Strategy Trade and List Management Thread Part 7 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)

I would say that a few of our more vocal fans, and trolls from other clubs would have had a go at him on the socials, which wouldn’t have helped.

FWIW we spoke to some Bulldog supporters with good connections to the club, six months ago, who were adamant he would be a Tassie marquee player signing.
I was told something similar re Tassie when he re-signed with us. His manager was telling everyone that he wasn’t going to sign for 4 years and take him to free agency as they want to leverage the Tassie offer.

Was the best ruck in the VFL last year though. Can't argue with performance.

Mumford vibes, who walked into the system at 130kgs and once he shed the weight (down to around 110kg) he was very very effective.

If anything, Timmy will be sharper rucking against Crossley than he will be rucking against Gardner (which is the current pre-season scenario). If anything, I hope Crossley keeps training with us for that reason alone.

Oh I agree for sure! Just couldn’t believe he was so dominant in that shape. I’m keen on him.

Cooney has told his version of events on a few podcasts at the end of 2014. Him and Griffen were telling the club for months how bad it was getting, coach not talking to senior players, young players feeling sick about coming to training. Then all blew up on Brownlow night.

I think it’s one of those situations where no body is a winner (from who was here in 2014).

Far out - we have no idea what JUH is going through - so how about we give him the benefit of the doubt and our support.

People get sick, some of them mentally, if it is physical we feel bad for them, things happen in families that cause people distress - none of which are any of our business.

Yes he is a star player but he is also person. I want our club to be one that supports people first. I hope you get better mate.

Far out - we have no idea what JUH is going through - so how about we give him the benefit of the doubt and our support.

People get sick, some of them mentally, if it is physical we feel bad for them, things happen in families that cause people distress - none of which are any of our business.

Yes he is a star player but he is also person. I want our club to be one that supports people first. I hope you get better mate.
If you knew his current attitude and what he's been doing then you would understand the lack of empathy from people posting

I'm still hold fire given if he's suffering trauma or mental difficulties they often manifest themselves in poor behaviour.

I think we need to wait for the full story to come out before making judgement.

I'm still hold fire given if he's suffering trauma or mental difficulties they often manifest themselves in poor behaviour.

I think we need to wait for the full story to come out before making judgement.
We will likened er know the full story.

If his issues relate to the influences around him (many rumours suggesting it’s close family, among other things) it’s amazing what difference it can make cutting those people out of your life.

I’ve known people close to me who have gone from drug addicted and jobless to owning their own home and holding good jobs, just by cutting contact with one or two people.

I’m trying to remain optimistic here - his first step is addressing the root cause. Improvements in his own behaviour and mindset could come rapidly after that

If his issues relate to the influences around him (many rumours suggesting it’s close family, among other things) it’s amazing what difference it can make cutting those people out of your life.

I’ve known people close to me who have gone from drug addicted and jobless to owning their own home and holding good jobs, just by cutting contact with one or two people.

I’m trying to remain optimistic here - his first step is addressing the root cause. Improvements in his own behaviour and mindset could come rapidly after that
Agree completely

Often more difficult to separate in indigenous families. A lot of people depend on the big earner. It’s their way.

I was told something similar re Tassie when he re-signed with us. His manager was telling everyone that he wasn’t going to sign for 4 years and take him to free agency as they want to leverage the Tassie offer.
He needs to still be in the game for this to happen. That’s no given by the sound of it.

You have no idea about his attitude or what he is going through.
He is attitude to people that don’t understand may seem carefree but it’s actually the opposite. This no ones fault including the club as they actually are not trained to deal with what his going through.
I won’t go into detail, all i would say is no one especially dogs supporters should be criticising marra.
while we are all passionate about our club at the end of the day it’s just a game and no matter if it’s bont darcy or english never playing football again the club will go on as it will without marra.
So we all should be just wishing he gets himself healthy both physically and mentally and playing footy again would be a bonus.

The public speculation and veiled whispers of those that claim to have the inside running on what's going on with JUH are not helpful.
It’s amazing how every man and his dog all of the sudden knows someone in the club. I reckon there’s probably two people on here who are actually reliable. Then a whole heap of people for some reason trying to impress strangers on the internet.

Is there a protocol for a player who is out for an entire season due to personal reasons? Ie. an additional list spot in the MSD or SSP?

Would be a real shame if Marra didn’t run out with the boys again. Hope all the speculation dies down on this board and he can get the support he needs from the club.

What is helpful? Wilful ignorance?
Dunno...

Perhaps a clear eyed view of things given how the rumours people have been quite happy to run with have covered a wide gamut of supposed reasons behind JUH absence. Insinuations that over the last month or so have shifted like sand in the Sahara depending on who's trotting them out.

I don't doubt that there are people out there who know exactly what's going on. Indeed some on this board might. But there seems to be quite a bit of clout chasing going on with a number of posters in here. Cue those people threatening to take their bat, ball and tidbits of dubious information home with them. But of course they won't. We've been here before and we'll be her again. Its the circle of life on Bigfooty.

I really dont understand the desperation of people to know what's happening behind the scenes with JUH or any other player for that matter. Whether he plays again or not cannot be allowed to derail our plans going forward. Its why although the club is supportive its also why JUH is absent from the clubs public activities.

So yeah, unless those people are willing to put their big boy pants on put their money where their mouths are then no, they are not being helpful.

Thats not being wilful ignorant. It's just reality.

Strategy Trade and List Management Thread Part 7 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)

Write your reply...