Tim Lane: "Flawed Eagles hardly heinous"

Here lies the classic head in the sand Eagles supporter response.

First, try and play it down. "It's not that bad".
Then try and completely play it down to nothing. "Where's the proof?"
Finally, go on the attack. "All the other clubs have the same problems"

And when you're completely beaten, you go to the last resort. "It's a Victorian media conspiracy" THat's a regular one on talkback radio.

Of course Docker supporters have never complained of media conpiracies have they? It's all we've heard for the last ten years.

I made the point that talkback radio was hardly a good guide for judging the interests of the general public, being generally inflammatory and catering to a fairly specific demographic.

Which I didn't dispute.

You responded with the rather odd assertion that it was as equally valid as the rest of the media.

No, I didn't.

I'll even quote my point:

Just saying that's the latest line of defence by Eagles supporters.

Didn't mention the rest of the media, nor whether it was valid. Just that they were Eagles supporters, and they were suggesting that these journos are involved in some sort of conspiracy against them. Following up from all the other excuses and explanations they've come up with over the past couple of weeks.

There, that really wasn't so hard to follow, was it?

Much harder than if you didn't read things that weren't there.

Maybe we're just not as gossipy as you.

What, you've got no interest in how one of your best players is doing in rehab? I'd imagine you'd like him back on the park.

Well, we can't help Gooding shooting his mouth off and giving it all more oxygen, can't we. Especially when a shameless self-promoter like Walls is involved. Still, what can you do?

Basically, everyone's already made a decision - either the Eagles are druggies or they aren't - and spats between Gooding and Walls aren't really going to change that, one way or the other. That's what I mean about the average guy losing interest in the story.

Fair enough. But I don't think you're on the money. Chances are there's still a fair bit of relevant information that hasn't been made public yet, and that's across all clubs. It will continue to make news.
You only claim not to care because at this point in time, it's making your club look bad.

Gooding really should have just left it where it was, and left it up to Lane to make the points he did. Oh well.

It's a sideshow, all the same.

You just don't get it do you!

The Eagles have sniffed with contempt towards the media for years. But their on field success has always allowed them that priveledge.

Now that a high profile player has gone down to a drug dependency the media have tasted blood.

And they like it.

Remember the rumour and innuendo about the Eagles has been rife in the media for years.

But you guys have stared them down and pleaded ignorance.

Well the s*it has hit the fan and every media hack is looking to drag you down another peg or two. The Fourth Estate doesn't like being bullied.

Lots of loose ends to tie up on your side, and who knows how many skeletons in the closet!!:eek: :thumbsu:

Which I didn't dispute.

No, I didn't.

I'll even quote my point:

Just saying that's the latest line of defence by Eagles supporters.

So you weren't bagging the point, just that I had the gall to make it?

Um, okay. Shame on me.

Didn't mention the rest of the media, nor whether it was valid. Just that they were Eagles supporters, and they were suggesting that these journos are involved in some sort of conspiracy against them. Following up from all the other excuses and explanations they've come up with over the past couple of weeks.

... which brings me back to my original point: media conspiracies have traditionally been more of a Freo phenomenon in this town. It's intriguing to see it cast in our direction.

What, you've got no interest in how one of your best players is doing in rehab? I'd imagine you'd like him back on the park.

He's in rehab. I'm quite prepared to wait and see how that pans out, and to give the bloke the space to let the process happen. I don't think that process is served by the likes of Craig Hutchison hanging out of a Californian tree with a long lens, just because I personally might be interested in knowing how the guy is getting on.

Fair enough. But I don't think you're on the money. Chances are there's still a fair bit of relevant information that hasn't been made public yet, and that's across all clubs. It will continue to make news.
You only claim not to care because at this point in time, it's making your club look bad.

People have already formed their views. There might be more to come, but I suspect we would have seen it by now. And it would have to be some pretty spectacular stuff to cause people to re-assess at this point of time.

You just don't get it do you!

The Eagles have sniffed with contempt towards the media for years. But their on field success has always allowed them that priveledge.

Now that a high profile player has gone down to a drug dependency the media have tasted blood.

And they like it.

Remember the rumour and innuendo about the Eagles has been rife in the media for years.

But you guys have stared them down and pleaded ignorance.

Well the s*it has hit the fan and every media hack is looking to drag you down another peg or two. The Fourth Estate doesn't like being bullied.

Lots of loose ends to tie up on your side, and who knows how many skeletons in the closet!!:eek: :thumbsu:
So, it's less to do with Eagles and drugs and more about the inferiority complexes of certain Perth journalists?

Fair enough, then.

If there's more to the story, what is it? A slap fight between Gooding and Walls is a sideshow, isn't it?

Of course Docker supporters have never complained of media conpiracies have they? It's all we've heard for the last ten years.

