Strategy Trade and List management Thread Part 5 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)

My strong feeling is Hunter will find it difficult to find a club. I suspect the Bulldogs know this unless we pay a significant portion of his salary.

The long term play is that all this trade talk serves as a massive wake up call. Apparently he has been working out everyday for 4hrs since season end.

If Brisbane can somehow contrive to get both Bowes and Dunkley into their salary cap, I would happily take 7 for Dunkley. Going into the draft with 7 and 11 (or 7 and 13 if we trade down to Freo's pick) would be amazing.
With all the players potentially out (Hunter, Schache, Cordy, Crozier), we should get enough 2nd/3rd rounders to package all our other picks up to get Brissy to add their current 1st too. Then just give up the future 2nd for Lobb

Have the people who are bagging out Hunter now never been a fan?

He’s never been a great kick.
He’s never been quick.
He’s never been a good set shot.

He has always been the clubs fittest runner.
He has always been the best defensive runner in our midfield.
He’s always been a great mark for his size.
He’s always been a great accumulator.

If it’s for off field stuff that people want him gone that’s cool, I’m not gonna pretend to know what happening like most do. But maybe we should focus on what a player does offer instead of what he doesn’t? You can’t have a team of 22 Marcus Bontempelli’s.

On field Hunter has regressed from his borderline All Australian form of 2016/17 seasons. He is still our best winger. Super smart player who knows that winger position like the back of his hand.

Off field and the cultural fit for a high performing environment is 100% the reason why the club has put him up for trade. If Bevo wasn't so forgiving he would've been out of the club already.

If Brisbane can somehow contrive to get both Bowes and Dunkley into their salary cap, I would happily take 7 for Dunkley. Going into the draft with 7 and 11 (or 7 and 13 if we trade down to Freo's pick) would be amazing.
It's remarkable that Brisbane (who just played in a prelim and finished top 4 on the ladder the previous 3 seasons) are contemplating taking Gold Coast (who have never once made finals) up on their salary cap relief offer at the same time as bringing in Dunkley.

Would love to compare both clubs' books. And Geelong's whilst we're at it.

Great result if Brissy get 7, potentially get that plus a later first off them for Dunks & points youd think. Any deal we do with them we just have to get involved with points for their picks, we have what they want and they have to deal with us so we’ve got the upper hand. Just need to get enough points to make it a win-win

Change in midfield coach should change forward line entries.

For a Lobb type, we need to get it in quick and high. Allows him to be one out and use his strength and size to get to the ball. You can then have fast crumbers arriving late to the contest.

The key is to have an excellent CHFs, who can mark the ball consistently and then be instructed to kick long to Lobb. Naughton & JUH could easily be the best in the league at this.

It’s really just a matter of having a focal point forward and using him.

IF the play is slowed up, then by all means look for other options but we could change tactics to a faster transition without a big change in personnel.

It stood out to me during the Finals how the best teams consistently have that reliable outlet on the wing.
A contested mark (or even one on a hard lead into space) is worth it's weight in gold.

I hope in time JUH will be stupid good at it. Naughton ok now, and with someone he can then wheel and kick long to? Yes please.

If everything that’s been rumoured actually happens I think it still can get done within 3-4 days. It opens next Monday and runs until the following Wednesday so still far longer than it has any right to be.
Not sure it’s longer than it should be, it seems about right.

People absolutely love it. The chat and interest has already been going for weeks, and there’s still a bit of time before it even starts.

If anything they could probably give the fans a bit more. 2 more days would stretch it out to a Friday, so it will still finish in the same week.

Brisbane-bound midfielder Josh Dunkley says he is confident Chris Fagan will be his coach at the Lions next year as he denied a culture issue was at play in his second trade request in two years.
Dunkley will move to Brisbane if the Lions can broker a trade with the Western Bulldogs, but says after 18 goals in his outstanding 2022 season he is prepared to play mid-forward in an onball unit that includes Lachie Neale and Hugh McCluggage.

