the most raw but has the potential to be a player the game has never seen the likes of.

Add that to what clubs need and that's how it'll be decided. The one thing you can be certain is that melbourne wont take Rich, we desperately need a forward and a ruckman.

I hope we take Watts because ruckman are very often taken later in the draft because of their slower development (Cox was a rookie) and Melbourne has a greater need for a KP forward then we do for a ruckman. Teams can win without great ruckman, it's a lot harder to do without a good KP forward

[quote=Juggalo Balla;11860501]I would be wanting Watts for Eagles as they need goalkickers desperately.

Also really like that McKernan. He could be a dominant ruck/forward tall man.

Vickory is decent but that Knee reco gotta put you off.

Nait might not be #1 as the top 3 will have some other choices. Little chance of him going 4 or less though. He will end up at Dees/Eagles/Dockers.

Also watch on Zaharakis. Looks like a good footy player on the make.[/quote]

We may now but we have M Brown Kennedy and Notte (incredibly talented) who could have been drafted this year hes that young.

Watts would just be behind them and take as long.

For people saying we need a ruckman this draft, roughead, vickory, trengove are all ruckman, we will take Rich:thumbsu:

Top 2 will be Watts and Nat, no matter who finishes bottom 2.
They are standouts according to those who know what they are talking about (Head recruiters).

Rich is then in a pack of about 5-6 that could go anywhere.

If WC go for best available they will get Nat or Watts depending on whose available BUT NOT RICH!

I just feel sorry for whatever poor kid gets drafted to Melbourne :(

and that's the great thing about the draft system.

in five years time we'll be at the top of the pack and Geelong will be struggling to beat the Torquay fifth's...

all i can say is, the tide can turn pretty quickly my friend so i wouldn't be so cocky if i were you...:p

I actually think whoever finishes 3rd may actually be lucky.

Their player will not have the pressure of being the #1 pick, they will still get a class act (Rich, Watts or Nick Nat).

It is starting to remind me of the whole Hodge, Ball and Judd draft.

I just hope Hurley slips down to Carltons draft selection.

Swift will also slide down the draft order and could be an amazing lower first round selection. Yarren, I would have thought he could be drafted in the top 10 at the start of the year, he may also slip down the list.

This should be one HUGE draft, the top 25 will be very good, not sure about the late selections.

I actually think whoever finishes 3rd may actually be lucky.

Their player will not have the pressure of being the #1 pick, they will still get a class act (Rich, Watts or Nick Nat).

It is starting to remind me of the whole Hodge, Ball and Judd draft.

I just hope Hurley slips down to Carltons draft selection.

Swift will also slide down the draft order and could be an amazing lower first round selection. Yarren, I would have thought he could be drafted in the top 10 at the start of the year, he may also slip down the list.

This should be one HUGE draft, the top 25 will be very good, not sure about the late selections.

You must be thinking about when your team tried it's hardest to finish as low as possible. To finish 3rd means you've just missed the big day fella! :thumbsu:

They said the same about Kreuzer, Leuenberger, Ottens, Gardiner, Fraser.

IT NEVER HAPPENS with rucks.

This is asuming Natinui actually turns out to be any good. I would rather take Rich and risk getting another ruckman further down. The Eagles still look like they may have a priority pick after round one and there are a few promising ruckman around that could be picked up around that time if they feel inclined to pick a ruckman.

The Top 2 Draftees Are Settled..........