But in our case it's true - and we have to deal with our own local media conspiring against us. ;)

He's in rehab. I'm quite prepared to wait and see how that pans out, and to give the bloke the space to let the process happen. I don't think that process is served by the likes of Craig Hutchison hanging out of a Californian tree with a long lens, just because I personally might be interested in knowing how the guy is getting on.

Well said. Some of Hutchies work wouldn't be out of place on the back pages of Womans Day.

So, it's less to do with Eagles and drugs and more about the inferiority complexes of certain Perth journalists?

Fair enough, then.

If there's more to the story, what is it? A slap fight between Gooding and Walls is a sideshow, isn't it?

Ummmm:confused:

Just where did I mention JUST Perth journalists??:confused:

Actually where did I mention Perth journalists at all??

Every sport journo, with an even passing interest in the AFL, would swap their left leg for another juicy bit on you guys.

Fletchers little tale is far from being put to bed, and there is the little matter of Kerrs trial coming up. And who knows what else is around the corner.

You see this is what is called a bad or dark time in a clubs history.

You guys have been spoiled with 3 flags and heaps of finals in 20 years. You are so used to success that you can't handle the bad times. You crucified Judge at the first opportunity, after a massive hissy fit when you missed the finals!

Your supporters and clubs attitude rings this true over and over.

It's kick an Eagle time for the media.....so suck it up and show some backbone.

Ummmm:confused:

Just where did I mention JUST Perth journalists??:confused:

Actually where did I mention Perth journalists at all??

Uh, yeah. I'm sure that the Melbourne media are just furious about the Eagles and their treatment of the media. Hell, Caroline Wilson couldn't come up with any examples on her own, she needed to quote a Mark Duffield hissy fit to do it.

Every sport journo, with an even passing interest in the AFL, would swap their left leg for another juicy bit on you guys.

Fletchers little tale is far from being put to bed, and there is the little matter of Kerrs trial coming up. And who knows what else is around the corner.

I suspect that the Kerr trial might be an interesting one, because he's defending it where the other charges were admitted and dealt with within a week. Otherwise, nobody has anything new. There are no more "juicy bits". And even if they did, it won't change most peoples' minds about whether we're druggies or not.

The story's run out of legs. It's not wishful thinking, that just is.

You guys have been spoiled with 3 flags and heaps of finals in 20 years. You are so used to success that you can't handle the bad times. You crucified Judge at the first opportunity, after a massive hissy fit when you missed the finals!

Your supporters and clubs attitude rings this true over and over.

It's kick an Eagle time for the media.....so suck it up and show some backbone.

... and that little anti-Eagles rant makes my second point - that those who are still beating the drum out there over the Eagles and drugs are those who have a vested interest in doing so.

You don't like the Eagles? That's okay, it's allowed.

As for it being "kick an Eagle time" - you lose to Essendon and see who gets kicked on Monday.

Uh, yeah. I'm sure that the Melbourne media are just furious about the Eagles and their treatment of the media. Hell, Caroline Wilson couldn't come up with any examples on her own, she needed to quote a Mark Duffield hissy fit to do it.

Believe what you like!! Because we know it makes you sleep better.

But you are wrong.

There are journos of far greater standing than Caro who are gunning for a piece of you.

I suspect that the Kerr trial might be an interesting one, because he's defending it where the other charges were admitted and dealt with within a week. Otherwise, nobody has anything new. There are no more "juicy bits". And even if they did, it won't change most peoples' minds about whether we're druggies or not.

The story's run out of legs.

There is a very big river in Africa that I reckon you should visit.

That is once you get off the Eagle denial roundabout.

**Tickets available through Gunnar Longshanks!**

... and that little anti-Eagles rant makes my second point - that those who are still beating the drum out there over the Eagles and drugs are those who have a vested interest in doing so.

You don't like the Eagles? That's okay, it's allowed.

That's not a rant mate!!

That's just the truth!

Nice rant bushie now go have a tim tam and nice cup of tea and dream of that one premiership which will make your sorry excuse for a club believe that it belongs in the AFL

Believe what you like!! Because we know it makes you sleep better.

But you are wrong.

There are journos of far greater standing than Caro who are gunning for a piece of you.

Perhaps. But they can't gun for us without any bullets. And nobody's got any decent bullets at the moment.

There is a very big river in Africa that I reckon you should visit.

That is once you get off the Eagle denial roundabout.

**Tickets available through Gunnar Longshanks!**

And Renault's new car is the Cliché. Etc.

That's not a rant mate!!

That's just the truth!

All rants are, to the ranter.

I will be the first to admit that we have been spoiled for success, does that make us less of a human being for craving success rather than accepting failure :confused:

Perhaps you should look in your own backyard as to why the "purple army" accepts mediocrity and even welcomes it with open arms

Seriously why do you care so much about this trivial matter

Perhaps. But they can't gun for us without any bullets. And nobody's got any decent bullets at the moment.

