Society & Culture Things in life you just don't understand

A lot of the arguments I see from people regarding anti-Islam sentiment is heavily reliant upon misconceptions about the Muslim community's treatment of homosexuals and women... yet they all seem like the kind of backwater hicks that use the term "gay" as an insult and hold a view of women that would have been acceptable in the 1920's.

I don't know if using examples of Government policy and law from Muslim countries is a "misconception", however I agree with the rest.

Some older generation tradies are still on average wages. And live in poorly maintained homes because they need to spend their time earning more money and can't always afford to do renovations etc. I have family members likely this.

That, or they still live in the older generation tradie ethos of being up at the pub no later than 5:59 every day and putting their wages there instead.

Yeah, it's quite ironic isn't it?

The "F*ck Off, We're Full" brigade try and mask their racism with these excuses, when they knowingly or unknowingly have similar opinions or mannerisms to these issues. At the end of the day, they want 'Straya to be a self-described utopia of thongs, stubbie shorts, Victoria Bitter, Southern Cross tattoos, unsustainable Australian manufacturing industries, eight cylinder shitboxes, and working class white people.

Yeah, sounds great. An entire nation full of people who look like the bogans in the music video of Chris Franklin's Bloke. :rolleyes:

Is this woman serious or just an attention seeker ?

http://www.itv.com/news/2016-02-01/...ver-waferless-kitkat-demands-lifetime-supply/

I wonder if this is her Law Professor

V4osBip.gif
JackieChiles

OQUSMXI.gif

yeah and that costs money.

thats my point, what if he was just an average joe who couldn't afford to tailor his clothes.

thats why I preempted my statement with "if he wasn't rich" :confused:

yeah because when I go down to Looksmart alterations it's only the top 1% of Perth's elite that go there

How many of your clothes do you get altered?

As an average height, average build male 99% of what I buy I don't need altered. The only thing I take to the alterations place is any dress pants that need to be taken up.

I do have a couple of tailored shirts from Bali, though.

Yeah, what are you getting tailored BALKAN ? I only get suits and business shirts done and the occasional jean pair if they're too long.

islam is a religion that supports the oppression of women. yes, that's right! wait a minute "oi bitch cook me some eggs".

there's adam goodes ..... BOOOOOO

Yeah, it's quite ironic isn't it?

The "F*ck Off, We're Full" brigade try and mask their racism with these excuses, when they knowingly or unknowingly have similar opinions or mannerisms to these issues. At the end of the day, they want 'Straya to be a self-described utopia of thongs, stubbie shorts, Victoria Bitter, Southern Cross tattoos, unsustainable Australian manufacturing industries, eight cylinder shitboxes, and working class white people.

Yeah, sounds great. An entire nation full of people who look like the bogans in the music video of Chris Franklin's Bloke. :rolleyes:

good posts.

another excuse for no muslims is because they mutilate the genitals of girls. i doubt these supporters knew of this behaviour before 9-11 happened.

same people who decry made in china stuff, yet are wearing clothes, watching tvs, using computers/phones all made in or components from.....yep.

same people who scream STOP THE BOATS because they dont want kids to drown at sea. yeah, that's the reason :rolleyes:

same people who are outraged by multiculturalism and immigration because they dont assimmilate or speak english, them asians, africans. yet, same people who define them as asians etc instead of australians.

islam is a religion that supports the oppression of women. yes, that's right! wait a minute "oi bitch cook me some eggs".

there's adam goodes ..... BOOOOOO

good posts.

another excuse for no muslims is because they mutilate the genitals of girls. i doubt these supporters knew of this behaviour before 9-11 happened.

same people who decry made in china stuff, yet are wearing clothes, watching tvs, using computers/phones all made in or components from.....yep.

same people who scream STOP THE BOATS because they dont want kids to drown at sea. yeah, that's the reason :rolleyes:

same people who are outraged by multiculturalism and immigration because they dont assimmilate or speak english, them asians, africans. yet, same people who define them as asians etc instead of australians.

I have a funny story to tell.

I was in a law class a couple of years ago, and we were discussing the ethical implications of trade labour in developing nations. We were discussing the 2013 Savar building collapse which killed over 1,100 people (that's not the funny bit).

Now there was this massive dickhead in my class. He was one of those incredibly annoying Social Justice Warrior types, but one who wears hippie pants and stoner shirts and looks like an absolute tosser. So he was going on about capitalism, and how capitalism has ruined the world, and how companies exploit workers in developing countries (that part's true), and essentially how the world should be a cuddly place where everyone makes the same money, and no one would be rich or poor, and that everyone would be happy (yeah, right. The Muslims and the Jews hate each other enough as it is. Take conspicuous consumption away from them and World War III would erupt). I digress.

Anyway, I notice he's wearing Nike Free's. I go "they're pretty nice shoes mate. You know where they're made?". "Um, I don't know". "In a place very similar to Savar (Indonesia), with similar trade laws and a lack of adherence to protocols set out by the International Labour Organisation". I also noticed a half-finished cup of Maccas Coke. "How was the drink? Refreshing?". "What?". I lay it on him. "You say you're so against capitalism, yet you're financially supporting the two companies that represent capitalism the most (Nike and McDonalds)". "So?". "So you're a hypocrite. It would be one thing to say you're against it and actively avoid purchasing such things, but it's like you're trolling us all".

By now, the class is getting into the whole argument (law classes can be like that), when the idiot does the unthinkable. He pulls out a Kindle. Guess where the Kindle was made? The same Savar factory that collapsed and began this whole discussion on capitalism and ILO law. I piss myself laughing. "Where was the Kindle made, mate?!". The class loses it.

What a dickhead.

I have a funny story to tell.

I was in a law class a couple of years ago, and we were discussing the ethical implications of trade labour in developing nations. We were discussing the 2013 Savar building collapse which killed over 1,100 people (that's not the funny bit).

Now there was this massive dickhead in my class. He was one of those incredibly annoying Social Justice Warrior types, but one who wears hippie pants and stoner shirts and looks like an absolute tosser. So he was going on about capitalism, and how capitalism has ruined the world, and how companies exploit workers in developing countries (that part's true), and essentially how the world should be a cuddly place where everyone makes the same money, and no one would be rich or poor, and that everyone would be happy (yeah, right. The Muslims and the Jews hate each other enough as it is. Take conspicuous consumption away from them and World War III would erupt). I digress.

Anyway, I notice he's wearing Nike Free's. I go "they're pretty nice shoes mate. You know where they're made?". "Um, I don't know". "In a place very similar to Savar (Indonesia), with similar trade laws and a lack of adherence to protocols set out by the International Labour Organisation". I also noticed a half-finished cup of Maccas Coke. "How was the drink? Refreshing?". "What?". I lay it on him. "You say you're so against capitalism, yet you're financially supporting the two companies that represent capitalism the most (Nike and McDonalds)". "So?". "So you're a hypocrite. It would be one thing to say you're against it and actively avoid purchasing such things, but it's like you're trolling us all".

By now, the class is getting into the whole argument (law classes can be like that), when the idiot does the unthinkable. He pulls out a Kindle. Guess where the Kindle was made? The same Savar factory that collapsed and began this whole discussion on capitalism and ILO law. I piss myself laughing. "Where was the Kindle made, mate?!". The class loses it.

What a dickhead.

lololololololololol.

look im all for social justice, there's a place for it.
what you did there sir was full of win!!

capitalism saved china