The Herald Sun revealed last week Dunkley would sign a six-year deal worth $750,000 per year, and Dunkley said he had genuinely been unsure about his decision until last Monday when he officially asked for a trade.

Watch every match of the AFLW Season LIVE on Kayo. New to Kayo? Start your free trial now >

He told the Herald Sun at the TAB Spring Racing launch that while Fagan could not go into details about the accusations from First Nations players about conduct in his time at Hawthorn, Dunkley believes will would coach the Lions next year.

“It was a tough decision and something I had to think about a lot,” he said of his trade request.

“Weighing up my life here (in Melbourne) and in Adelaide with my partner Tippah and my life in Brisbane as well. So at the end of the day I feel like it’s a good lifestyle decision and they have an exciting list up there.

“Fages was really good. He is really disappointed and everyone knows that. It’s been on the public record that he has been struggling with it, but he’s a great person and we didn’t talk too much about it. He just wanted to reassure me that he feels like he hasn’t done too much wrong and with the situation that is going on, it’s hard to talk about.

“It definitely didn’t make me second guess. Everyone has backed him in and all the news reports have backed him in, and from what I have had to do with him in such little time he’s such a good human being and he’s really cared for me, and I am looking forward to that relationship and getting up and meeting him.”

Josh Dunkley says he is moving to Brisbane for lifestyle reasons. Picture: Darrian Traynor/Getty Images)

Treloar’s great mate Adam Treloar’s partner Kim Ravaillion is in Brisbane playing Super Netball, and he is likely to join her once his AFL career is finished.

It means that while it will be difficult for Dunkley to leave his best friend, they will be reunited in Queensland in coming years, with the 25-year-old adamant the decision was based around lifestyle.

His partner Tippah plays Super Netball with Adelaide and while all contracts in the league are up at the end of next year, she loves the exciting young side she is playing with.

But in the long-term they will settle in Queensland, with 2016 premiership player Dunkley describing it as an offer too good to refuse.

Dunkley asked for a trade to Essendon at the end of 2020 amid the turbulent finish to the club’s hub experience in Queensland, but is adamant the Dogs culture is sound.

It is no secret the ultra-professional Dunkley led the charge on that front at the Dogs, but he said his relationship with coach Luke Beveridge was good.

“I think that was never an issue. It was more for me the on-field stuff and my role and the lifestyle. I feel like I can improve my footy again in the team up there. The culture stuff never came into my decision making.

“The culture is really good at the (Bulldogs) footy club. The boys are really close

“This year has been the best year out of all of them. It was a good step in the right direction after the grand final, so there is no bad blood.

“Bevo was really good to speak to on the phone. We have had a great relationship from day one and before I was drafted he spoke to me about how much I can be a role model and leader, so Bevo has been great for me and he’s like a father figure.

“I said to Bevo it was more of a lifestyle choice. He backed it in and said he completely understands the long-term deal was appealing.”
Dunks is a flog. Imagine declaring some bloke you met 5 minutes ago as your best mate? He is an empty vessel.

Freo fans really think they're getting a first round selection for Lobb don't they? Lol
It’s quite funny they seem to think this is the “first” offer not the here’s the deal we look forward to your call deadline day like Bruce and Keath and Treloar before

Guys it doesn’t matter how many hours Lachie Hunter is spending in the gym he’s been told he’s no longer wanted at the dogs..

Hey also here’s a thought maybe that’s why he’s in the gym so much so he can salvage his career at another club?
Hunter should be doing repeated reps on how not to crash ones car repeatedly into others vehicles.

Seriously? He’s been a great addition and for little coin. If only some of other mids could kick like him (Libba better).

I admire and love Adams work but I am also a bit over him talking up the pies and how much he still loves then. They shoved you out the door mate and our little boutique football club that has a 60 percent less ratio of Bogans then the magpies picked you up. Embrace the Bulldogs Adam