Time to go Izzy

When you're paid more than Gary Ablett, Chris Judd, Buddy Franklin, Dane Swan etc. you are going to cop an outsize amount of attention and criticism, whether you like it or not, whether its fair or not.

Izzy is one of many that are scrutinized unfairly. Just like top 10 picks need to be instant stars, father-sons need to be better than their dads, KPP need to kick 4 goals on debut or are written off ext.

When you're paid more than Gary Ablett, Chris Judd, Buddy Franklin, Dane Swan etc. you are going to cop an outsize amount of attention and criticism, whether you like it or not, whether its fair or not.

Izzy is one of many that are scrutinized unfairly. Just like top 10 picks need to be instant stars, father-sons need to be better than their dads, KPP need to kick 4 goals on debut or are written off ext.

If Penrith Panthers had either cap room or money, that might be possible.

People *do* know Panthers-the-casino-complex doesnt actually give them important amounts of money, right ?

LOL.

You know what money they have supposedly and you think they don't have it.

Funny, I thought they just got rid of around 500k just by their captain leaving at the end of this season with at least 2 other high paid players leaving as well. Better stick to the roar where no one can pull you up on ya bs.

LOL.

You know what money they have supposedly and you think they don't have it.

Funny, I thought they just got rid of around 500k just by their captain leaving at the end of this season with at least 2 other high paid players leaving as well. Better stick to the roar where no one can pull you up on ya bs.

Castrez Trieze,

Have you read Penrith's recent annual reports ? I have. The club gets surprisingly little money from Panthers-the-casino-complex.

They'd definitely need help from the NRL to afford Folau on a million a year.

Think it's time to wait and see what happens next season

GWS have been well congratulated on many aspects of training their squad up, particularly from a game style and team attitude perspective
Their picks seem to have unearthed a fair amount of talent so far, and they are getting a reasonable return from most of the senior players
The reason for the criticism of Folau is due to the money he is receiving, and comparing that to his football output

No doubt he is a great athlete, he needs more time to see whether he can grow into a pretty good League (after all, AFL has L for league in it)... ahem ... Aussie Rules player

Tend to agree with Plugger though, can't see him being as good an AR player as RL player. He probably doesn't need (or expect) to be though

Anyone see Folau's twitter?

17pkso.png

then this:

s1896x.png

;) I'm sure it was, Izzy.

Robert Walls saw Izzy in the twos over the weekend, had two touches and still looked lost. Time to go back to league mate.

Walls on Izzy

"UWS went down to GCS reserves today, 16.7.103 to 11.6.72. I read that they were playing 16-a-side because of limited listed players available (injuries) and also limited topups (U/18 nationals).

Best: Miles, Downie, Buntine, Aylett, Bruce, Frost
Goals: Frost 2, Green 2, Folau 2, Ugle 2, Bruce, Carter, Jensen"

"UWS went down to GCS reserves today, 16.7.103 to 11.6.72. I read that they were playing 16-a-side because of limited listed players available (injuries) and also limited topups (U/18 nationals).

Best: Miles, Downie, Buntine, Aylett, Bruce, Frost
Goals: Frost 2, Green 2, Folau 2, Ugle 2, Bruce, Carter, Jensen"

So two touches for two goals - high conversion rate.

Folau has openly admitted that the only reason he moved was for the money, and that shows in his performance. He looks disinterested and is just collecting easy money until he moves back to Rugby League (him seeking an early release from his contract is probably a possibility). Karmichael Hunt, on the other hand, looks like he actually cares and is enjoying himself (hence re-signing with GC).

I would probably be enjoying myself too, if I was playing for a pay packet remoured to be about $1.8 mill. a yr., just to be an average grunt style player.

I saw some of the footage of one of his NAB Cup games earlier in the season and while I know NAB Cup games are not regular season games, (before any of you get all excited), what he did in that game was extremely impressive, as he clunked a bunch of high marks on the lead that anyone would have been very happy with.

