The Western Bulldogs Next Coach

Who do you want to be the next coach of the Western Bulldogs?

Ratten doesn't impress me at all. We want a weapon like clarkson, Lyon or c Scott. Someone with presence that dominates a room.

And haven't we already learnt not to put people with their eyes too close together into positions of power??? Bad look for the club.

had a giggle at this being the previous user Cyclops - I may have detected a hint of it in one Tom Boyd you know !!
CyclopsRules may come back as a username !

The bookies have been pretty clueless about coaches, but just a note that Ratten's odds have shortened to become equal favourite with Monty at $2.50.

There are a lot of candidates that I'm really worried we'd select (Monty, West, Sumich) but I'd at least feel ok with Ratten. Still rather Tudor and Williams though.

Does anyone know whether Worsfold being on the selection panel mean he is effectively ruled out from the coaching role? Can he select himself?
These are my thoughts exactly.

Williams #1, Ratten #2, Tudor #3 in my eyes.

But are they actual candidates or do people just want them to be candidates?
Great question.

All I know is this thread is a pre cursor to the next ........... coaching discussion thread. Will it beat Maccas one for pages?

For all those that watched the Port coached Williams teams closely, what type of game plan did they play? Was it a Roos type defensive game or a more attacking style run and gun approach?

Either Tudor must his family on here or he's on radio a lot in Melbourne and is a smooth talker

I'm missing something about him from up here in the Riverina

All I'll say is I wouldn't be jumping over pens to buy him at a Ram sale ( that's a metaphor )

Or, you know.. people are impressed by his outstanding track record and believe he's the best man to take the group forward...
No one has ever heard the guy talk.

No one has seen him since he passed rhe footy to garry ablett 100 years ago.

We all know that he has been an assistant coach at a couple of clubs that are in finals contention .

Can he handle club politics? NFI

What is his player management like? NFI

Can he talk to sponsors and media? NFI

Will he be able to sell his vision and experience to the 5 man coach selection committee? NFI

We dont know anything about the guy. He may be a gun or he maybe lucky to have fallen into the right assistant roles at the right time.

No one has ever heard the guy talk.

No one has seen him since he passed rhe footy to garry ablett 100 years ago.

We all know that he has been an assistant coach at a couple of clubs that are in finals contention .

Can he handle club politics? NFI

What is his player management like? NFI

Can he talk to sponsors and media? NFI

Will he be able to sell his vision and experience to the 5 man coach selection committee? NFI

We dont know anything about the guy. He may be a gun or he maybe lucky to have fallen into the right assistant roles at the right time.
Are you describing Leigh Tudor or every assistant coach ever?

In particular Tudor. We know less about him than anyone else mentioned and yet the love he gets on this forum is amazing.

We cant afford another Peter Rohde or Brendan McCartney.

We have selected 2 untried assistants last 10 years and stuffed up both times. Tried one experianced coach that actually saw out his contract and was not fired!

For all those that watched the Port coached Williams teams closely, what type of game plan did they play? Was it a Roos type defensive game or a more attacking style run and gun approach?

Hmmm. Neither, really.

They were just a solid, hardened footy side that was pretty strong all over the park. Their game plan was kick more goals than the other side and make sure they don't kick more than you. Like most othher good teams of the era.

I'm not sure "game plans" really entered the game until the Swans started shutting it down (and we were going the other way with all out attack). Rotations weren't a "thing".

Geelong of 89-95 are probably the exception to the rule. Defence was not discussed in their plans.

Or every aspiring coach ever. We really still know very little about any coach in the field.
All most can go by is the success of the teams they have been involved with.
Gees can i get a job running your company? I have worked at a couple of succesful companies?

In reality i have lots of issues and need to move on after 12 months before i get sacked.

You need MUCH more than he worked in a great company...

Just FWIW - Tudor's an extremely prominent figure in footy and I, and no doubt others, have absolutely heard him speak. At least in my case, this isn't just me jumping at shadows and lauding him for the records of his teams - there's more to it for that. He speaks extremely well.

For those that want to hear him speak:

I really find it uncomfortable and troubling not having a coach
I know there is nothing for him to do this time of year
It just seems like we are a ship without a rudder and the fractures following the exit of Griffen and Brendan need urgent healing. I want someone to sell me a vision , to inspire me.
F888 mate. We just signed Tom Boyd. Did you miss this?

In particular Tudor. We know less about him than anyone else mentioned and yet the love he gets on this forum is amazing.

We cant afford another Peter Rohde or Brendan McCartney.

We have selected 2 untried assistants last 10 years and stuffed up both times. Tried one experianced coach that actually saw out his contract and was not fired!
And before that we had Terry Wallace work out while Joyce was terrible.