Strategy Trade and List management Thread Part 5 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)

JJ, Hunter, Cordy, Dunkley and to a lesser extent Wallis (Not premiership but bloody deserves to be).

We low balled JJ on his next contract, hence why he parked talks to shop around.
Dunkley and club are talking but are a bit off on middle ground.
Hunter is on the outs with a few people in positions of power due to off field screwups that have been spoken about in here before

Cordy and Wallis, well, don’t need to elaborate.

Personally I’d keep Cordy for depth and tell him to do the biggest pre season his ever done.
I don’t see where JJ or Wallis fit in long term with us.
Hunter at his complete best is a beast but the guy needs to cut his off field s**t out and focus on playing.
Dunkley I would try to keep but not sell the farm for him.

My two cents
Sounds like Hunters papers are stamped.

Any intel on who you think they are going to try bring in?

Quiet the dissection Norm. Appreciate the time you’ve put in.

Can’t stand blokes like Dunks. But feel free to give him as much benefit of the doubt as you want.

When you say well founded concerns, are you referring to Bailey Smiths off season issues? Assuming you are.

I’d much prefer to have Bailey Smith beside me on the field than a bloke who wants out at any sign of things not going the way he likes, or because the pay packets better elsewhere.

Anyway, let’s see how it plays out Norm. Maybe he stays and we can do this all again next time there’s talk he wants out or whenever his contract is up next.
What do you want from Dunkley, Charlie? This is his profession. His needs should come first. The clubs second and ours shouldn't even be considered.

Lets be honest the other high profile player that is as yet un-signed could learn a thing or two about what it takes to be a professional athlete on and off the field. Bailey Smiths actions this year have been much more to the determinate of the sides fortunes than that of Dunkleys. Yet his flowing locks get to skate by on the assumption that his signature is somehow a fait accompli. When his status is in reality no way different to that of Dunkley's.

Whether Dunkley stays or goes, he is the exemplar of what a professional sportsman should be both on field and off.

It just astonishes me that some in here would just throw this rarefied trait away because he was dissatisfied with the professionalism of a number of his teammates in the lead up to his last contract negotiations. Personally I'd want more of his type around the club than less. Its little wonder that a headless club like Essendon came calling last time and a team with an ageing midfield in Port is allegedly coming this year. If he goes, look to one of the upper echelon clubs to swoop in and take him, not shit heaps like Essendon, Norf or St.Kilda.

Then we can moan about the clubs negligence in letting him walk...

More than happy to drop all of Hunter, JJ, Cordy & Wallis from the list and free up cash

Going to have to, we need to lock Naughton and JUH away next year for a long time. I’d suspect 17 other teams to come for Naughton with open chequebooks .

Yep, if ever there was a list that needs a shake-up it's the Dogs.

We've been bringing in polyfilla (O'Brien, Martin, Schache, even Bruce and Duryea) and the vfl-standard 180cm types for a few years and it's starting to show at the bottom end of the 'best 22'.

Add to that paying overs in points two years in a row for JUH and Darcy.

And at the top end of the 'best 22', we're looking tired and under-inspired.

I'm actually energised by the idea of fresh players in guernseys 5, 7, 39, etc.

And hopefully a bit of young ball carrying talent in as well to keep the pressure on for places.

Yep, if ever there was a list that needs a shake-up it's the Dogs.

We've been bringing in polyfilla (O'Brien, Martin, Schache, even Bruce and Duryea) and the vfl-standard 180cm types for a few years and it's starting to show at the bottom end of the 'best 22'.

Add to that paying overs in points two years in a row for JUH and Darcy.

And at the top end of the 'best 22', we're looking tired and under-inspired.

I'm actually energised by the idea of fresh players in guernseys 5, 7, 39, etc.

And hopefully a bit of young ball carrying talent in as well to keep the pressure on for places.
Agree, except for Bruce and Duryea. The Bruce trade is a move you make when you want to contend for a flag and he kicked 50 goals last year. Did his knee, can't blame anyone for that. Duryea we got for something like a future 4th rounder and he was best 22 all year last year and would be this year if fit.

