Autopsy Trade Discussions III

Riewoldt hasn’t “dominated” as much because we have changed his role. He lead the comp for score assists this year on the back of winning two Colemans. Hardwick understands that for us to be a better team we need to be less reliant on him. When our team panics we bomb long to him but we will improve on that as our side develops. Hardwick has acknowledged that our movement forward is not efficient and as a result we make goals look harder than they should be. Just as you hope to improve your defence we hope to improve our work inside 50.

Bruest lead goal assists but Riewoldt was very high up there.

I think his role changed significantly after 2010, he is still the go-to guy though. Back in 2010 almost every inside 50 went at him because there were no other worthwhile targets. Top 5 goal kickers were Riewoldt with 78, Collings 15, Nason 14, Nahas 13 and King 12. That was very lopsided, Riewoldt only had 9 goal assists that year. Richmond ended up 16th for Inside 50s, Marks inside 50 and goals scored so overall it wasn't a setup that was going to work.

2011 was probably the pinnacle in terms of result vs supply. Riewoldt had 62 goals, Vickery 36, Martin 33, Nahas 29 and King 25. Riewoldt had 21 goal assists. Richmond finished 7th for Inside 50s, 15th for marks inside 50 and 9th for goals scored.

2012 Riewoldt had 65 goals, Nahas 34, Edwards 29, Martin 23 and Cotchin 18. Riewoldt had 20 goal assists. Richmond finished 8th for Inside 50s, 8th for marks inside 50 and 9th for goals scored.

2013 Riewoldt had 58 goals, Vickery 27, Martin 23, King 21, McGuane 20. Riewoldt had 26 goal assists. Richmond finished 8th for Inside 50s, 4th for Marks inside 50 and 7th for goals scored.

Points for went from 1714, 1978, 2169 and 2154. The improvement has come defensively where points against has dropped from 2348, 2292, 1943 to 1754. The forward structure has still been largely the same since 2011, with some shuffling of minor roles. Nahas has fallen out of the picture and Martin doesn't spend as much time up forward any longer while Vickery has plateaued since a very good 2011. The dramatic improvement has come defensively imo and a good defense makes it easier to score.

Riewoldt still needs a lot of help because even though marks inside 50 has increased the team isn't getting a lot of penetration into the corridor where key forwards ply their trade and why offensively there have only been marginal improvement since 2011.

Richmond will always rely on him too much until other players take the heat off him more. You can say his role is changing but unless others start doing the corridor work and kicking more goals you will still have an unhealthy need for his contribution and the better teams will zone him out if he is the only one looking like kicking a score.

I disagree with you that we are too reliant on Cotchin and Deledio. Both had very sub par years by their standards and we still were able to finish 5th in the H&A season and have game plan that yielded the 3rd best defence in the AFL behind the Swans and Freo.

Are you talking statistically or impact in games? They are still the big impact players, the guys that win games when the heat is on. For example, Cotchin destroyed Fremantle and Hawthorn and in some big wins against decent opposition Deledio turned the tide. Even though lids didn't get a ton of the ball, he was huge vs Fremantle up in Perth. He hasn't been clocking up massive disposals but he is the type of player who turns momentum and will get heavily tagged. Disappoint results against good teams when these guys were both held resulted in losses.

Martin is the only other player that lifts and has a big impact against good opposition consistently. The other mids are still quite young so are still prone to the bunny in the headlight period when the leaders aren't leading, you expect that from kids. Guys like Edwards and Foley also have fallen off a bit this year. In time the good young kids will make the side stronger but there is a heavier load on Cotchin and Deledio from the mature group this year which I think has contributed to them finding it harder to break the shackles.

I hope for your sake you improve, after all the Roos have only finished between 8th-10th since Scott has been appointed. You had better hope all these off-field appointments work as your side has well and truly run out of excuses. The pressure is on.

