The Ultimate Test!!!

Can't let our performance against Melbourne derail our confidence.

I'm completely confident that we have what it takes to beat St.Kilda this week. I won't be happy with just a "good show", or a "close loss". No more excuses. We are aiming for a premiership this year, not second best.

We have to knock the second best syndrome out of our heads (both players and supporters). How are we going to win the flag if we don't believe we can do it?

Ok, we were flat against Melbourne, but we know how good we can be, so let's focus on that.

If you put a line through the Saints and Pies matches this week...it is going to be a very close game....this week, the Pies and Bulldogs were both flat from their round one game AND the Saints won big first and last quarters against under developed and inexperienced kids. The Kangaroos stuck with them in the second and third quarters. Sydney could have beaten the Saints.
When you take the emotion out of it, this game is going to be a ripper.

I want to win, good efforts are for clubs like Carlton to be happy with, not us

My comment on "we don't need to win this week" to look good, was more meant at where we are after 2 rounds (2-0), who and where we are playing this week (StKilda on their own dung heap) and just plainly on whether Presti plays or not.

If Presti plays, I will expect, and be disappointed with anything other then a win, but if as I suspect, he doesn't play, then a close loss or a competitive result against the "raging" Saints while not perfect, will almost be acceptable.

I am like most here though, a loss is usually not acceptable, but you have to be realistic about our opponents this week, they are clearly one of the 2 standout teams in the comp at the moment, and we are playing them at their home ground coming off two 6 day breaks, and as I said probably without our clearly team leading best defender.

Usually I won't accept a loss, but if Presti doesn't play this week, I will make an exception, all things being equal (StKilda play well, have no injuries pre/during game etc).

what happens to this board after we beat the saints on friday?? will all the geese who came here and made out that were the worst team in the league come here and make retractions/ apologies???

Magpies 2 and 0... after firday night we will be (im confiedent the game against melbourne will hold us in good stead for this encounter) 3 and 0 and the band-wagoners will be back about the 2010 pie train...

cant wait to see luke ball pants his old midfield buddies... i especially cant wait for ball and crywoldt to cross paths again... nice to see a bit of argy bargy - esp. if leroy throws himself around helping out the boys..

I won't be shattered if we lose, but if we lose like we did the first time around against the Saints last year, I will be. We need to prove to ourselves that we can be competitive against the Saints' gameplan.

This. Most important thing apart from winning is showing we can match it with the saints and the week after Hawthorn. Two sides in a row that have regularly made us their bitches lately.

Reading through this Im even more unsure who to tip. Saints have two massive outs in Kosi and Fisher. StKilda have had a slow build up with a few including Hayes and Gardiner having less then ideal preperations. Collingwood on the other hand have a question mark on Presti only and without Kosi who would he play on. To me its the Pies best chance to beat St Kilda in a while but you lot dont share that beleif.

ROFL.

Given the performance against Melbourne you are surprised that there is an atmosphere of restrained, cautious optimism?

Surely you jest?

Bit Hard when we played Terrible against the Dees but It could be hat we needed to be up to beat the Saints

ROFL.

Given the performance against Melbourne you are surprised that there is an atmosphere of restrained, cautious optimism?

Surely you jest?

Well if you dont think you can beat them without there best defender and Kosi not playing and you at full strength when do you think you will beat them.

Sorry, we will not be at full strength.

Goldsack, Johnson, Presti (50/50), Dick and Wood are all injured/not ready and likely to be in our best 22 when fit and ready.

But yes, I agree slightly with you, we should at least push the Saints this week, there are no excuses, both sides will be only missing a few players.

If we don't at least "push" StKilda this week, then we would want to be a better side at the MCG, because that is all that will be left as an excuse if we lose badly this week.

Goldsack Johnson dick wood? They're on the fringe of our 22 but most likely just out of it. U know it. I know it. Were basically at full strength now. If presti is up then were as good as we can be... Maybe a tad better if dick preforms like he can

You do realise I am a person on a footy forum?

I'm not a player wasting time between reps
What I think does not matter a rats arse on the field.

I wrote that I am not expecting a win not that I am expecting a loss.

Sorry, we will not be at full strength.

Goldsack, Johnson, Presti (50/50), Dick and Wood are all injured/not ready and likely to be in our best 22 when fit and ready...

Dicky is the real missing piece I reckon. No-one in St Kilda could account for him if we stacked talls (Brown, Fraser, Cloke) down there and he has the creativity to make things happen. AND one of our most dangerous forward-pressure tacklers.

Get better soon, son-of-finger-waggler

The Round 2 game gives me little reason for confidence for this week, especially after what I saw St.Kilda do to North Melbourne.

They choked the living crap out of them.

All St.Kilda has to really do is watch the Melbourne game and see that isolating our defenders into one on one situations is quite a chink in the 'armour' that they are equipped to expose FAR better than Melbourne already did.

I can tell you now, the more you think of it, the more you worry about how badly St.Kilda will more than likely punish us for even taking the field.

Winning clearances will make up for any sins.

You honestly expect our midfield to outperform St.Kilda's in this area? Or ANY area of the game?

Wow.

I'm trying to understand which part of we haven't beat St.Kilda for 2 or 3 years you don't see?

It would take a complete reveral of form from BOTH teasm for us to beat St.Kilda. And I'm talking a Dr.Jekyll and Mr.Hyde type of transformation here.

You honestly expect our midfield to outperform St.Kilda's in this area? Or ANY area of the game?

Wow.

I'm trying to understand which part of we haven't beat St.Kilda for 2 or 3 years you don't see?

It would take a complete reveral of form from BOTH teasm for us to beat St.Kilda. And I'm talking a Dr.Jekyll and Mr.Hyde type of transformation here.

We made that type of transformation from week 1 to week 2. There is no reason to suspect that the melbourne performance will be the norm throughout the year.

Be reasonable - demand the impossible.

Why not? If we want the Pies to get the cup this year they should be aiming this high every week.

If they don't, I'll have a mumble and a groan, kick the cat and then go back to believing they'll win the next week.

We made that type of transformation from week 1 to week 2. There is no reason to suspect that the melbourne performance will be the norm throughout the year.

I don't expect it to be the norm.

But at the same time, we can't consider ourselves genuine contenders when you put up a show like that in Round 2 against such lowly opposition who were missing key players themselves.

It just doesn't work that way.

If we come out and beat St.Kilda, even with St.Kilda playing decent football, then you could argue maybe we're on our way to being a great sde, and maybe Melbourne WAS just a very ugly blip on the radar, but really, losing to St.Kilda and Hawthorn would just mean NOTHING has changed, and we haven't progressed at all.

Where is Collingwood sitting on your ladder? ;-)

I'm not interested in a ladder, the only ladder that interests me is the form ladder.

In my mind the ladder is insignificant until round 22.......:p:p:p:D

We beat St.Kilda twice in 2008 and lost a SF without Heater, Burns & Didak.

Lost both games last year. Watch the 1st half of the QF and see we go with them (inaccurate kicking again), just faded badly in the 2nd half.

If you wish to go into any game thinking we are no chance, that is up to you, but I, like most Pie supporters, players and coaches, go into every game thinking we can win. That to me, is what being a supporter is about. Supporting your club.

The Ultimate Test!!!