More than happy to drop all of Hunter, JJ, Cordy & Wallis from the list and free up cash
We’ll be down to just 7 premiership players remaining on the list if we ship them off off.

It’s incredible what’s happened to a lot of those young players over the short and medium term since the flag given a lot of them should in theory be in their primes and producing their best footy.

Going to have to, we need to lock Naughton and JUH away next year for a long time. I’d suspect 17 other teams to come for Naughton with open chequebooks .
Can tell you with great certainty that Naughts is currently in our top 3 highest paid players (not including adz for obvious reasons). Bont, Macca, Naughts. Not sure where the other high-profile guys we signed this year are at within that spectrum.

That's interesting considering he signed his extension in April 2019.

As good as his first year was, I'm sceptical that Sam Power would have signed him to $800k-$900k p.a. at 19 years of age, with 21 games to his name.

Especially when that contract was likely negotiated/finalised in the off-season (announced round 5), pre any breakout games as a key forward (such as vs Richmond).

You may be right, but it would be surprising for a 1st year player to be given an AA level deal (and the salary cap back then was well below what it is now).

Or it otherwise could be very heavily backended, in which case saying he's one of our top 3 paid players (when the average across the contract is well below that) could be a touch misleading.

I don't think we can lose all of Hunter, JJ, Dunkley, Cordy etc. That's too many players from our top 26 to replace in an off season if we want to contend.

I hope we resign JJ at the very least (on a reduced contract) as his pace is something different for our forward line. Combined with Weightman and West it is the makings of a nice mix.

Hunter I'd be happy moving on if the money is being used elsewhere for a best 22 player (I.e. Lobb, Logue, Jones etc).

Dunkley I think is gone. Get the Top 10 pick and move on. Another 2 top picks in a year will be huge for the make up of our list.

We do need to target some small/mid sized defender depth to take over from Duryea though. Maybe Broad? Surely someone is gettable?

IN: Lobb, Jones, 2 top 10 picks, 3rd round pick, Defender
OUT: Dunkley, Hunter, Wallis, Martin, Butler, Schache

FB: Duryea, Jones, Richards
HB: Dale, Keath/Gardner, Daniel
C: Williams, Libba, Scott
HF: Smith, Naughton, West
FF: Weightman, Lobb/Bruce/JUH, JJ
R: English, Bont, Macrae
Int: Treloar, McNiel/Garcia, New Defender, Lobb/Bruce/JUH

Depth: Lobb/Bruce/JUH, Darcy, Keath/Gardner, Sweet, Cordy, O'Brien, Crozier, Hannan, Khamis, VDM, McLean, 2 x Top 10 picks.

As good as his first year was, I'm sceptical that Sam Power would have signed him to $800k-$900k p.a. at 19 years of age, with 21 games to his name.

Especially when that contract was likely negotiated/finalised in the off-season (announced round 5), pre any breakout games as a key forward (such as vs Richmond).

You may be right, but it would be surprising for a 1st year player to be given an AA level deal (and the salary cap back then was well below what it is now).

Or it otherwise could be very heavily backended, in which case saying he's one of our top 3 paid players (when the average across the contract is well below that) could be a touch misleading.
I'd be very confident in where that info came from. He's doing very well.

Dunkley the footballer? Absolutely. Any club would wish to have/keep.

Dunkley the bloke? Seems nice enough, but see ya later. This has been going on for two years. He'd rather win a brownlow than play his role in push for another flag. Blindsided the club 2 years ago from all reports, including his close mate and captain.

Could take a leaf out of Joel Corey's book where you embrace the fact you are playing among the glamour boys of Ablett, Bartel and Selwood. 3 flags.... coincidence?

Dunkley would be better suited to tennis or one of his american sports where sell yourself as a "product" 🤮
Who's his manager? His dad?

What do you want from Dunkley, Charlie? This is his profession. His needs should come first. The clubs second and ours shouldn't even be considered.

Lets be honest the other high profile player that is as yet un-signed could learn a thing or two about what it takes to be a professional athlete on and off the field. Bailey Smiths actions this year have been much more to the determinate of the sides fortunes than that of Dunkleys. Yet his flowing locks get to skate by on the assumption that his signature is somehow a fait accompli. When his status is in reality no way different to that of Dunkley's.