The thing that I and others (including Dermott Brereton, who knows all about playing CHF) were so impressed with, was that he both leaped at the ball and also marked it at it's highest point, with the arms fully extended and clunked them as well as anyone in the league would have (he apparently has enormous hands, which helps with that). Now when you have a huge athletic body like he has and a big leap like he has and you naturally mark the ball high and out in front like that (and have huge hands), it is a fantastic place to be starting at, because when he does that it will be extraordinarily difficult for anyone else to spoil the ball.

I would be paying little attention to how much ball he gets this year, as he is just brand new to this game (to play most sports professionally you normally need to have been playing and training them for YEARS, which he hasn't done) so he still has a shitload to learn and as has been stated earlier in the thread, the delivery into their forward line would also be relatively ordinary and infrequent, so that will also not be helping.

If he is still around in 2014 and isn't making any impact by the middle of that year, when he has had another two years to get used to the game and build his endurance and so on and the delivery forward ought to be better, then I would be genuinely concerned, but it is way too early to tell if he's going to be able to make it or not, at this stage.

He probably isn't really in their "best 22" right now, but I have no problem with them playing him, as the senior team is the place that is most likely to fast-track his development and winning isn't their no.1 priority right now. He will also be able to take a bit of the pressure off the likes of Jeremy Cameron and Jon Patton, who are still very young and could do with someone older and with a big body up there to help them.

I hope everyone gets off his back and stops sooking about the amount of money he's getting and just has a bit of patience, instead of trying to tell if he's going to make it when he's only been playing the game for 5 minutes. If it's going to work it's going to take time.

He's also been apparently helping to earn his money by doing lots of promotional stuff (especially in the off-season), like footy clinics and so on, which would be vitally important up there in rugby-town (also went to Fiji to do a promo trip with Nic Nat).

Imagine how many young ones might give footy a second thought up there after having met Izzy at a footy clinic at their school, or whatever. If he is able to get just a handful from each school or clinic interested in playing Aussie Rules, then that is a significant step towards the AFL getting a foot in the door up there in that area and increasing the numbers playing Aussie Rules up there. As far as all that sort of stuff goes, he would be worth his weight in gold, because whether he's any good or not, up there, he's Izzy Folau. If a Tom Scully, or Callan Ward walked into their school, I doubt anyone would care anywhere near as much, or be anywhere near as interested in what they have to say.

There seriously are some idiots on BigFooty and in the football media. You would of thought they would have learnt from campaigner that you just need to give them a year to find their feet and learn what is required and then start judging them next year. But I guess it is more sensation to write a headline 'Go Home Izzy' or a thread 'Time To Go Izzy', rather than a rational 'Give Izzy Time To Find His Feet'.

Jonathan Brown's first 7 games of AFL yielded 41 disposals, 15 marks, 13 hit outs, 2 tackles and 1 goal straight.
Izzy's first seven games of AFL have yielded 45 disposals, 14 marks, 23 hit outs, 12 tackles and 1 goal 5

How on earth did Joathan Brown get an 8th game. He was sooooo pathetic in his first 7. He should have gone and found another sport. Useless. Clearly not a footballer.

Robert Walls and Matthew Lloyd are d*cks.

FFS you have to give Izzy a chance.

AdelaideHawk,

After you've been proved well and truly wrong on Hunt, I'd have expected you to have stayed out of this thread.

He hasn't been proved wrong. Hunt is still crap. Except now he can occasionally get the ball and handpass it to a teammate. Last week he weighed in with an awe-inspiring 10 possessions against Geelong. Phenomenal stuff.

Jonathan Brown's first 7 games of AFL yielded 41 disposals, 15 marks, 13 hit outs, 2 tackles and 1 goal straight.
Izzy's first seven games of AFL have yielded 45 disposals, 14 marks, 23 hit outs, 12 tackles and 1 goal 5

How on earth did Joathan Brown get an 8th game. He was sooooo pathetic in his first 7. He should have gone and found another sport. Useless. Clearly not a footballer.

He had talent. And he was - and is - a footballer.

Time to go Izzy