Player Watch Tim Broomhead - (Delisted 2020)

just another quick link from when Tim was playing under 18's football in 2011, this game was his last in under 18's.......tim would finish the rest of the year in reserves and then in 2012 begin playing league

ps start the video at 6:30

Oh my god, 38 disposals and 6 goals in the seniors when he has such a small body?

This guy is getting more and more exciting.

just another quick link from when Tim was playing under 18's football in 2011, this game was his last in under 18's.......tim would finish the rest of the year in reserves and then in 2012 begin playing league

ps start the video at 6:30

What's with the tiny behind posts?

Please, not some possible AFL innovation.

Yeah, it's called Apart Height.

One of my favourite Goodies episodes.

Also,

tallsmall2ap_468x391.jpg

He likens his game to jimmy bartel. That excites me as bartel is different to most player comparisons made. Bartel is very versatile so i would say this kids strengths are skills, pace and versatility. perfect fit for our list.
Best wet weather footballer in the league, displayed that in the 2011 AFL G.F. He's built like Ffye

Give it 2 years and you'll all understand just why Hine and co were so keen on this kid.
An absolute ripper who will leave no stone unturned in his pursuit to be the best in the comp.
Those that are excited with Kennedy, just wait til you see Broomy go about his work live.
In 2 years you'll be asking why Kennedy went at 19 and Broomy at 20!
North Melbourne at 15 were keen, Geelong at 16 were keen, Saints at 25 were keen, Port at 29 were keen, Essendon at their next pick were desperate to get their hands on him...
Will prove to be one of the top 3 to come from this draft by the end of his career.
Get on board the bandwagon early guys and just enjoy the sensational ride you'll be provided with!

Is it too early to say he is a definite for 2 brownlows?

drafted hawk that's pretty exciting talk. I like it! Do you have any inside word on the kid? You've obviously seen him play a bit.

Give it 2 years and you'll all understand just why Hine and co were so keen on this kid.
An absolute ripper who will leave no stone unturned in his pursuit to be the best in the comp.
Those that are excited with Kennedy, just wait til you see Broomy go about his work live.
In 2 years you'll be asking why Kennedy went at 19 and Broomy at 20!
North Melbourne at 15 were keen, Geelong at 16 were keen, Saints at 25 were keen, Port at 29 were keen, Essendon at their next pick were desperate to get their hands on him...
Will prove to be one of the top 3 to come from this draft by the end of his career.
Get on board the bandwagon early guys and just enjoy the sensational ride you'll be provided with!
Welcome to our board, Mr Broomhead. Lets hope your son lives up to your expectations.

Joking obviously but i do hope you are spot on.

Have seen all of the South Australian kids very close up for the past three seasons and I'll back Tim in over all others in this years draft. Time will tell obviously if my judgement proves to be correct but I'm willing to put it out there now! Menzel at Carlton would be my number two and hopefully for the competitions sake he can stay injury free for the next 15 years too and dazzle some of his freakish brilliance for entertainment value alone.
Whether it be at under 18 level, reserves or league Tim showed how comfortable he was and how his skills never dropped off. Knows where the goals are but his real strength is in clean taking the footy, running and carrying it and HITTING targets. His improvement graph continues to rise unlike some other kids who were drafted who had a year that they seemed to stagnate or drop slightly...
Thanks for that opinion. Just quickly what are your opinions on our other sa boys in grundy and Kennedy.

Also your own Tim obrien.

Thanks drafted hawk. I have to be honest that i thought Kennedy looked the best to me judging on highlights but i love to hear opinions from people that see them regularly.

You are always welcome on this site with information like you have provided.

Thanks drafted hawk. I have to be honest that i thought Kennedy looked the best to me judging on highlights but i love to hear opinions from people that see them regularly.

You are always welcome on this site with information like you have provided.
Agree TBone always a pleasure to have knowledgeable and respectful posters visit.

+1. Thanks heaps drafted hawk. Love hearing optimistic thoughts about our recruits. I've been waiting for a poster like you to come in here because this selection was puzzling me a little. Hine doesn't usually select spuds so early in the draft and to get Broomhead we gave up a chance on what seemed some pretty high end talent, so what you are saying makes a lot of sense.

The way I read the mail on our draft, the strategy was to probably go - O'Brien, Kennedy, Lonergan. (so your comments on O'Brien also seem logical) - (tall/mid/mid) In the end Lonergan was gone and Grundy spilled to us so we had to go with a different midfielder. Most of us here hadn't put much thought into Broomhead and perhaps being an SA boy he was a relative unknown. Although a couple of phantom drafters - notably Snoop Dog and Chris 25 were pretty well on to him if you read their comments.

Cheers again!

He certainly wasn't an unknown in South Australia and I stand corrected but I believe out of all the lads that got taken from SA this year only Sam Mayes (12 League and 3 League Finals) played more SANFL League football throughout the season than Tim Broomhead did.
Other lads to get a taste of League footy this year and the number of games they played are ...
Troy Menzel (7 League and 1 League Final)
Brodie Grundy (8)
Ben Kennedy (4)
Jimmy Toumpas (5)
Tim Sumner (2)
Brodie Murdoch (1)
So it was easier to gauge just how good Tim was with his competitiveness, skills, cleanness, poise and hunger for the contest as he was up against the bigger bodies for half the season. As I said, he will end up proving to be an absolute master-stroke from Hine, Rendell and co in 15 years time. If you're not on the bandwagon yet, get on board before it's too late! (of course that's tongue in cheek about it being too late, never too late!) But seriously, this kid is the pick of this year's draft crop.

He certainly wasn't an unknown in South Australia and I stand corrected but I believe out of all the lads that got taken from SA this year only Sam Mayes (12 League and 3 League Finals) played more SANFL League football throughout the season than Tim Broomhead did.
Other lads to get a taste of League footy this year and the number of games they played are ...
Troy Menzel (7 League and 1 League Final)
Brodie Grundy (8)
Ben Kennedy (4)
Jimmy Toumpas (5)
Tim Sumner (2)
Brodie Murdoch (1)
So it was easier to gauge just how good Tim was with his competitiveness, skills, cleanness, poise and hunger for the contest as he was up against the bigger bodies for half the season. As I said, he will end up proving to be an absolute master-stroke from Hine, Rendell and co in 15 years time. If you're not on the bandwagon yet, get on board before it's too late! (of course that's tongue in cheek about it being too late, never too late!) But seriously, this kid is the pick of this year's draft crop.

So, broomhead is better than whitfield? o_O

I'm all for getting swept up inbroomhead hype, but this seems slightly over the top, even for collingwood ! :p

Out of interest drafted hawk - do you see Broomhead as a specialist forward-winger-flanker or do you think he has potential to move into the midfield? From what I've seen of him I would be optimistic that if he was able to add say 5-8 kg over several years he has the skills to play a midfield rotation. For his size at the moment he seems to use his body well and also mark well. I just reckon if he can take a role in the middle it makes him a really dangerous and versatile player and a big win for us.

Player Watch Tim Broomhead - (Delisted 2020)