The Western Bulldogs Next Coach

Who do you want to be the next coach of the Western Bulldogs?

Just FWIW - Tudor's an extremely prominent figure in footy and I, and no doubt others, have absolutely heard him speak. At least in my case, this isn't just me jumping at shadows and lauding him for the records of his teams - there's more to it for that. He speaks extremely well.

For those that want to hear him speak:

Thanks for posting the link.

Just FWIW - Tudor's an extremely prominent figure in footy and I, and no doubt others, have absolutely heard him speak. At least in my case, this isn't just me jumping at shadows and lauding him for the records of his teams - there's more to it for that. He speaks extremely well.

doesn't work

In particular Tudor. We know less about him than anyone else mentioned and yet the love he gets on this forum is amazing.

We cant afford another Peter Rohde or Brendan McCartney.

We have selected 2 untried assistants last 10 years and stuffed up both times. Tried one experianced coach that actually saw out his contract and was not fired!
Look I am not convinced of Tudor
But you can't place him in the same category as Rhode
2007 premiership as geelong VFL coach
Assistant at st Kilda during their preliminary and grand final years,
Assistant to longmire during premiership year

He ticks all the boxes for an untried head coach

I would not be cross if he were selected

Although as I have said, my preference is Williams but if we are going to go with an untried commodity Tudor is a mile ahead of Montgomery.

Look I am not convinced of Tudor
But you can't place him in the same category as Rhode
2007 premiership as geelong VFL coach
Assistant at st Kilda during their preliminary and grand final years,
Assistant to longmire during premiership year

He ticks all the boxes for an untried head coach

I would not be cross if he were selected

Although as I have said, my preference is Williams but if we are going to go with an untried commodity Tudor is a mile ahead of Montgomery.
He ticks ONE box. He has been in a succesful environment... jusyt like Brendan Mcartney! That worked well for us.

We have no idea on how many other boxes he ticks.

I don't find that impressive or unimpressive tbh. Vanilla in fact. After lauding NM, would he now walk out on them and say the same things about the Dogs?

He ticks ONE box. He has been in a succesful environment... jusyt like Brendan Mcartney! That worked well for us.

We have no idea on how many other boxes he ticks.
He coached his own team at VFL level - Brendan at local level
And it may well be this that was the difference. Anyway I still luv Brendan and reckon Monty knifed him.

I don't find that impressive or unimpressive tbh. Vanilla in fact. After lauding NM, would he now walk out on them and say the same things about the Dogs?
Fair enough. I wasn't judging solely off that though - I've heard him speak numerous times in various different forums; that was just an example for those that had never heard him speak before.

Yes it was bland. One of the boxes that needs to be ticked is the ability to sell the club.

Malthouse, Wallace and Eade were great at it.

Mcartney was good.

Joyce and Rohde were terrible.

our club needs great.

Has Tudor dealt much with young developing teams? Seems like he knows when to jump on board with a mature list. Bit of a finisher

Yes it was bland. One of the boxes that needs to be ticked is the ability to sell the club.

Malthouse, Wallace and Eade were great at it.

Mcartney was good.

Joyce and Rohde were terrible.

our club needs great.

Call me old fashioned but I'll settle for a guy who can deliver us a premiership, rather than a showbag like Wallace...

Get a premiership in, and 'selling the club' will take care of itself.

Whatever else McCartney did, he embraced our club and promoted it as if it was his home. Wallace and Eade did too. That's what I want from our next coach. That's why a recycled coach doesn't appeal to me. Dammit, it's a privilege to coach our boys :straining:.

Monty ticks the boxes IMO.

Has Tudor dealt much with young developing teams? Seems like he knows when to jump on board with a mature list. Bit of a finisher

The Geelong VFL side he coached to a premiership would have been young and developing one would assume.

Whatever else McCartney did, he embraced our club and promoted it as if it was his home. Wallace and Eade did too. That's what I want from our next coach. That's why a recycled coach doesn't appeal to me. Dammit, it's a privilege to coach our boys :straining:.

Monty ticks the boxes IMO.
Mate, He was an Assistant Coach at Carlton for 3 Years and 4 Years as Assistant at the Dogs, No way does he tick the Boxes

Call me old fashioned but I'll settle for a guy who can deliver us a premiership, rather than a showbag like Wallace...

Get a premiership in, and 'selling the club' will take care of itself.
Meanehile back on planet earth. Our club cannot afford the luxury of quiet coach.

Next year may be a tough year on the field. If our coach cant sell then we will get destroyed in the media. Then our sponsors will get hit.

Do you think our sponsors have not been approached by other clubs or organizations in the last month?

We were out for the count last week. We hit back we ith Boyd.

Unfortunately this is just the first round. A bad season and we will have sponsors and players looking elseware.

Just in case we dont win the flag next year!

Was that his 1st year as an assistant? Or was he at Geelong for a few years prior?

Not a bad resume. Wonder if he's applied/keen

In particular Tudor. We know less about him than anyone else mentioned and yet the love he gets on this forum is amazing.

We cant afford another Peter Rohde or Brendan McCartney.

We have selected 2 untried assistants last 10 years and stuffed up both times. Tried one experianced coach that actually saw out his contract and was not fired!
So from a sample size of 3

[QUOTE="Dogs_R_Us, post: 35840226, member: 1296" Dammit, it's a privilege to coach our boys :straining:.

[/QUOTE]

Real privilege...
Mcartney ... resigned sacked
Eade.. contract not renewed.
Rohde.. contract not renewed/sackef.
Wallace... walked out on a contract.
Joyce... sacked.
Malthouse... i cant remember

[QUOTE="Dogs_R_Us, post: 35840226, member: 1296" Dammit, it's a privilege to coach our boys :straining:.

Real privilege...
Joyce... sacked.
Malthouse... i cant remember[/QUOTE]
pretty sure Malthouse walked out

Real privilege...
Joyce... sacked.
Malthouse... i cant remember
pretty sure Malthouse walked out[/QUOTE]
Malthouse was not reappointed due to finances and was offered a secure role with West Coast