List Mgmt. Trade and F/A - Part 3

I really dont know mate, all i can tell you we will be trading one or two big names out.
If i was to guess? there has been some talk about Maynard not sure of anyone else.
If its going to happen and i was list manager, i like what Clarkson did at Hawthorn trade out the oldies on reasnably big deals i.e Pendels and Sidebottom those 2 would be worth at least 1.5 million of salary relief. Harsh but if you have to do it and your hands a tied you have no choice!
Obviously Grundy would probably be worth 2 first rounders so if you trade him your back in the draft.
We are not chalenging in the next 3 or 4 years at least we may as well make the hard calls now!
It's not happening.

With the players out so far this year (Greenwood and Mayne) and you’d think 2-3 of Sier, Thomas, Cox, Lynch are possible to go...

combine that with the likelihood that lipinski and Kreuger are on moderate salaries and plus Daicos and Dib will be on low salaries

All this would have to create some further room in the cap.

Of course, there’s other factors to consider like back ended player deals - that effectively back end the club 😮

But I think it’s unlikely a big name will be forcibly/encouraged to move on from both a salary cap and locker room cultural perspective.

What’s more I think Fly has made it clear that he thinks the squad needs to retain reasonable levels of experience in order to facilitate the rebuild and new coaching

Outside of Lipinski and Kreuger I can see us maybe picking up a further DFA (probably someone that the new coaching staff or GW have already worked with and rated) ... otherwise my guess is it will just be overall a fairly predictable draft period

Would be happy with that after last years debacle

I can tell you right now.

There isn't a Treloar or Stephenson situation happening.
They've cleared enough cap for this year with retirements and contract cuts (Pendles took a big one for his new two year extension)

It's a quite trade period with two players at the moment coming in, point gathering and Nick Daicos plus potentially Dib coming through the draft.

I am not sure which players will be involved? i know we will trade 1 or 2 players that will suprise everyone.
Its a matter of opinion what can i say? since were starting from scratch lets call it a rebuild.
i would trade pendels and Sidebottom, harsh but there would probably be close to 1.5 m of salary relief there for 2nd or 3rd round picks not much value but extra points for Daicos jnr.
Grundy and Degoey are interesting if we can get maybe a total of at least 3 first rounders for both? i would consider this.

And we can look forward to spending the next decade down the bottom of the ladder following this strategy. Do you really think a new coaching group are going to come in and simply gut the current playing list?

There is little chance of Pendles being traded. I'm not against Sidey being offered up as he still offers somehting and could still play for 2-3 more years so someone nearing the premiership window might be enticed by his run and carry.

As for Grundy - no club will touch him with his current contract so its a moot point. DeGoey will attract offers next year as he becomes a FA - we should listen to those offers and work out whats best for the CFC

And we can look forward to spending the next decade down the bottom of the ladder following this strategy. Do you really think a new coaching group are going to come in and simply gut the current playing list?

There is little chance of Pendles being traded. I'm not against Sidey being offered up as he still offers somehting and could still play for 2-3 more years so someone nearing the premiership window might be enticed by his run and carry.

As for Grundy - no club will touch him with his current contract so its a moot point. DeGoey will attract offers next year as he becomes a FA - we should listen to those offers and work out whats best for the CFC
I don’t get the Grundy argument that no one will touch him with his contract. Before signing on with us Adelaide we trying hard to convince him to move. Precedent suggests that a move away from a club you love requires a hefty pay rise. So if he stayed with us for less, why wouldn’t an Adelaide or anybody else take him now for less than what they would otherwise have had to pay?

Because he’s last 2 seasons have been really average. Some amazing patches in matches and some great quarters, but nothing in the realm of consistent let along that sort of $.

Yes, Martin and English is clearly not a Premiership worthy ruck combo. Lynch might not be either but his performance against Gawn this season was a hell of a lot better than what Martin and English delivered in the GF. So some sort of deal involving Lynch for Lipinski seems a very obvious move for both teams. Hop
As long as we get fair value at the trade table, particularly for Lynch.
What's fair value for a ruckman who's played 2 ok games in 4 years? If Lynch was on another team, we we would be laughing at the idea of him being worth anything except a very late pick.