I don't know what this excuse thing is that you are talking about. One side wins the flag and everyone else has deficiencies. There are no excuses. There is a reason why you win games and there is a reason why you lose games. All you can do is try and fix the reasons why you lose during the off-season. Some of it is a lack of personnel, others is a lack of experience, then there is the game plan and how you go about things. We recruit different players, appoint different staff and look to address what we think is our weaknesses, that is all you can do. At the end of the day you need the players to step up and perform.

I hope the steps we have taken do the job but if they don't then you go again and try to fix the problems, as long as you are not delusional as to what the problems are then you are in with a shot to improve. We might improve significantly next year, but if we don't win the flag (which I do not expect us to) then we will still have deficiencies to overcome.

Ok let me get this straightened out:

We have lost pick 32, White, Nahas and Mcguane

For

Hampson...

Meanwhile:

Carlton get Dale Thomas for free
North get Dal Santo for free
Collingwood get adams and pick 11
Hawthorn get Mcvoy for 17
Melbourne get rid of the cancer spreading sylvia as well as getting Vince and Tyson
GWS get mumford for pick 39

Bent over this period...absolutely!

McGuane we haven't been able to give away in recent years, and Nahas cant get out of our VFL side

They arent worth a half sucked sav

Just guessing but here it goes

Out:
White -$200k
McGoof -$200k
Tuck -$300k
Nahas-$250k
Derickx-$100k

Vet List Savings
Newman,Foley,Jackson - $340k

Total Saving from 2013 list = $1.4-$1.5 million

Hampson -$250k
4 Newbie players -$300k
Total = $550k

Roughly paying out $1million less next year

I think his role changed significantly after 2010, he is still the go-to guy though. Back in 2010 almost every inside 50 went at him because there were no other worthwhile targets. Top 5 goal kickers were Riewoldt with 78, Collings 15, Nason 14, Nahas 13 and King 12. That was very lopsided, Riewoldt only had 9 goal assists that year. Richmond ended up 16th for Inside 50s, Marks inside 50 and goals scored so overall it wasn't a setup that was going to work.

2011 was probably the pinnacle in terms of result vs supply. Riewoldt had 62 goals, Vickery 36, Martin 33, Nahas 29 and King 25. Riewoldt had 21 goal assists. Richmond finished 7th for Inside 50s, 15th for marks inside 50 and 9th for goals scored.

2012 Riewoldt had 65 goals, Nahas 34, Edwards 29, Martin 23 and Cotchin 18. Riewoldt had 20 goal assists. Richmond finished 8th for Inside 50s, 8th for marks inside 50 and 9th for goals scored.

2013 Riewoldt had 58 goals, Vickery 27, Martin 23, King 21, McGuane 20. Riewoldt had 26 goal assists. Richmond finished 8th for Inside 50s, 4th for Marks inside 50 and 7th for goals scored.

Points for went from 1714, 1978, 2169 and 2154. The improvement has come defensively where points against has dropped from 2348, 2292, 1943 to 1754. The forward structure has still been largely the same since 2011, with some shuffling of minor roles. Nahas has fallen out of the picture and Martin doesn't spend as much time up forward any longer while Vickery has plateaued since a very good 2011. The dramatic improvement has come defensively imo and a good defense makes it easier to score.

Riewoldt still needs a lot of help because even though marks inside 50 has increased the team isn't getting a lot of penetration into the corridor where key forwards ply their trade and why offensively there have only been marginal improvement since 2011.

Richmond will always rely on him too much until other players take the heat off him more. You can say his role is changing but unless others start doing the corridor work and kicking more goals you will still have an unhealthy need for his contribution and the better teams will zone him out if he is the only one looking like kicking a score.

Are you talking statistically or impact in games? They are still the big impact players, the guys that win games when the heat is on. For example, Cotchin destroyed Fremantle and Hawthorn and in some big wins against decent opposition Deledio turned the tide. Even though lids didn't get a ton of the ball, he was huge vs Fremantle up in Perth. He hasn't been clocking up massive disposals but he is the type of player who turns momentum and will get heavily tagged. Disappoint results against good teams when these guys were both held resulted in losses.

