Things that please me - Part 5

How good is a nice barista-style latte without leaving the house?

No, my first attempt isn’t the best coffee I’ve ever had. But more than adequate for a first try!

With out paying 13 bucks ..winning

I dont know what an inner city coffee costs ..

Nobby coffee shop.
Open for business.

Dog Drinking GIF by JustViral.Net
Dog Coffee GIF by Jiffpom

Sorry to bother everyone about Tassie but I'm really enjoying planning a trip

Hope this leads to overseas journeys

Would love to go to Milford Sound NZ and/or Riga, Latvia where my dad was from.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

I recommend buying aldi beans for ~$8 for half a kilo to get your settings right without wasting $55 a kilo beans trying to get it rightView attachment 1879999
The problem I've found with my coffee machine is that when I've changed beans I've had to dial it in again, as different brands seem to react differently - very frustrating

True but usually just a notch or two either way
Usually…

True but usually just a notch or two either way
Usually…

I cracked the shits with my machine after it didn't like the pack of different beans I had bought - I haven't used it for 6 months now, but with a few days off work this week I may take the time to clean it & dial it in with some nice but not expensive beans

Then hopefully have it running before returning to work later in the week

After a brief abortive trial with a pod machine some years ago, I haven't bothered at home. The local Coles Express does brilliant coffee and was my default option for years (lucky, most servo coffee is crap). Now each lunchroom at work (there's five of them) has an all-singing, all-dancing machine that does even brillianter coffee (see below), so I get my fill there.

f11 coffee.jpeg

Weird but true: the main canteen has installed a huge $$$ barista coffee machine where you can buy coffee. Literally on the opposite wall in the same room is the $4000 freebie machine. I have no idea who thought it was a good idea to install it or who would actually pay for coffee.

After a brief abortive trial with a pod machine some years ago, I haven't bothered at home. The local Coles Express does brilliant coffee and was my default option for years (lucky, most servo coffee is crap). Now each lunchroom at work (there's five of them) has an all-singing, all-dancing machine that does even brillianter coffee (see below), so I get my fill there.

View attachment 1880179

Weird but true: the main canteen has installed a huge $$$ barista coffee machine where you can buy coffee. Literally on the opposite wall in the same room is the $4000 freebie machine. I have no idea who thought it was a good idea to install it or who would actually pay for coffee.

That's kind of the bummer about deciding to invest in a home coffee machine.

For all the research in the world, for all the money I could've realistically spent?

Well, I've worked in the construction industry before - I'm doubt I'm ever going to be able to make coffee on the level that I could with the $5000 commercial machines and the $1500 commercial grinder that they routinely had in their kitchens, and even ran paid-time sessions on how to use.

In Hobart for NYE, blagged my way onto the pontoon to party with the Hobart boats by pretending I was crewing on a mate’s boat

Chatting to all the crews over a few beers, I got the bug. Have sailed and raced for 28 years but never had an interest in ocean racing. Now I think I have to do the Hobart race before I quit the sport.

Kangaroo Island is stunning. The trip over can be great or very spewy though.
Yeah KI is amazing and probably my favourite place to go on holiday.
Ferry can be pretty rough some days but is fine on a calm day.

Yeah KI is amazing and probably my favourite place to go on holiday.
Ferry can be pretty rough some days but is fine on a calm day.

Last time I went we had to stay and extra night because the sea was too choppy. Gangplank to get on was moving 1 metre up and down. Such a beautiful place though.

🤮

Went to Green Island for a day of snorkelling. The trip out was smooth but coming back the waves were huge 🤢

I might've just made myself the best pound-for-pound iced coffee I've ever had. That's going to be a real nice option to have, given you typically pay $4 for garbage at the servo, or you go to cafe and spend $14 on one.

Wifey has been making coffee frappes in the thermomix recently. She has it down to a fine art now. Shots of coffee, coffee syrup, sugar, milk and Dutch cinnamon. They are dee lishus

My wife makes a chocolate/cointreau/baileys/kahlua frappe in the thermomix , sooo good

Things that please me - Part 5