Listening to Matt "the flog" Rendell on Trade Radio who just said this years bottom 4 were the best he's ever seen. Then went ahead and pumped up the other 3 but didn't mention Collingwood at all.

Does he harbour a grudge or what.
I noticed that.. was waiting for him to mention the pies. But nutta.

The Matt Rendell section of TR now - makes me sick.

He just said Dale Tapping chose St Kilda over us... How does this bloke get a gig? He's got stiff competition but he's the most incompetent bloke in footy media for mine.

On SM-G981B using BigFooty.com mobile app
Wasn’t the word that Tapping was off to Essendon?

Please can someone tell me where I’m wrong.

last years list changes I’ve got at around $3.4m after Treloar $300k tip in.
A major part of Beams and Bergs contracts paid out under the career ending injuries.

Add $1.1m back for 8 new recruits.
$150k Checkers top up.
$150-$200k Top up deals for both Moore and DeGoey.
$250 - $300k Grundy top up
Say $ 500k top ups for the rest of the team.
Estimate $2.5m spent back from last year.

note : Side’s , Howe, Pendles and Adams all took $50k pay cuts to bring Beams in.

This years 3x Retirements = say $500k tops.
Cox well documented on a backend deal around $500k
Sier / JT say on $500k combined.
Pendles contract probably comes off $150k
Maynard / Crisp we’re recontracted 2 and 3 years ago so no money needed for Chris’s till 23.
Moore / DeGoey/ Maynard main contracts coming up at the end of 2022.
Moore if fit year say $800-$850 not much more than what he’s supposedly on now, DeGoey if form continues $850-900k about $100-125k more than on currently. Maynard $600-$650k estimate about a $250k upgrade.
With Pendles / Sidey / Howe/ Roughead likely to be all gone in 2 years or on min’s .

Having already got rid of 3 players with backended contracts last year AT, Stevo & Phillips and Cox this year I’d be astonished if we had more players than them on backended deals . Normally 3 or 4 in a club max at anyone time. ( Then again we are unique) My point being there might only be one Smokey still backended.

so for the life of my how can we still have Salary cap issues?

Maybe we need the Dee’s Accountant?
May $850
Lever $800
McDonald still on $750
Max ?? $750k
Petracca ? $850k
Oliver ? $650 going to $850k
Viney ? $650k
Brayshaw ? $500-$550
Jackson to $700k next
Langdon $450
Tomlinson $450
Salem $ 450k
Fritsch ??? Going to be a lot more .
Pickett ? Going to be a lot more.

Attachments

• FD52FAA2-2B3B-46C2-B71F-69CDDB6B36BD.jpeg
    FD52FAA2-2B3B-46C2-B71F-69CDDB6B36BD.jpeg
    126.4 KB · Views: 88
As long as we get fair value at the trade table, particularly for Lynch.
What do you imagine Lynch's fair value to be? He hasn't been able to break into a team that finished 17th and couldn't displace a project player from the USA or another recruit (Cameron) who couldn't get a game at Sydney - who aren't exactly over-endowed with quality ruckmen.

I can tell you right now.

There isn't a Treloar or Stephenson situation happening.
They've cleared enough cap for this year with retirements and contract cuts (Pendles took a big one for his new two year extension)

It's a quite trade period with two players at the moment coming in, point gathering and Nick Daicos plus potentially Dib coming through the draft.

sound good

Do you know the level of interest we had for Stephens from Swans (if any?)
…and if little interest, why not?

The garden tap's connected to the... Tap timer.

The tap timer's connected to the... Tap nut.

The tap nut's connected to the... Poly pipe.

The poly pipe's connected to the... Elbow piece.

The elbow piece's connected to the... Pop up.

