Strategy Trade and List management Thread Part 5 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)

We see a lot more pace now that Richards is there. Dale contributes a lot of quick rebound through his foot skill also.

Apart from his speed, I don’t think VDM offers much else. He lacks composure and his decision making is pretty poor.

You never know though though, Dale was probably spoken about similarly (his weaknesses) prior to his move. But, I just don’t see VDM getting a run there anytime soon with the other 3 still playing pretty good footy.
Well, VDM played his junior footy as a half back. There was a lot of criticism of Richards until this year and I reckon that was partly because he was being played out of position as a wing / half forward. I reckon VDM will lift once he plays in his natural position.

In the world where they haven’t had a decent ruck to feed them
It really says a lot that we still dominate clearance numbers with the worst actual ruck contest ruck duos in the league over the past 5 years. Imagine our midfield had the luxury to back our ruckmen in to hit the ball forward majority of the time and let our mids just stream forward onto the ball playing their natural game.

We wouldn’t be so poor defensively either if the other side had to worry about us doing that every once in a while but they know we won’t win the ruck and they’ll get an advantage all day so they do exactly that and steam forward into attacking positions without a care in the world and good sides are catching us out time and time again. We can negate the advantage against avg to poor teams because our midfield is so much stronger than there’s, but imagine the damage we could do ourselves with that advantage.

I think Scrag is having a lend.

In any case, Goldstein is past it. His numbers are dropping off.

Only because they've been putting Xerri in the ruck more often to prepare for a future after Goldstein. His output has been pretty good this season in games that they've played Coleman-Jones as a forward-ruck instead. Goldy has played 7 matches with Coleman-Jones instead of Xerri this year and has gotten 18, 16, 14, 14, 15, 11, 18 disposals in those game, while winning the ruck battle on average, because Xerri's been considered the first ruck and Goldy the second in games they've played together, but Goldy gets the promotion with CCJ.

The problem with Bevo is his strength as a coach may have a built in redundancy over time. He dragged the 2016 team with him through relationship building, storytelling and inspiration. After 6 years do the players still thrive on that style or is it time for him to take it to another club? I think somewhere like Port or North could really use a coach like Bevo. He’s our most successful coach ever and I’m not all for throwing him off elsewhere. He desperately needs a strong strategic voice on big coin backing him or challenging him in the box through. I do think we’ll need to seriously consider a succession plan in the next two to three years as he would be brilliant coming into a broken team needing emotional cohesion and that’s not what we need anymore. Still think we can go deep this year if we can get into the finals and Bevo is brilliant at tapping into emotion at the pointy end of the year.

I was pro-Lobb but am now against it. We’re not winning the flag in the next few years. Would much rather use that cash to lock-in Dunkley long term.

Naughton, English, Darcy and JUH is a great base for young talls. Add in Richards, Smith, Weightman etc and build around that.

Look to get anything we can in trades for the likes of Treloar, Hunter, O’Brien, Bruce, Keath etc.

Why not - surely there are more examples of the successful use of the tactic than one. Because I can show one example where it doesn't ******* work.
When did I claim it was a working tactic? All I said was Collingwood did it and it seems to work. It’s possible the issue is elsewhere.

Potentially. It’s a very lazy observation that it’s the issue with our game. A team that struggles with defending as it is will be better at defending if the man is superglued to the ground?

Can you seriously not see we are struggling even more with defending by allowing the easier movement up the field? Defenders jobs are hard at the best of times, we have made it harder all season by stubbornly sticking with a tactic that does not work for us.

A man superglued to the ground is better when it forces the opponent back 5-10m to kick over the mark or move laterally rather than having another 5-15 of free real estate moving forward. The last few weeks I’ve seen opponents take marks and turn around on the spot, knowing we will stand off.

If I, an average footy fan, can see that, why can’t a team of professional coaches?

Can you seriously not see we are struggling even more with defending by allowing the easier movement up the field? Defenders jobs are hard at the best of times, we have made it harder all season by stubbornly sticking with a tactic that does not work for us.

A man superglued to the ground is better when it forces the opponent back 5-10m to kick over the mark or move laterally rather than having another 5-15 of free real estate moving forward. The last few weeks I’ve seen opponents take marks and turn around on the spot, knowing we will stand off.

If I, an average footy fan, can see that, why can’t a team of professional coaches?

He'll just argue off topic and then make up statements you didn't say - I wouldn't bother mate...

I really really want to keep Dunkley and get Lobb.
Swap Bruce for Lobb and we just about win that. A forward who actually leads.

JUH does that, gets burnt by his teammates multiple times and a few people then say he had a poor game.

I don't think so.

A broken down Bruce would be just as likely to kick four against a team with no defenders who refuse to defend all over the ground.

I don’t believe the man on the mark would make one iota of difference as our system is broken. It isn’t helped by having someone either standing or not standing on a mark.

Anyway, agree to disagree. Not going to get into a non classy, insulting slinging match with emotionally charged people.