Whether Dunkley stays or goes, he is the exemplar of what a professional sportsman should be both on field and off.

It just astonishes me that some in here would just throw this rarefied trait away because he was dissatisfied with the professionalism of a number of his teammates in the lead up to his last contract negotiations. Personally I'd want more of his type around the club than less. Its little wonder that a headless club like Essendon came calling last time and a team with an ageing midfield in Port is allegedly coming this year. If he goes, look to one of the upper echelon clubs to swoop in and take him, not s**t heaps like Essendon, Norf or St.Kilda.

I couldn’t think of a more horrible mentality for an AFL player to have.

Imagine that, players not giving two f**ks about supporters, or club volunteers or club history. Nor caring much for loyalty amongst the playing group.

These are all the things that make our game great. It’s why you see a lot of one club players, or long term club legends stick it out till the end. Imagine Granty had the same player mentality that you’re advocating. He’d have been on the first plane to SA. What about Bont and Macrae and Libba etc. You’d have been ok for them to move on last time their contracts were up without any consideration for the supporters, club history, volunteers and the playing group? All supporters should be ok with that?

The AFL would quickly become like the mercenary professional sports we see in the US and Europe.

As for the professional attitude. They’re all professional athletes, some just more or less than others.
I’d take loyalty first and foremost over anything else. I’d take loyalty in the whole player list over the slight improvement in professionalism that Dunkley apparently has.

We’re at complete opposite ends of this Norm. I really hope not many others on our list share the player mentality that you advocate for. The sport in general and our club would be far worse off for it.

I don't think we can lose all of Hunter, JJ, Dunkley, Cordy etc. That's too many players from our top 26 to replace in an off season if we want to contend.

I hope we resign JJ at the very least (on a reduced contract) as his pace is something different for our forward line. Combined with Weightman and West it is the makings of a nice mix.

Hunter I'd be happy moving on if the money is being used elsewhere for a best 22 player (I.e. Lobb, Logue, Jones etc).

Dunkley I think is gone. Get the Top 10 pick and move on. Another 2 top picks in a year will be huge for the make up of our list.

We do need to target some small/mid sized defender depth to take over from Duryea though. Maybe Broad? Surely someone is gettable?

IN: Lobb, Jones, 2 top 10 picks, 3rd round pick, Defender
OUT: Dunkley, Hunter, Wallis, Martin, Butler, Schache

FB: Duryea, Jones, Richards
HB: Dale, Keath/Gardner, Daniel
C: Williams, Libba, Scott
HF: Smith, Naughton, West
FF: Weightman, Lobb/Bruce/JUH, JJ
R: English, Bont, Macrae
Int: Treloar, McNiel/Garcia, New Defender, Lobb/Bruce/JUH

Depth: Lobb/Bruce/JUH, Darcy, Keath/Gardner, Sweet, Cordy, O'Brien, Crozier, Hannan, Khamis, VDM, McLean, 2 x Top 10 picks.
So you must have us losing to Fremantle then because we win that and we are odds on to finish 7th or 8th

It just astonishes me that some in here would just throw this rarefied trait away because he was dissatisfied with the professionalism of a number of his teammates in the lead up to his last contract negotiations.
Personally I'd want more of his type around the club than less. Its little wonder that a headless club like Essendon came calling last time and a team with an ageing midfield in Port is allegedly coming this year. If he goes, look to one of the upper echelon clubs to swoop in and take him, not s**t heaps like Essendon, Norf or St.Kilda.

Dunkley's dissatisfaction with levels of professionalism were not in the lead up to his last contract negotiations. It was after hub life when he still had 2 years left to run on his current contract.

I don't think any dogs fan wants to throw him away as a player (ie. what we did with Stringer). It is Dunkley himself who has already tried to split and seems to be willing to at least entertain the notion again at the moment. With that being the case, he's obviously got an ongoing itch that he needs to scratch. Let him go scratch it as far as I'm concerned.