List Mgmt. Trade and F/A 2020 Cont’d

Can we add Riley Beveridge above to the long list of journalists who are all apparently slandering the clubs and telling lies about Treloar, Stephenson etc? Where there is smoke there's fire. Let's stop pretending it all just a media beat up and that the highest moral standards are being applied by the club in their trading intentions. From the outside it looks ugly, and I refuse to believe that it's simply because the media are scum and just make stuff up.

When you are a fan, and the players are your idols, it becomes pretty hard to manage them.

The weak two faced mice in the media are also flat out compromised by this, and are duplicitous with their silence..

Imagine if this same scenario was playing out with North or some other small club? There would be blood spilling out of our computer monitors!

Can we add Riley Beveridge above to the long list of journalists who are all apparently slandering the clubs and telling lies about Treloar, Stephenson etc? Where there is smoke there's fire. Let's stop pretending it all just a media beat up and that the highest moral standards are being applied by the club in their trading intentions. From the outside it looks ugly, and I refuse to believe that it's simply because the media are scum and just make stuff up.
What’s not to believe, we sell papers...had Buckley not come out and said we weren’t after Brown and Kennedy they would have continued with that line of nonsense until we apparently ‘failed’ to secure their services...the competition loves to hear about Collingwood failing at something, there always has to be a villain.

Wouldn’t be surprised if Croc Media and hutchy were after Eddy following the Footy show and Footy Classified coup.There is no integrity in show business...

He’s a Blues fan and absolutely hates the Pies, so I take anything he says about us with a grain of salt.

What’s not to believe, we sell papers...had Buckley not come out and said we weren’t after Brown and Kennedy they would have continued with that line of nonsense until we apparently ‘failed’ to secure their services...the competition loves to hear about Collingwood failing at something, there always has to be a villain.

Wouldn’t be surprised if Croc Media and hutchy were after Eddy following the Footy show and Footy Classified coup.There is no integrity in show business...
So it's all lies then. In that case, I needn't waste my life reading and posting in this thread. Almost the entire discussion of maybe who's going or coming is based on fibs and fabrication.

Senior Collingwood players:

We are happy to pay for beams and his general scumbag nature.

We are happy to keep the below par coaches around.

We are happy to keep our foot in the mouth President.

Also senior Collingwood players:

Treloar you can piss off.... we don’t like that your wife has a seperate career in a different state....

Don't think depression is a choice.
Do at least think coaches will be busting a gut.
Do think Eddie is too and he's isn't paid.

All players locked in a hub for weeks, give everything vs WCE, spent vs Cats.
Then AT (on $850) lets wife & new kid go to Qld (on <10% of his salary).
Problematic, unwise, but okay.
Then AT tries to inflict his problem on his team saying he needs 2 to 3 days a week off.
Meanwhile rest of the team can keep busting a gut? Maybe everyone can ask for time off?
Best thing would be for AT to take a trade to GC, pick 5 is not so bad. But "I'm staying".
Senior players decide this would be a absolute cancer if he gets 2 days off a week or if he doesn't and misses family.
AT you best leave!

Who knows, but at least that would fit

Can't say I was impressed by today. Silence regarding rumour after rumour relating to Treloar and his situation, then the coach got on the front foot on twitter the moment his own name was mentioned.
Pretty sure Buckley’s name has been mentioned several times up to this point. The report today though, sounded so out of character to what we know about him though that I’m not surprised he got his back up about it.

Hearing whispers Devon Smith is keen to get across to the Pies. Great mates with Adams and formally managed by Ged Nuy.
His knees are shot, can't tackle any more, that's why he was moved out of the middle and placed at half back, playing that seagull role. Liked him as a player, but I think he's done now

Our hand might be forced if the reminder of Beams' contract is forced onto our 2021 salary cap.
Silvagni this afternoon was saying the AFL is usually pretty accomodating to clubs under these sorts of circumstances and wouldn’t be likely to force the entire settlement on to a single year of cap.

Mate, it's reading like they have rooted the pies salary cap in spectacular fashion. There's a fire sale on for Treloar & Stephenson and they haven't re-signed DeGoey yet. It's flat out negligent, particularly for a club with Collingwoods power & resources, and pies fans should be up in arms about this.

Surely there has to be a tipping point?
It was already reported this morning that the club and Stephenson are committed to each other and it would take something truly exceptional to get them to consider moving him on.

Hearing whispers Devon Smith is keen to get across to the Pies. Great mates with Adams and formally managed by Ged Nuy.

Pass for mine - he's looked totally cooked this year, only a shadow of the player he was a few years back.

Think the swap was Adams for Shaw
Yes. My point was the leadership group at the time, weren't the biggest fans of Heath Shaw.
Heater was a different situation entirely.

The club had gotten over his repeated brain explosions and outbursts and they were really dragging his performances down on-field.

In the end it was unfortunate that he appeared to be too emotionally tied to team vibe under Malthouse (like a number of players were) and didn't get along with the gruff "professional" demeanour Bucks brought to the table initially, so even though he wanted to stay and play footy with his mates it was the best thing for all concerned to trade him elsewhere.

I think the fact that Heater went on to nab back-to-back AA's speaks for itself in that respect.
The leadership at the time grew tired of Shaw's antics. Perhaps the trade was the kick up the butt he needed as according to Nick Maxwell, who was the leadership guru at GWS at the time, stated Shaw had changed his ways and became a better person and leader.

Sorry to take thread off topic.

To clarify again, we are going to trade Treloar to free up $600,000, as we will need to pay $300,000 of his supposed $900,000, according to the media. BUt we made a larger bid for Jermey Cameron than Geelongs $900k p.a, according to the media. If Phillips is on the supposed $600,000 next year, according to the media, wouldn't moving him on result in the same impact on the cap. The following year both Beams and Langdon's contracts are done. That's another $1.2-$1.4M, according to the media.

Now if we are prepared to $200/$300k next year only, that's possible and more likely but, IMO, only if we have someone else in mind. Perhaps the media stuffed when they said Josh Kennedy from WCE (which Bucks chuckled at) and they just got the wrong JK.

Media follows media.

So it's all lies then. In that case, I needn't waste my life reading and posting in this thread. Almost the entire discussion of maybe who's going or coming is based on fibs and fabrication.
Speculation and nonsense yes, clubs keep these things quite close. It’s ludicrous to assume we’d treat Adam Treloar the way it’s being described...surely you can’t believe that.

Crouch was going to Geelong, ended up with the saints. They do get some right, but in those cases you’re often hearing it from multiple sources...

Makes sense to be spreading missinformation about Treloar to lower the trade expectations

Just because you don't believe it doesn't mean it isn't true, Dave. Journalists have a reputation to maintain. They are not going to make something up knowing they will look stupid when the truth comes out.

They do it all the time.

I wish I had a partner, I'm so alone.
How you doin'?

giphy.gif