Tom Hawkins best CHF of the last 25 years

Hahaha Jonathan Brown above Tredrea. Always makes me laugh.

Don't see why except for home fan excitement...Brown has better averages per game than Tredrea for disposals,marks and goals but not by much in any catergory...both right up there.

When Brown had gun full forwards Lynch and Bradshaw in front of him he never knocked up feeding them goals.

I think it is Carey first and argue about the rest but Franklin may finish up second.

M
Don't see why except for home fan excitement...Brown has better averages per game than Tredrea for disposals,marks and goals but not by much in any catergory...both right up there.

When Brown had gun full forwards Lynch and Bradshaw in front of him he never knocked up feeding them goals.

I think it is Carey first and argue about the rest but Franklin may finish up second.
who knows where Lance will finish, i dont think its fair to list current game players with retired players. there should be a seperate list for reitred and current, how on earth is it fair to compare a 300 gamer with a 150 gamer...

anyone who has Scott Lucas anywhere near their top 10 should be banned from the board.

Notice how its only Essendon supporters that rate him? So sad.

This is my attempt:

1: Carey
2: Kernahan
3: Tredrea
4: Brereton
5: Richardson
6: Riewoldt
7: Hall
8: Pavlich
9: Lucas
10: Franklin

Franklin will jump by the end of his career, but compared to the rest, wouldn't have him ahead of anyone. Might have missed someone, so if I did, let me know. Reckon Lucas has Brown covered, but another full season and possibly Brown sneaks in.

You missed Chris Grant

cant do it stumps....Tredrea has to be the hardest player to like in the history of football...all codes.
And yet was never involved in an off-field incident, was never even reported let alone suspended.

The cleanskin of cleanskins as a player and a consummate gentleman off the field.

Sure he strutted about and got in opposition faces when he was up and about but that's what being a marquee power forward is all about and gee-whiz, business was ****ing good.

Wow we have had some great centre half forwards these last 25 years.

Not as many as we would like to think though, imagine doing this same activity for midfielders and it becomes a lot more difficult with a huge increase in amount of gun mids versus gun centre half forwards

Wow we have had some great centre half forwards these last 25 years.

Not as many as we would like to think though, imagine doing this same activity for midfielders and it becomes a lot more difficult with a huge increase in amount of gun mids versus gun centre half forwards
shows you how valuable they are.........BTW any list without kernerhan should be dismissed.

Haha agreed.. no Kernahan in my list, this is only players that I have seen play.. started watching the game in about 99.

1) Wayne Carey
2) Jonathan Brown
3) Matthew Richardson
4) Nick Riewoldt
5) Warren Tredrea
6) Matthew Pavlich
7) Barry Hall
8) Lance Franklin - Should finish career at 2
9) Travis Cloke
10) Scott Lucas

cant do it stumps....Tredrea has to be the hardest player to like in the history of football...all codes.

Lolz yeah, a guy with no off field or on field indiscretions during a distinguished career should be left off the list because he bowed to the crowd as a joke after kicking a fluke goal against the Kangaroos, but let's put the dude who rooted his captain's wife at the undisputed #1 position.

Seriously, why even post if you can't make a valid contribution?

Leaving Tredrea off this list is as big a joke as leaving off Kernahan. Leaving him off because you don't think he was a good bloke despite all the contrary evidence and you should probably hand in your posting license.

Had David Schwarz not been ruined by injury, I suspect many of these lists would be significantly different!

Still an excellent CHF though.

Anybody who talks Tredrea down is either still a teenager, or just hates Port Adelaide.

J.Brown started with the likes of Bradshaw and Lynch helping him along.... whereas Tredrea did it with not a lot of consistent help.

Lolz yeah, a guy with no off field or on field indiscretions during a distinguished career should be left off the list because he bowed to the crowd as a joke after kicking a fluke goal against the Kangaroos, but let's put the dude who rooted his captain's wife at the undisputed #1 position.

Seriously, why even post if you can't make a valid contribution?

Leaving Tredrea off this list is as big a joke as leaving off Kernahan. Leaving him off because you don't think he was a good bloke despite all the contrary evidence and you should probably hand in your posting license.
And yet was never involved in an off-field incident, was never even reported let alone suspended.

The cleanskin of cleanskins as a player and a consummate gentleman off the field.

Sure he strutted about and got in opposition faces when he was up and about but that's what being a marquee power forward is all about and gee-whiz, business was fornicating good.

Yep he was an ok player, acted as if he was the best player ever. Total boof head. Hasnt done anything to discount that since.

JUst not good enough to be on a list with Brown, Carey and Brereton and a shit bloke into the bargain.

