Too many forward line injuries - season 2012 is over

As said to me, with a cloud of mysticism, by the old drunk Tigers supporter sitting next to me at the pub...

"don't worry.... there is only one game you have to win" [reference to the GF]

I felt like arguing back about the tightness of top 8, and that we need home finals, etc. but he was too drunk to be reasoned with.

But he may be right - come finals it's a totally different ball game - anything could happen.

As said to me, with a cloud of mysticism, by the old drunk Tigers supporter sitting next to me at the pub...

"don't worry.... there is only one game you have to win" [reference to the GF]

I felt like arguing back about the tightness of top 8, and that we need home finals, etc. but he was too drunk to be reasoned with.

But he may be right - come finals it's a totally different ball game - anything could happen.

I should perhaps point out there are about 18 games you need to win- 15 or so to make the top 4, then at least two finals prior to the big one.

Geez you lot jump off pretty quickly.

This season is far from over. We are only outside of the top 4 on % and only one game off top spot. We can certainly beat Adelaide next week. Lynch will definitely be back and also hoping Hill and Hams are back too. That will give our forward line a little more kick. Lynch will be huge structure wise for us.

Embley, Waters and Kennedy will be back before finals and Shuey back after the Adelaide game.

I think we can beat Adelaide next week, if we can do that, get back into the top 4 then have 3 straight games at Subi against Brisbane, Freo and Geelong. Those three we should win. Far, far from over.

I would have picked McInnes instead of Brown, played McInnes forward and kept Schofield back.

thats what i would have done, give mcinness a crack see how he went, schofield forward was an interesting idea. Didnt work, woosha should of changed it earlier, wouldnt have made a difference though as we were absolutley smashed in the midfield and cox and nantanui did nothing. Maybe the tassie trip took it out of us, and with the injuries we were ripe for the plucking. Pleased with the younger guys in the team today shepppard, newman masten brennan all good. I think all our old guys were poor except kerr could of been due to the tassie trip took it out of the older guys as they all had good games against north.

I REALLY don't want them to play LeCras this year.

Yeah I agree - Give him the full 12 months and get back fully fit next year. If Kennedy can have a couple of games in the WAFL then maybe give him a crack in the finals - His first up record is pretty good (going by his rd 1 game v Dogs)

We never give up. We aren't the Dockers. Yes it will be a miracle now if we make the GF but if its still possible then I want woosh to do everything in his power to try and get us there.

Was sitting at the city end yesterday and at the start of the last quarter I looked at our forward line and just burst out laughing...

Schofield, McGinnity, Masten, Cox, Stevens and I think Shepperd were who I spotted in our forward line...wow!!! :eek:

Sure, I agree that Sydney smashed us in the centre and deserve the kudos for the way they played yesterday. That said, take away an entire line of your starting 22 and play a bunch of guys out of position and any team is going to struggle, the flow on effect is just too much.

Can't do much about what happened yesterday, the bemusment on the face of Woosh in the last quarter said it all. Move on, get some players bac and hopefully give it a red hot go in September...whether we finish 3rd or whether we finish 7th.

We are having a shocking run of it this year...proud of the boys to be 11-4 though :thumbsu: :)

We were awful yesterday. No question.

Still, it is only one game. As long as we're in the 8 we're a chance. Top 4 should be our target.

We had no forward line yesterday, was always going to be an uphill battle.
Next week people, next week.

Some of you need to calm the **** down.

It was mentioned in passing in the commentary yesterday but what about throwing Hurn up forward?

He was getting towelled up down back and I know he's our go-to kick-in, but it would have been interesting to try in the last quarter, with Schofield back where he should be.

As was pointed out, anything from 60 metres for Hurn would be a set shot.

p.s. wonder if under-12s was the last time Masten lined up at full-forward?

