Mod. Notice Mental Health Thread

Really struggling with my health and mental health atm , not dealing well .
Tried to do a little bit of work today , but had to do a blood test and then i couldn't face doing anything , then i get on here and feel like im not wanted anymore .
So go on to twitter and someone obviously on this board called me an old man who drawing his last breaths
Just so frustrated , but i was given another chance by some amazing Doctors , so i try and look at the positives .

Know you're struggling and everything mate.

Trust me when I say this, think a large group want you here (I still think we need a thread to read old south Melbourne stories).

Know you're struggling and everything mate.

Trust me when I say this, think a large group want you here (I still think we need a thread to read old south Melbourne stories).

Sorry to post this but I do consider the Swans to be my family. There are times when someone feels quite low & tonights a new low. My dad introduced me to the Swans in the mid 60's taking me to the Lakeside Oval. That's where my football roots were born and my strong bonds with my dad and my brothers. Fast forward, my dad and mum has since gone & I'm looking after my youngest brother who has special needs. I love him to death. He refuses to call the Swans Sydney and to this day, like dad did, calls us South Melbourne. I'm wise & practical enough to know it was the right move however it still hurts. I was blessed to live & work in Sydney, my choice to move from Melbourne, & associate with the Swans Club & players in the mid 90's. I consider some of them to be part of my extended family to this day. I remember when we made the 1996 GF. I felt conflicted. I wanted the Swans to win so much but I think I cared for the players more. They had their outside problems & needs. I still think to this day of what we see on the field from a player is 30% of what's going on in their life. The art of a good coach, football manager or friend. So, what's caused me to post this? Our dog of almost 16yo passed away recently. It devastated us. I still haven't gotten over it & I had no idea of how much my dog leaving us would impact us. He helped family members through life ending cancer & depression. I still can't get the thought & vision out of my head of carrying him into the Vet to have him put down. I still feel guilty. His ashes are in a box on a shelf near the TV. I just can't bring myself to throw the ashes. Sorry, but he's family & I miss his company.

Sorry to post this but I do consider the Swans to be my family. There are times when someone feels quite low & tonight's a low. My dad introduced me to the Swans in the mid 60's taking me to the Lakeside Oval. That's where my football roots were born and my strong bonds with my dad and my brothers. Fast forward, my dad and mum has since gone & I'm looking after my youngest brother who has special needs. I love him to death. He refuses to call the Swans Sydney and to this day, like dad did, calls us South Melbourne. So, what's caused me to post this? Our dog of almost 16yo passed away recently. It devastated us. I still haven't gotten over it & I had no idea of how much my dog leaving us would impact us. He helped family members through life ending cancer & depression. I still can't get the thought & vision out of my head of carrying him into the Vet to have him put down. I still feel guilty. His ashes are in a box on a shelf near the TV. I just can't bring myself to throw the ashes. Sorry, but he's family & I miss his company.

Sorry to post this but I do consider the Swans to be my family. There are times when someone feels quite low & tonights a new low. My dad introduced me to the Swans in the mid 60's taking me to the Lakeside Oval. That's where my football roots were born and my strong bonds with my dad and my brothers. Fast forward, my dad and mum has since gone & I'm looking after my youngest brother who has special needs. I love him to death. He refuses to call the Swans Sydney and to this day, like dad did, calls us South Melbourne. I'm wise & practical enough to know it was the right move however it still hurts. I was blessed to live & work in Sydney, my choice to move from Melbourne, & associate with the Swans Club & players in the mid 90's. I consider some of them to be part of my extended family to this day. I remember when we made the 1996 GF. I felt conflicted. I wanted the Swans to win so much but I think I cared for the players more. They had their outside problems & needs. I still think to this day of what we see on the field from a player is 30% of what's going on in their life. The art of a good coach, football manager or friend. So, what's caused me to post this? Our dog of almost 16yo passed away recently. It devastated us. I still haven't gotten over it & I had no idea of how much my dog leaving us would impact us. He helped family members through life ending cancer & depression. I still can't get the thought & vision out of my head of carrying him into the Vet to have him put down. I still feel guilty. His ashes are in a box on a shelf near the TV. I just can't bring myself to throw the ashes. Sorry, but he's family & I miss his company.
Take care , there are some good people here and we have probably crossed paths at the lake oval
There is a mental health thread , if you need to get things off your chest , trust me it helps

Take care , there are some good people here and we have probably crossed paths at the lake oval
There is a mental health thread , if you need to get things off your chest , trust me it helps
Wheels, we have crossed paths. Both when I was a kid and as an adult. You are a legend. Thank you for your kind message & you're a legend mate.

