Strategy Trade and List Management Thread Part 7 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)

Sweet jesus. Far too much
It’s really not.

People seem to have not wrapped their heads around the increased salaries. The average AFL wage is set to increase around 30% from 2022 to 2027. $800k will be pretty standard for someone expected to be in the top 10 players.

Got no issue with players getting whatever money they can get, but geez, feel sorry for all those gun players from 10 years ago that got nowhere near what average players get now.

Why does your sympathy only extend back 10 years? That seems quite arbitrary. How much do you reckon EJ Whitten was getting paid? Spare a thought for the blokes who still had to work other jobs to earn a living while playing footy at the top level.

It’s really not.

People seem to have not wrapped their heads around the increased salaries. The average AFL wage is set to increase around 30% from 2022 to 2027. $800k will be pretty standard for someone expected to be in the top 10 players.
This. It isn’t 2015 anymore, even with the increases the top stars will still be underpaid.

Why does your sympathy only extend back 10 years? That seems quite arbitrary. How much do you reckon EJ Whitten was getting paid? Spare a thought for the blokes who still had to work other jobs to earn a living while playing footy at the top level.
We of course need to plot it against average housing prices in the Western Suburbs to know who was better off overall!

I'm more sparing a thought for the rest of the population, for whom $800,000 is ten years wages.

Richards is a top 50 player in the comp, that’s a million dollars these days.
From 2025 there may be even more players hitting 7 figures. Just 4 from each club is 72 players, and given the 45% increase in cap on just 3 seasons that's looking conservative

Mate, you should be on 60-70k for your contributions to this forum in the brand new world of Gil’s AFL.

Strategy Trade and List Management Thread Part 7 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)