Martin is the only other player that lifts and has a big impact against good opposition consistently. The other mids are still quite young so are still prone to the bunny in the headlight period when the leaders aren't leading, you expect that from kids. Guys like Edwards and Foley also have fallen off a bit this year. In time the good young kids will make the side stronger but there is a heavier load on Cotchin and Deledio from the mature group this year which I think has contributed to them finding it harder to break the shackles.

I don't know what this excuse thing is that you are talking about. One side wins the flag and everyone else has deficiencies. There are no excuses. There is a reason why you win games and there is a reason why you lose games. All you can do is try and fix the reasons why you lose during the off-season. Some of it is a lack of personnel, others is a lack of experience, then there is the game plan and how you go about things. We recruit different players, appoint different staff and look to address what we think is our weaknesses, that is all you can do. At the end of the day you need the players to step up and perform.

I hope the steps we have taken do the job but if they don't then you go again and try to fix the problems, as long as you are not delusional as to what the problems are then you are in with a shot to improve. We might improve significantly next year, but if we don't win the flag (which I do not expect us to) then we will still have deficiencies to overcome.

I think your missing 1 glaring thing trying to assess our fwd structure and saying our fwds need to better in the corridor as we deliberately don't play a traditional CHF and by design kick to the pockets unless an easy target presents which is harder in this zoning era. By doing they believe we can set up behind the ball better and create mid field turnovers and repeat inside 50's. Not my cup of tea but this is why Jack and others are used this way and isn't their fault in a traditional sense.

Out:
White -$200k
McGoof -$200k
Tuck -$300k
Nahas-$250k
Derickx-$100k

Vet List Savings

Hampson -$250k
4 Newbie players -$300k
Total = $550k

Imo I think your being a little light on their contracts when the afl average is $270k. I also think that foley and jacko don't qualify for vets yet. isn't it 10 years?

I think your missing 1 glaring thing trying to assess our fwd structure and saying our fwds need to better in the corridor as we deliberately don't play a traditional CHF and by design kick to the pockets unless an easy target presents which is harder in this zoning era. By doing they believe we can set up behind the ball better and create mid field turnovers and repeat inside 50's. Not my cup of tea but this is why Jack and others are used this way and isn't their fault in a traditional sense.

The problem with going to the pockets is it is a lower probability chance of converting as opposed to dead in front or no real angle to speak of. Richmond had 2 more scoring shots than us this year yet we lead the score 2307 vs 2154.

Richmond was still very high in terms of marks inside 50, I assume that accounts for a lot of the wide ball movement. You can say going to the pocket might be lower probability of converting but exposes you less to turnover and then offensive rebound. That is probably a factor. I think against good opposition though score board pressure is crucial. In our game we played this year you were going inside 50 more than we were and were having a lot of shots in the pockets (and missing a lot of them) while we were kicking from right in front.

That was a game where the margin wasn't an accurate reflection of the difference between the sides.

I am not sure if it is a scenario where utilising the corridor near goal would expose you to a lot of defensive risk. It could be, I am not sure. I think using the corridor through the middle exposes you to a lot of risk if you turn the ball over but teams press in behind inside 50s to stop the ball rebounding quickly, I am not sure how much it helps defensively to go wide vs putting the ball where you have a much better chance of converting.

For

Hampson...

Meanwhile:

Melbourne get rid of the cancer spreading sylvia as well as getting Vince and Tyson

We also kept Cotchin, Riewoldt, Martin, Ellis and Conca

Riewoldt lead with 1 round to go but he didn't play against Essendon. The tally you are looking at must include finals

The star Tiger spearhead enters Round 23 in fifth place in the Coleman Medal race, with 57 goals, seven behind the leader, Hawthorn’s Jarryd Roughead.

But Riewoldt leads the competition in goal assists, with 26, which is one ahead of Hawthorn’s Luke Breust and two in front of Fremantle’s Chris Mayne.

http://www.richmondfc.com.au/news/2013-08-28/well-done-jack

A lot of very good teams do have a go-to guy though which I think you'll agree. Pies-Cloke, Hawks-Buddy(until they weened off this season) and Sydney with new toy Tippett and you can probably name more.

