List Mgmt. Trade and F/A 2020 Cont’d

Because if we were making that trade to land McDonald, I'd be genuinely concerned by the high failure rate of key forwards drafted at the pointy end (particularly those touted as "the best KPP prospect since...."). I'd rather go in with picks 5 & 12 and take 'best available', bolster our young midfield talent (of which we don't really have much), and then endeavour to develop Will Kelly and trade in another.

If we landed A-grade midfield talent with picks 5 & 12, and then also got McInnes & Daicos, our future midfield would hopefully be set up for prolonged success post-Pendlebury/Treloar/Sidebottom. I know that wouldn't address the key position void, but as I said, I feel that's more speculative and I don't think that we can afford another year of either no or unrealised first-round talent.

If I told you a ridiculously complicated way we could go into the draft with picks 2, 8, 10 & 24 but lose Treloar, Phillips and Mihocek (and effectively swap our future first and future second for North's future second), would you take it?

at this stage I'm open to anything, lets have it

If I told you a ridiculously complicated way we could go into the draft with picks 2, 8, 10 & 24 but lose Treloar, Phillips and Mihocek (and effectively swap our future first and future second for North's future second), would you take it?
possibly but North would have to have some absolute peanuts in charge to give up Pick 2. They could set up their club for the next 10 years. I think pick 8 is gettable considering Adelaide have pick 1 and could get a compo for Crouch.

Because if we were making that trade to land McDonald, I'd be genuinely concerned by the high failure rate of key forwards drafted at the pointy end (particularly those touted as "the best KPP prospect since...."). I'd rather go in with picks 5 & 12 and take 'best available', bolster our young midfield talent (of which we don't really have much), and then endeavour to develop Will Kelly and trade in another.

If we landed A-grade midfield talent with picks 5 & 12, and then also got McInnes & Daicos, our future midfield would hopefully be set up for prolonged success post-Pendlebury/Treloar/Sidebottom. I know that wouldn't address the key position void, but as I said, I feel that's more speculative and I don't think that we can afford another year of either no or unrealised first-round talent.
Fair enough, I get the thinking.

Just unsure as to why you'd be confident of landing A-grade midfield talent in the draft but you're down on a KPF who was the 2nd best key forward in the WAFL as a kid

Fair enough, I get the thinking.

Just unsure as to why you'd be confident of landing A-grade midfield talent in the draft but you're down on a KPF who was the 2nd best key forward in the WAFL as a kid

Yeah all picks are speculative, I agree - I think I'd just be more confident with midfielders than KPP given what history shows us. But we could very much end up with another Aish or Freeman and it would blow up in our face.

God, hope not. Freeman was a gut punch of a draft mess up. Let's hope it's more 05, 06 or 14

Absolutely

at this stage I'm open to anything, lets have it

Untitled.jpg

Excuse the format. Trying to make it easier to follow 🥵

Edit: Forgot to mention that we add Bailey Dale.

Reckon we could make odds for list manager interviews on Trade Radio (whether they have one):

James Gallagher (market closed, on now)
Stephen Wells $1.50
Ned Guy $151

If I'm a betting man, I'd have a few bob on Collingwood enquiring on Dale (runs like the wind, good size, decent user and potential high forward role) and being offered Schache in return (from a team soon to have four left-footed key forwards).

I'd personally be steering clear on Josh, but I'm not not curious about a former #2 pick at 23 years of age. Sometimes certain players just need more time than others for the penny to drop.

As usual, depends on price and looking at the trade/FA/draft period as a whole, rather than melting at one rumour at a time.

Sometimes you need to take the risk on the KPF and risk going bust or get the big pay off if they prove to be worth it in long run.

If all clubs had your attitude no teams would draft KPF at all, yet every team who made the top 4 had a very good KPF if not 2.

Sometimes you need to take the risk on the KPF and risk going bust or get the big pay off if they prove to be worth it in long run.

If all clubs had your attitude no teams would draft KPF at all, yet every team who made the top 4 had a very good KPF if not 2.

If we had pick 2, of course I'd draft McDonald. I'm saying I'd rather have 5 & 12 than just 2 because I feel it has a higher probability of improving our list. I think it's up to Ned Guy to start investing time into established key forwards to lure them to the club, rather than trying to draft one that will take 4-5 years to hit their prime (when the list is outside of a window).

Some times you need to strike while the iron is hot with KPP rich drafts. I do get you on the double dip over 1 low end but for mine I feel we really need a high quality low end pick KPF come through. Have Reefer and Nicky D on the horizon for midfield and every draft has excellent mids in it.

You are talking about getting a 28yo KPF in over a players who may give you 14 years service and form part of the next squads spine. But if thats the case there is a way to get both with FA and hitting the draft having the newby develop under him.

This team realistically has a year or 2 in it before we gotta go the rebuild or major reno route anyway.

View attachment 995326

Love your work, I think the format's very easy to follow.

While all the trades seem reasonable I think it's unfortunately a little bit wishful thinking that first rounders would be included in Mihocek and Phillips trades (even with the square ups). I also think North would only trade 2 if they're confident Mcdonald will be gone. I really rate Will Phillips though so i'd be happy enough if we traded up to ensure we got him, then took someone like N Cox around 10/early teens.

Adam Treloar 41 bucks for the Brownlow next year. Get on.

I thought he played well this year when in the side and even showed signs of composure with the footy.

My big question, why would anyone in the Collingwood list management team want to tell Tom Browne that we want to trade him? It makes zero sense as a strategy and is incompetent if it is coming from us.

Smells more of Browne trying to cover his own arse to me.

We should be offering Tom Hawkins a contract + coaching role post retirement. Perfect player to transition us to Kelly + another young forward.

View attachment 995326

Whilst sophisticated it's not overly complex which is appealing.. Trades are straightforward and could be argued they are reasonably fair and a case could certainly be made for each of the clubs in question to accept said deal.

The outcome, if this came to fruition and Collingwood wanted to take this route is excellent for a draft hand in 2020. We would certainly need to address accumulating some more points for 2021, but we have next year for that as well and this is the type of haul where its setting an extremely solid foundation regardless.

Great work! you'll always have your detractors but it's a fair effort mate...

Need to make a stand that won't be pushed around by players in negotiations anymore 4 year contract at 28 is ludicrous
I think see why Michocek is asking for the moon. He's been on a rookie list deal for the past 3 seasons and has grossly outperformed that rookie contract given to him. Its justified that he should be rewarded in his next contract.

I know people keep saying no to Charlie Constable, but I hope we are talking to him.

He’s OOC & not a required player at the Cats. We could acquire him for a 3rd rounder or so. He could slot into our midfield from round 1.

He’s better than a pick 50.