Considering how often most women get their hair done, $780 is outrageously out of reach for the majority, I'd suggest.
Exactly. You don't have to pay it, but you don't have a right to tell a creative that they're overpriced when you haven't even seen their work.
Does 2 of the 15$ bottles taste better than the 25$ bottle..It’s like telling the difference between a $25 bottle of wine and a $50 bottle. Can you really taste the difference? (I usually pay $10-$15 so…)
I have my own hair clipper set - the catalyst being the general price of $20+ (I see it's $25 - $50 at some places TODAY) for less than 5 minutes of work.If anybody who isn't obscenely wealthy thinks $800 isn't too much for a haircut then they must have shit for brains.
Might be enough for few pints at the pub.I could pre pay for 6 years worth of haircuts with $700
The potential customer, which is the whole point of a capitalist system...
Wow, just as well no one at all has made that point. I haven't paid for a haircut in 20 years.If anybody who isn't obscenely wealthy thinks $800 isn't too much for a haircut then they must have shit for brains.
Are people here being deliberately obtuse? The entitlement is clearly thinking you have the right to tell others what their skills are worth.Today I learned that’s it entitled to think that $780 is a bit steep for a trip to the hairdressers.
a creative?
is that what hairdressers call themselves now?
granted its been a while since i paid for a haircut
I don't think not getting a $780 haircut is being cheap.
Time for you to step away from the keyboard tonight nobby, someone's got a bee in their bonnet.
Wait are you the hair stylist?Damn ****ing right I do.
As a creative, it's hard enough having people tell me that they think anyone can do my job (in my case they think AI can do my job).
Don't ask me to do the job that it turns out your shitty cut price option can't do half as well as me, then try and lowball me over the price. Have some ****ing respect for the time and investment I've put into my craft.
Calm down buddy, it's just an internet forum.Damn ****ing right I do.
As a creative, it's hard enough having people tell me that they think anyone can do my job (in my case they think AI can do my job).
Don't ask me to do the job that it turns out your shitty cut price option can't do half as well as me, then try and lowball me over the price. Have some ****ing respect for the time and investment I've put into my craft.
Damn ****ing right I do.
Well that is bullshit, I mean do any tradies ever charge for a quote for just one example?
I pay $25 bucks in the joint at my local shopping centre food court, in and out in 4 mins sometimes i reckon, too easy.
Calm down buddy, it's just an internet forum.
Are you telling me you're a prick or just a dumb****?
Easy to tell people to calm down when it's their livelihood, and it's an argument that they have every single day of their working life.
OP's daughter has cheaper options available, just as my clients have AI options available to them.
Use them if you want.
Don't devalue my worth, and don't expect my price to be competitive with your shitty cheapo option that I guarantee won't be as good, and probably won't meet your brief.
And definitely don't expect me to give a rats arse when you end up having to pay me even more to do it last minute, cos you tried to cheap out on it, wasted all the time you had, and got a product that you couldn't use.
It probably became half my work in 2024; in December I literally only had to work 5 days...
Most of my job now is providing last minute, exorbitantly priced creative services from people in a bind, who need the job done yesterday, because they thought they could do it cheaper. (My favourite is when they come to me the day before they need it and want me to do for the price I quoted them 6 weeks ago.)
The point I'm making is that the OP has multiple options:
- pay the $780
- find a cheaper option
Disrespecting and devaluing the work of the hair stylist is neither of those options, it's extremely disrespectful, and I'm beyond stunned at how many of you are lining up to tell someone else what their work is worth.
You guys must be great in your loser office jobs when you're negotiating. "Yeah, I'll just take whatever you want to pay me, I'm sure it'll be fine!" Classic bootlicker behaviour.
AI sucks and artists get screwed all the time on price but that doesn't mean you should be calling people bootlickers because they think an expensive haircut is expensive
Nah man you're responses on here have been about your issues not the actual topic which was a salon charging $50 to give a large quoteHow many times do I need to explain that this isn't the point that's being made?
For a web forum, a lot of you sure are adverse to reading.
$25 bucks is good these days. Used to be $25 here pre COVID and inflation. Now over $40 so I just cut it myself. I think all the men with long hair have screwed with the traditionally low mens haircut prices, they have gone up heaps more than inflation. I have seen a few joints start to advertise clipper cuts cheaper, probably a lot of people like me that just started cutting it themselves and the hairdressers miss out on their easy work.
The hair dresser didn't ruin the economy and the salon can charge whatever they want, making someone pay to find out the price of a cut and colour is pretty crap thoughThe broader financial climate is an interesting point you raise in this context.
Maybe what this discussion actually shows is how well the Tories convinced you that the hairdresser operating a small business ****ed the economy, and not the politicians that we gave away our royalties, provided 2 generations with needless middle class welfare, and locked the next 2 generations out of ever owning a home.