This is how it works pal..

The media was all over the Fletcher story on the day that Bennys suspension was announced.

Bingo.....bigger, better story lands in their lap that will sell heaps of papers and grab ratings.

So they drop the Fletcher story until the Cousins affair cools down....And just when it starts to cool down, your Chairman opens his big trap in a hissy fit!

Mark my words that when Bennys story does eventually cool down you WILL see the Fletcher story back in print.

And then the Kerr story.

And heaven help you if you have a slump and lose 2 or 3 in a row!:eek:

Do you think that Journos are that dumb???

Do you think that they will simply let Fletcher slide??

Get a reality check if you do mate!

And Renault's new car is the Cliché. Etc.

I have no idea what you are trying to say here.

All rants are, to the ranter.

And the truth hurts when you are denying its existence.

This is how it works pal..

The media was all over the Fletcher story on the day that Bennys suspension was announced.

Bingo.....bigger, better story lands in their lap that will sell heaps of papers and grab ratings.

So they drop the Fletcher story until the Cousins affair cools down....And just when it starts to cool down, your Chairman opens his big trap in a hissy fit!

Mark my words that when Bennys story does eventually cool down you WILL see the Fletcher story back in print.

And then the Kerr story.

And heaven help you if you have a slump and lose 2 or 3 in a row!:eek:

Do you think that Journos are that dumb???

Do you think that they will simply let Fletcher slide??

Get a reality check if you do mate!

It just doesn't work like that. They got a far bigger fish than they expected. They're not going to now chase after all the little fish.

The West has already tried to make more mileage out of the Fletcher story, this week. It was buried inside the paper. Do you know what story they splashed all over the back page? A story about the fact that, last week, the AFL had the most free kicks in its history.

Look, I'm sorry to break this to you, but the Fletcher story's over. That's not to say it's good or it's bad - it just is.

I have no idea what you are trying to say here.

Tell ya what. I'll look up "denial", you look up "cliché".

And the truth hurts when you are denying its existence.

A Freo supporter describing our club as arrogant? Yeah, that's painful alright. That's almost as bad as the one about us all driving Range Rovers and drinking chardonnay - I cry myself to sleep when people say that.

Nah. These are golden days mate. We have a nice new premiership cup, and have kicked off the new season beating the second best club going around and picking up another win at home.

Sure it would be nice if we weren't evil, but you can't have everything, can you?

I will be the first to admit that we have been spoiled for success, does that make us less of a human being for craving success rather than accepting failure :confused:

No one questioned your humanity.

Only your humility!

Perhaps you should look in your own backyard as to why the "purple army" accepts mediocrity and even welcomes it with open arms

That comment is as stupid as it is offensive.:thumbsdown:

Seriously why do you care so much about this trivial matter

Call it my service to humanity for the day!!

Living in denial is very bad for your health.

It just doesn't work like that. They got a far bigger fish than they expected. They're not going to now chase after all the little fish.

The West has already tried to make more mileage out of the Fletcher story, this week. It was buried inside the paper. Do you know what story they splashed all over the back page? A story about the fact that, last week, the AFL had the most free kicks in its history.

Look, I'm sorry to break this to you, but the Fletcher story's over. That's not to say it's good or it's bad - it just is.

Like I initially said champ.

You just keep on believing that.:thumbsu:

Tell ya what. I'll look up "denial", you look up "cliché".

It didn't say cliche` when I hit the quote button.

And by the way!!

Denial isn't a cliche` it is a very common psychiactric phenomenom.

Especially among Eagle supporters.

A Freo supporter describing our club as arrogant? Yeah, that's painful alright. That's almost as bad as the one about us all driving Range Rovers and drinking chardonnay - I cry myself to sleep when people say that.

Is that just after you repeat your little wishing and hoping denial mantra??

There are a few noble exceptions on BF, but arrogance proceeds most of your supporters.

Like I initially said champ.

You just keep on believing that.:thumbsu:

Well, I can only go on what's happened to date. For what that's worth.

But if you think that there's a journalistic neutron bomb just waiting to be dropped regarding Fletcher, you just might want to think it through a little more.

It didn't say cliche` when I hit the quote button.

And by the way!!

Denial isn't a cliche` it is a very common psychiactric phenomenom.

Especially among Eagle supporters.

Jokes about rivers in Egypt are a cliché. As is a Freo supporter sledging the Eagles about arrogance. And Range Rovers, and white wine.

"Denial" just seems to be a synonym for disagreement around here.

Is that just after you repeat your little wishing and hoping denial mantra??

There are a few noble exceptions on BF, but arrogance proceeds most of your supporters.

Yeah, yeah. We all leave the game at 3/4 time as well. Don't forget that one.

Tim Lane: "Flawed Eagles hardly heinous"