Thoughts on new Crows tv commercial.

At my age I have already seen a lot of things that pass as marketing so to get excited about an ad is beyond me. I appreciate the effort and the theme and the symbolism it. Is this going to replace the intro at the games? I like that one. The swooping noise and the coming together of all as one. If the new ad replaces it I don't think I will be engaged ( isn't that a marketing word?) as much

A lot better than the Port one by far

In before someone says you are Alex.

BTW....welcome to the asylum

Cheers

Thanks for the welcome. If you aren't passionate then why are we here? Having passion means that sometimes you wont agree with whats presented. If that's a crime then we are sheep. It doesn't mean you criticize without thought either. Construct your criticism appropriately or don't bother. :)

Cheers

Thanks for the welcome. If you aren't passionate then why are we here? Having passion means that sometimes you wont agree with whats presented. If that's a crime then we are sheep. It doesn't mean you criticize without thought either. Construct your criticism appropriately or don't bother. :)

Something Alex would say.

#AmIRight. :p

Disagree Marty. Marketing / Advertising is rarely done well so I can see how you might make this mistake. Great advertising is not just about the stickyness, it should do more than stick in your mind because it's annoying. I like the direction of the ad, and the execution is as good as anything I have seen us dish up.
that may be true, but that doesn't make marketing a waste of money as you suggested earlier.

go and ask Rolex how important they think marketing is to their business.

Just on the crow, did they stop the swooping crow and crow call every Crows goal last year? For some reason I think they did and I actually liked that (especially if I had a toilet break) Even a port mate of mine said he liked it.

Thaught that squark was irritating for mine. Sorry.

Of course he prefer theirs.

It is a coach delivering a diatribe of cliches used to motivate people with a stern voice.

It is something he understands. It is simple, yet stirring. It is also probably the limit of Kern's coaching ability when a very good "assistant" coach is not there to hold his hand.

Our ad signifies our club's ethos in a simple yet powerful way. He does not understand it, therefore he does not like it.
Coaching diatribe or Lorna Jane slogans? I can't tell the difference.

Disagree Marty. Marketing / Advertising is rarely done well so I can see how you might make this mistake. Great advertising is not just about the stickyness, it should do more than stick in your mind because it's annoying. I like the direction of the ad, and the execution is as good as anything I have seen us dish up.

That's fine but Frank Walker from national tiles stays in my mind because it is so annoying and there have been plenty of ads like beddie buys, or morteins Louie the fly. They are classics they are annoying to start with then you get to know them. I actually don't think the crows ad is annoying but quite interesting and want to see it again because it is fairly complexed. I prefer it to ""we will never give in '" because if I was a supporter I would be saying I hope you bloody wouldn't be giving in!

that may be true, but that doesn't make marketing a waste of money as you suggested earlier.

go and ask Rolex how important they think marketing is to their business.
Sure - who would you like me to ask? The Marketing department will tell you the business would not operate without them.

Of course good marketing and branding can be effective tools for business ... but I can say from experience that most marketing and advertising is a complete con-job and waste of resources. Targeted, well-designed advertising that produces the desired results is very very rare ... but it used as the justification for all the crap that gets produced.

I like the ad, I like it's purpose. The brief would be interesting to see.

Send an E-Mail to Andrew Fagan and see how far you get.

It wasn't appropriate before and it's not appropriate now.
Oh, I didn't realise Fages shared all his views with you.II think you need to get off your high horse a little. The only one that has taken any offence is you. They may not have used the term 'murder' but the new ad clearly shows a murder of crows.

Sure - who would you like me to ask? The Marketing department will tell you the business would not operate without them.

Of course good marketing and branding can be effective tools for business ... but I can say from experience that most marketing and advertising is a complete con-job and waste of resources. Targeted, well-designed advertising that produces the desired results is very very rare ... but it used as the justification for all the crap that gets produced.

