Ant_
Premium Platinum
What I want to know is whether Dannnnnnnnnn has a new avatar coming through the ranks.
Looks in need of a total rebuild to me.
While I love the avatar.. it's the kiss of death to all players pictured within
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
What I want to know is whether Dannnnnnnnnn has a new avatar coming through the ranks.
It's good beef. It's pretty exciting....Bloody Dogs sent me an email and I got excited thinking it was a trade announcement.
Nek minnit...
"CHECK OUT THIS GREAT DEAL FROM OUR PARTNER CAPE GRIM BEEF"
This is probably the most exciting news to feature on this thread tbh.
While I love the avatar.. it's the kiss of death to all players pictured within
I love everyone's optimism but I think we will be very quiet this trade period . The problem with trade period is there are a lot of turds rolled in glitter available and that's all most of these tradeable players are
Fair call, but it's a ten minute job and covering eighteen teams with specifics where you basically need inside knowledge is a tough if not impossible gig.It's not about being right or wrong, they're just shallow. They're essentially giving the list a once over and saying, "Eh, they lack this." His North analysis for example was basically, "They're old; they lack outside the contest." Everybody knows that. A real list analysis looks at the players coming through and passes judgment on them and explores the list in more depth. Haven't really seen him do much of that at all.
For example he was happy to say we had to replace Hamling/Boyd/Murphy/Morris but didn't mention or give an opinion on Collins/Williams/Suckling/Prudden/Lynch/Smith/etc. Was happy to say we need more rucks but was apparently oblivious to the fact that Campbell exists. Looked at our four-pronged attack for next year and said it looks great because one of them gets a weaker defender but didn't analyse whether it would be damaging enough to go away from our high-pressure, smaller forward setup, and so on and so forth.
To be honest, I wouldn't care if he came out and said we're not good enough to go back-to-back, would have to rebuild, etc. As long as he put some thought into it and justified his point of view. To me, for the amount of chest-beating that goes on about his analyses, there just isn't enough in them.
No real issue with Barrett.
Reckons we hold our cards tight and wouldn't be surprised if we done something that caught off everybodys eye
Palmer is such a meh player, GWS must be offloading him for the salary cap space and Carlton must be taking him so they don't need to send pick 5 for Marchbank et al.RUMOUR CENTRAL
Talk has sprung that GWS flanker Rhys Palmer is on his way to Carlton.
The 2008 NAB Rising Star winner (when he was at Fremantle) would give the Blues some depth and would might also help pave the way for Caleb Marchbank and Jarrod Pickett to also get from GWS to the Blues.
Palmer also helps clear the burgeoning GWS salary cap issues.
Makes you wonder if they were trying to beat us to the punch by getting Hamling to request a trade first. They have been into him since midyear apparently as well.I can sort of confirm what Panna is suggesting about Pearce. This is a pm I sent to Panna and Fronk on 26 May which provides some confirmation that we've probably been interested in Pearce for quite a while and that Pearce may be amenable to a move (I've had to remove some identifying information):
"A mate of mine is a senior exec at XXXXXXX (company name) - he is also their relationship manager with Freo and is a big Freo supporter. He tells me that the Freo footy dept. thinks that the Bulldogs are heavily into a young Freo player and they think that the player may have already made his mind up to go. XXXXXX (source's name) believes the player is Alex Pearce, although he is putting a few things together to come to that conclusion rather than knowing it's Pearce for sure."
EDIT: So the above is not conclusive or anything like that but does show that there might be more than just a bit of smoke around Pearce.
God, Carlton love the GWS players lol
If Joel Hamling does depart, does anyone know roughly what month he will leave for Perth?
It seems that heaps of this in-season trade discussion happens with players and their agents (and sometimes between clubs.) GWS were talking to Griffen and we were talking to Boyd months before the fateful day when the Trade Of The Century occurred (which we handsomely won by the way. ) So we shouldn't be surprised that once Freo made a bid for Hamling, we also had some irons in the fire to pull out.Makes you wonder if they were trying to beat us to the punch by getting Hamling to request a trade first. They have been into him since midyear apparently as well.
Facetious? Cotchin is a captain of a club, one of their 2 decent midfielders and would set back Richmond even further.Tom Boyd
Keen on Cotchin if he plays 100 games for us. Would luv rick kenedys grandson playing for us.Facetious? Cotchin is a captain of a club, one of their 2 decent midfielders and would set back Richmond even further.
No doubt, but it may well have panned out that they got whiff of our interest in Pearce, so started buttering up Hamling AND got him to request the trade first. Hypothetically, would people give up Hamling and Adams for Pearce in a 'straight swap'?It seems that heaps of this in-season trade discussion happens with players and their agents (and sometimes between clubs.) GWS were talking to Griffen and we were talking to Boyd months before the fateful day when the Trade Of The Century occurred (which we handsomely won by the way. ) So we shouldn't be surprised that once Freo made a bid for Hamling, we also had some irons in the fire to pull out.