AND THAT'S HOW YOUR GARDEN GROOOOOOWS

I am hearing mate Pendels is on about $750k you would hope if he stays which is most likely he plays for significant less coin $400k he has made his money
"he has made his money" Im not sure if thats how this works.

GW specifically downplayed trading stars - I doubt he will now do an about face. He would have made no comment if that was a likelihood.

“I wouldn’t have thought so” and “ I don’t think that is in our thinking at the moment” was how he characterised it

To me he didn’t specifically down play trading stars. He was pushed to give and answer when questioned and was deliberately non specific. To say no comment when pressed would have created a spark. He gave a layered multi possibility answer that can be interpreted a number of ways.

It wasn’t a convincing denial and I am sure that’s because, especially at that time of year, he was uncertain whether more cuts to the list will be required.

“I wouldn’t have thought so” and “ I don’t think that is in our thinking at the moment” was how he characterised it

To me he didn’t specifically down play trading stars. He was pushed to give and answer when questioned and was deliberately non specific. To say no comment when pressed would have created a spark. He gave a layered multi possibility answer that can be interpreted a number of ways.

It wasn’t a convincing denial and I am sure that’s because, especially at that time of year, he was uncertain whether more cuts to the list will be required.
Funny, I’ve always considered “I wouldn’t have thought so” as a very Australian way of saying no. On par with “yeah nah”.

Critical trade period I feel.

Can we get Krueger and Lipinski, hold onto our future 1st and 2nd and get enough points to match a Daicos bid?

Best case for me would be Krueger for a future 4th and Lipinksi to the PSD and then swap our future 3rd for a 2021 third for points for daicos and then find the remaining points from Cox, Josh Thomas or Sier.

Please can someone tell me where I’m wrong.

last years list changes I’ve got at around $3.4m after Treloar $300k tip in.
A major part of Beams and Bergs contracts paid out under the career ending injuries.

Add $1.1m back for 8 new recruits.
$150k Checkers top up.
$150-$200k Top up deals for both Moore and DeGoey.
$250 - $300k Grundy top up
Say $ 500k top ups for the rest of the team.
Estimate $2.5m spent back from last year.

note : Side’s , Howe, Pendles and Adams all took $50k pay cuts to bring Beams in.

This years 3x Retirements = say $500k tops.
Cox well documented on a backend deal around $500k
Sier / JT say on $500k combined.
Pendles contract probably comes off $150k
Maynard / Crisp we’re recontracted 2 and 3 years ago so no money needed for Chris’s till 23.
Moore / DeGoey/ Maynard main contracts coming up at the end of 2022.
Moore if fit year say $800-$850 not much more than what he’s supposedly on now, DeGoey if form continues $850-900k about $100-125k more than on currently. Maynard $600-$650k estimate about a $250k upgrade.
With Pendles / Sidey / Howe/ Roughead likely to be all gone in 2 years or on min’s .

Having already got rid of 3 players with backended contracts last year AT, Stevo & Phillips and Cox this year I’d be astonished if we had more players than them on backended deals . Normally 3 or 4 in a club max at anyone time. ( Then again we are unique) My point being there might only be one Smokey still backended.

so for the life of my how can we still have Salary cap issues?

Maybe we need the Dee’s Accountant?
May $850
Lever $800
McDonald still on $750
Max ?? $750k
Petracca ? $850k
Oliver ? $650 going to $850k
Viney ? $650k
Brayshaw ? $500-$550
Jackson to $700k next
Langdon $450
Tomlinson $450
Salem $ 450k
Fritsch ??? Going to be a lot more .
Pickett ? Going to be a lot more.

In terms of where you're wrong, I can't tell you, but I can tell you that you can't be confident about any of these figures unless you've got someone working for the AFL who signs off on the salary cap and thus player contracts and payments, so you could be miles out on lots of them - particularly the bottom lines.

The Matt Rendell section of TR now - makes me sick.

He just said Dale Tapping chose St Kilda over us... How does this bloke get a gig? He's got stiff competition but he's the most incompetent bloke in footy media for mine.

Because he bashes Collingwood