Best of luck on Sunday btw. You guys are a dead set chance :)

What's even worse is his 11-20 list:

20 - Scott Lucas
19 - Charlie Gardiner
18 - Sav Rocca
17 - Harry Taylor
16 - Kurt Tippett
15 - Matthew Pavlich
14 - Quinten Lynch
13 - Michael Hurley
12 - Adam Goodes
11 - Ben Graham

Yep he was an ok player, acted as if he was the best player ever. Total boof head. Hasnt done anything to discount that since.

JUst not good enough to be on a list with Brown, Carey and Brereton and a shit bloke into the bargain.

Ok player - obviously didn't see much of him then?
Acted as if he was the best player ever - one event you pick on means that you obviously didn't see much of him then?
Total boof head - obviously have never met the bloke?
Hasn't done anything to discount that since - doesn't need to - what has he done to reinforce your misconception?
A shit bloke - nice comment for someone you've never met or never seen play much. Obviously someone with serious off-field anger issues (Brown, Brereton) or touched up the captain's wife (Carey) is more your idea of a good bloke.
Just not good enough to be on a list with Brown, Carey and Brereton - the fact that you can spread this kind of dribble to a wide audience shows one of the few negatives of the internet.

This is my attempt:

1: Carey
2: Kernahan
3: Tredrea
4: Brereton
5: Richardson
6: Riewoldt
7: Hall
8: Pavlich
9: Lucas
10: Franklin

Franklin will jump by the end of his career, but compared to the rest, wouldn't have him ahead of anyone. Might have missed someone, so if I did, let me know. Reckon Lucas has Brown covered, but another full season and possibly Brown sneaks in.

This is as close to the best list I've seen - well done. (and not just because of the SA heavy top 3!)

Would possibly put Roger Merrett at 10 and Buddy Franklin higher and Lucas out.
Would also swap Tredrea and Brereton.

"an ok player"

You didn't watch much footy between 1998 and 2005 before his injury I take it?

I wont argue with you putting Carey and Brereton ahead of him on the list and you can definitely make a case for Brown if you're rating on ceiling and not career, but he's comfortably ahead of guys like Brownless and Lyon in ability, awards and statistics. Any way you care to look at it.

Despite total boofhead being completely wrong, it has no place being a basis for comparison unless we're doing a top 10 list of the CHFs that were the best blokes over the past 25 years.

We're not.

And I think we'll be comfortably accounted for by a superior side without disgracing ourselves on Sunday.

"an ok player"

You didn't watch much footy between 1998 and 2005 before his injury I take it?

I wont argue with you putting Carey and Brereton ahead of him on the list and you can definitely make a case for Brown if you're rating on ceiling and not career, but he's comfortably ahead of guys like Brownless and Lyon in ability, awards and statistics. Any way you care to look at it.

Despite total boofhead being completely wrong, it has no place being a basis for comparison unless we're doing a top 10 list of the CHFs that were the best blokes over the past 25 years.

We're not.

And I think we'll be comfortably accounted for by a superior side without disgracing ourselves on Sunday.

dont blame me for saying no one likes Tredrea.
Outside of Port he was widely disliked.
He is commonly considered Arrogant.

Also I dont think he played in an era that saw him opposed by many great opponents.

Also the flag you won, sorry to say but I dont rate it as highly as many others.

I agree that if he wasnt injured Tredrea he could well be higher on my list...instead of just outside it.

I reckon Port are playing good footy and seeing as its in Adelaide the game could go either way.

Also I dont think he played in an era that saw him opposed by many great opponents.

Michael Sexton, Glen Jakovich, Sean Wellman, Darren Glass, Mal Michael, Matthew Scarlett, Trent Croad to name a few. All plebs.

Also the flag you won, sorry to say but I dont rate it as highly as many others.

Yeah, a 20-win season off the back of 3 straight minor premierships against arguably the best team of all-time that is held up as the gold standard for winning a flag despite a severe injury list.

Just marginally better than Fitzroy 1916 then.

Michael Sexton, Glen Jakovich, Sean Wellman, Darren Glass, Mal Michael, Matthew Scarlett, Trent Croad to name a few. All plebs.

Yeah, a 20-win season off the back of 3 straight minor premierships against arguably the best team of all-time that is held up as the gold standard for winning a flag despite a severe injury list.

Just marginally better than Fitzroy 1916 then.
sexton?? cant go with that.
you might put Leppitsch in instead.
so brisbane, essendon, west coast and hawks had decent defenders....4 of 16 teams.
I rest my case.

Tom Hawkins best CHF of the last 25 years