I like the ad, I like it's purpose. The brief would be interesting to see.
and they'd be 100% correct because they're selling watches for ten grand that don't keep time as well as a $2 quartz watch.

all very relevant when we've essentially sold out Adelaide Oval and surely have aspirations to charge more for the same product.

and they'd be 100% correct because they're selling watches for ten grand that don't keep time as well as a $2 quartz watch. Aall very relevant when we've essentially sold out Adelaide Oval and surely have aspirations to charge more for the same product.
If you think people wear a Rolex to keep time - you might be missing the point of their ads :)

I cannot think of a less relevant example than Rolex when talking about the local footy team - that has sold out membership for home games and is looking for other avenues.

Look, we all know that Branding and Marketing are everywhere. The principles are used in everything we see and are influenced by. I just hate the common forms of the practice. They are weak, generally over-priced, aim low, and they regularly under-deliver on every meaningful measure.

and they'd be 100% correct because they're selling watches for ten grand that don't keep time as well as a $2 quartz watch.

all very relevant when we've essentially sold out Adelaide Oval and surely have aspirations to charge more for the same product.

Which is why Marketing is so important, why the hell would you spend $300 on a pair on sunny's that are made in the same factory as the $30 pair on the exact same machine. Or when buying a BMW pay $500 for floor mats that cost $100 if you buy a holden.

I can see why Adelaide market their product the way they do, amd know why Port brand theirs as a cheap arse version, they are looking for as many 11 game members as possible we are looking for increased prces as we already have the 11 game membres.

Our ads are more upmarket and Ports are aimed at the masses. You could liken it to a Myers add against one of the reject shop! they both have a place in the market with diferent objectives.

If you think people wear a Rolex to keep time - you might be missing the point of their ads :)

I cannot think of a less relevant example than Rolex when talking about the local footy team - that has sold out membership for home games and is looking for other avenues.

Look, we all know that Branding and Marketing are everywhere. The principles are used in everything we see and are influenced by. I just hate the common forms of the practice. They are weak, generally over-priced, aim low, and they regularly under-deliver on every meaningful measure.
lol, of course I don't, and that's exactly my point!

its about adding perceived value to something via branding, something a company like Rolex does exceptionally well. Its not just a matter of supply and demand that allows us to charge so much more for 11 games of footy than Port does. Brand is extremely important, and importantly is not defined by marketing alone.

What do people think of Richmond turning their season opening game into a sing-along for one of their sponsors (Bingle)?

Sponsorship is a necessity in this day and age but I don't like when it crosses the boundaries and cheapens the game day experience. That horses ad makes me cringe every time I see it, which doesn't help.

HELLO!!
Frank Walker from National Tiiiiiiiles...

I love Frank:)

Thats what Im talking about!!!!

The ads that are different whether they be annoying or out of the ordinary create the most attention and isnt that is what advertising is all about, being remembered! I would probably shop at National Tiiiiiles as I remember the ad or should I say company although his voice annoys the crap out of me!

What do people think of Richmond turning their season opening game into a sing-along for one of their sponsors (Bingle)?

Sponsorship is a necessity in this day and age but I don't like when it crosses the boundaries and cheapens the game day experience. That horses ad makes me cringe every time I see it, which doesn't help.

Why all white horses? Looks like the wedding in the Sex and the City movie.

Whiskas

Don't own a Rolex, but they aren't expensive because they have good marketing, they are successful because they have good marketing, but their watches are expensive because they are built to a quality most other watches aren't. They are world renowned for their high level of quality control, they use workers to handle a huge amount of the assembly and quality control, to set and test the watches and they don't use sweatshop workers for this labour, they use expensive steel that is difficult to machine, just because they think it looks better and makes a stronger longer lasting watch. You may not think these things are necessary but that's not the point, it costs them a lot to build watches their way so they need to charge a lot.
The quality of a Rolex is all part of their marketing and their brand.

Thoughts on new Crows tv commercial.