Just following on from what Mop said, I'd hate to see some of the posters on here really up against it, in real life, like if you had a kid who had stomach cancer at 8 years of age, would you guys drop your rag and give up?

would say we're pretty long odds to make top two. top four however is totally in our grasp. looking at the draw I think the pies, crows, and swans are locks, meaning we have to displace the hawks, who are only percentage ahead of us. they have games against the pies, swans at the scg, their bogey side geelong, and us to finish it. could come down to that game to decide 4th spot. get our players back and win that and we go into a QF where anything can happen.

If we have Darling and Lynch playing this week we should be fine - have one or the other out really messes with our structure and I50 entry.

Its not over yet!! Plenty of footy to go with more upsets im sure to the remaining top 8...
We are a good side and have shown some heart this year, we can get back in the top 4 and still give it a shake..
Chin up people...
:thumbsu:

So many different views in this thread it's comical, hard to answer them all but i'll wing it. This isn't me being sarcastic or miserable, just realistic and honest i guess.

What could worsefold had done instead of playing schofield forward?
McGinnes would have been my choice. I know it's a first gamer and all that but he is still a forward, and looking at the 22 we had going into the game i knew getting goals would be a mission. Hams late out too, what a joke.

Can we beat adelaide?
Probably not, no. Most improved team this year, strong midfield with depth, powerful forward line. If we had our full team yeah i'm sure we could give them a decent showing, but if we show up with what we had a against the swans i think an even bigger pansting will be coming our way this week. Which leads us to..

Is our season over?
Making the all important top 4 is VERY unlikely if we lose to the crows, it all would come down to other teams taking a scalp and us having a very decent end to the season. Now everyone knows how hard it is to get into the GF from a position outside top 4 but yes, it can happen. Only can you imagine us beating crows at AAMI? Swans at SCG? Pies at MCG? Even hawks would be a very hard game. So away wins in the finals are quite unlikely indeed. Also, theres alot of people that need a bit of a reality check when it comes to our injured players coming back... Something tells me they aren't just all going to 'make it back in time to save us and dominate'. Sorry.

Seasons not over no, but REALISTICALLY it's very unlikely we will get any further then the first week of the finals from here. That makes me want to cry. Considering we had the firepower this year

I'm not so sure.

In the coming weeks, before the finals, we'll regain Kennedy, Lynch and Darling. - Things will get better.

Plus Embley, Shuey and possibley Hill will return soon too.

We need Newman and Stevens to take their game to the next level and pull something out of the hat in the mean time - lets have faith.

I guess it cant get any worse from here.......right?

Honestly though we have soooooo much improvment left in us before finals, im not even worried.

well i forecast at least 3 more losses in the next 7 games. Those being against the Crows in Adelaide, Collingwood at home and Hawthorn away. Then there is the derby and Port at adelaide which are no gimmes. Top 4 is almost out of the question unless something special happens.
Mate if we lose to port i will cancel my membership (but not really)

Yeah, agree completely!

Worsfold had three other talls:

Brown, who has shown he is useless up forward
Mackenzie, who has never played an attacking role in his life
Glass, an all australian full back and holds our defensive structure together

Yet, that complete idiot worsfold goes with Schofield, the most attacking player and the player that has shown he can kick goals. Such a stupid move!

1341731723287.gif
I think the point might be that we should have played McInnes in the first place and hence Schoey would be much more use to us down back.

I like the idea of McInnes but Brown did enough to get another game. A considreed rethink is required, particularly if Darling is out.

Kennedy mentioned to a friend after the game that he will be back for Rnd 21 (WAFL I assume) but enough time to be fit for finals.

Yeah I agree - Give him the full 12 months and get back fully fit next year. If Kennedy can have a couple of games in the WAFL then maybe give him a crack in the finals - His first up record is pretty good (going by his rd 1 game v Dogs)

If we finish top 4 and have 2nd chance/week off, all the better for the JK situation too because it buys another week maybe two.

Too many forward line injuries - season 2012 is over