Im not Wheels , but know him well , he's been my idol since his 1st game at the Borough , not many better people than him

Sorry to post this but I do consider the Swans to be my family. There are times when someone feels quite low & tonight's a low. My dad introduced me to the Swans in the mid 60's taking me to the Lakeside Oval. That's where my football roots were born and my strong bonds with my dad and my brothers. Fast forward, my dad and mum has since gone & I'm looking after my youngest brother who has special needs. I love him to death. He refuses to call the Swans Sydney and to this day, like dad did, calls us South Melbourne. So, what's caused me to post this? Our dog of almost 16yo passed away recently. It devastated us. I still haven't gotten over it & I had no idea of how much my dog leaving us would impact us. He helped family members through life ending cancer & depression. I still can't get the thought & vision out of my head of carrying him into the Vet to have him put down. I still feel guilty. His ashes are in a box on a shelf near the TV. I just can't bring myself to throw the ashes. Sorry, but he's family & I miss his company.
It's hard, saying farewell to beloved pets. I've said farewell to so many, and it doesn't get any easier.
My advice is don't throw away the ashes. I've kept things for decades.
As for the Sydney Swans, yes they are South Melbourne, and always will be, but they are now based in Sydney as well, with their own history.

MightyBloods you don't need to apologise at all. You are absolutely correct that the Swans can be a family to someone, and that goes for this board and everyone on it. We all come from different walks of life and have wildly different personalities, but we're bound by one thing and that is the club. We're here if you need us, and as bedford said, there is a mental health thread here:

It has some great resources in it, and is a good place for honesty, openness and support. Really sorry about your dog, they are such special parts of our lives. You should be really proud of yourself for being strong for your brother, and I reckon your parents would be proud of you too.

MightyBloods you don't need to apologise at all. You are absolutely correct that the Swans can be a family to someone, and that goes for this board and everyone on it. We all come from different walks of life and have wildly different personalities, but we're bound by one thing and that is the club. We're here if you need us, and as bedford said, there is a mental health thread here:

It has some great resources in it, and is a good place for honesty, openness and support. Really sorry about your dog, they are such special parts of our lives. You should be really proud of yourself for being strong for your brother, and I reckon your parents would be proud of you too.
Thank you for your kind words. I don't think my parents were confident in me looking after my brother. I called it early that I would look after him. I had a lot of girlfriends & dates but as we aged I knew what I needed to do. I wish I had married & had kids. My dog was like my only kid. The void he has left is so hard. Grand Final losses hurt, family losses hurt more.

The one bad thing about owning pets is losing them.

It is hard, but try and remember you gave your dog a really good life. I am sure he would not have changed a thing. That dog loved you as much as you loved him and gave him a great life.

The one bad thing about owning pets is losing them.

It is hard, but try and remember you gave your dog a really good life. I am sure he would not have changed a thing. That dog loved you as much as you loved him and gave him a great life.
But the look he gave me before I put him down. It cuts deep. It hurts bad.

Thank you for your kind words. I don't think my parents were confident in me looking after my brother. I called it early that I would look after him. I had a lot of girlfriends & dates but as we aged I knew what I needed to do. I wish I had married & had kids. My dog was like my only kid. The void he has left is so hard. Grand Final losses hurt, family losses hurt more.
I can only imagine how difficult that must be. Sixteen years is a good innings for a dog, which means he must've lived a long & happy life in dog years. What sort of dog was he?

He trusted me as I put him down. I still can't process that.

It is sometimes important. I once had a cat who had kidney failure, and there was a medication that was able to keep him alive longer, and I gave it to him, but he was suffering. I kept him alive a month longer than I should have because I wanted him to survive. In hindsight I was being cruel, and the best thing I did was realise I was delaying the inevitable and prolonging his suffering. It was such a hard choice but I got him put down, and in hindsight I am angry at myself for putting my wants over his needs.

As a small dog advocate, I think you made a great choice! Cute as a button and I'm guessing a bit of a lap dog?
I didn't choose him. He chose me. He never left my side. Slept next to me, stood at my ankles...I should have called him Shadow. Makes him leaving so worse. I never closed a door so he could enter, he never left me even in an open park....he wouldn't trust food unless it was off my fingers...it's hard.

It is sometimes important. I once had a cat who had kidney failure, and there was a medication that was able to keep him alive longer, and I gave it to him, but he was suffering. I kept him alive a month longer than I should have because I wanted him to survive. In hindsight I was being cruel, and the best thing I did was realise I was delaying the inevitable and prolonging his suffering. It was such a hard choice but I got him put down, and in hindsight I am angry at myself for putting my wants over his needs.
That so rings true with me.

Anyways, tonight I've emptied the wine, gin & campari. Not a lot, the bottles were almost empty. To bed soon. Tomorrow 3 bottles of wine to deaden the pain and watch the footy.

Mod. Notice Mental Health Thread

Write your reply...