I won't argue with you about Vickery needing to improve but as a 23 year old 200cm forward time is on his side and there are very few in the league who are playing the same role and doing a better or as good a job. Hopefully McBean can step up and take Edwards role as I really don't want to see Hampson in the forward line.

We also need better goal production from our mids with Martin's conversion rate being atrocious and Cotch regressing in that stat massively.

I would say both Lids and Cotchin had sub par years from an impact and statistical point of you although I can't provide you with the stats at this time of night. But I agree that with everything that you said about having very few players to count on in changing the momentum of games. Martin in particular has a tendency to vanish when the heat is on.

The excuses talk was just a troll about the constant talk that you guys are better than your position and could of, should of type stuff. The roof, leadership and whatever else. Scott said after you had a few close loses that he knew what the problem was and that it would be fixed and you'd move on but it kept happening. We all know it came down to a defensive mindset that you guys will be putting in place over this off-season but it is still a concern that it couldn't be dealt with in the season proper.

After our worst game of the year against the bombers we came out after the bye against West Coast with our new game plan and didn't look back. It's not perfect of course but it showed to be effective against the majority of teams.

In the end North just need to beat the teams they should. Losses to the Suns, Brisbane and Adelaide cost you dearly. Your supporters can talk about the near misses against the Hawks and Geelong but these games are real issue that need ironing out.

People go on about our performances against the tops side but at least we won every game we were supposed to and jagged a couple more.

You obviously have a great footy brain though and know what you're talking about, I just fired back because I thought you were some nob jockey in here to gloat after the NDS signing.

Good luck to you.

Just not against us.

Out:
White -$200k
McGoof -$200k
Tuck -$300k
Nahas-$250k
Derickx-$100k

Vet List Savings

Hampson -$250k
4 Newbie players -$300k
Total = $550k

Its more then 1 million but good post. People have to understand that our payments are out of whack. We have had to pay overs so long just to hit the minimum payment thresh hold, Foleys crazy contract is a perfect example ( Curse you Cameron). Dan is now trying to align our payment structure based on performance but also to make sure we can reward those that deserve it.

People that say we have done nothing this trade period stun me. We got in a type of player we need for very little cash for 3 years. We KEPT our guns. To me, that's massive. More importantly we resigned our guns to realistic contracts or tried to :p. Got to remember guys, we have some good quality kids that have hardly played this year due to developing in the reserves. Add those to a 1st rnd pick and our natural improvement...we will progress like those around us that paid huge dollars for either players with dodgy medical history's or 30+ year old vets.

IMO Judge this year in the next 3 years in the impact its had on our club

I'll just comment on the bold as its bloody late and im tired :).

I don't know how often you see us play ? I am judging by your summary that you watch the odd tiger game and the rest is from stats. Our whole forward line movement changed this year, they press up close to the centre square in most cases defending space. It is one major reason why our defence is the third best in the league. The other reason our defence jumped so high is that teams, and north a perfect example of this who use the corrider can be scored against really easily if it does not come off. So dimma had us move the ball wider on the wings and then centre the ball deep centre in our forward 50. That way if we did not mark it we could at least create a stoppage. Just check time in forward 50. We were ranked in the top 4 and being our strength is scoring from stoppages, ranked 1 or 2 it made sense.

We are not a Geelong yet were we can use the corridor and confidently defend the quick rebound. We will get there soon I hope as it looks amazing. North is a perfect example of that. great footy to watch ( we were the same in 2011 and 2012) unfortunately developing teams like ours can be to exposed by being so direct to often.

As to our forward line not functioning this year. Oh I agree, we are still developing that area. The major thing that throws the stats out a bit this year is if we had of kicked straight a lot would be saying the reverse. Compare our shots on goal this year to the last couple. IMO that will better tell the story about our forward line.

At our stage of development, Dimma has built a game plan, like hawthorn, around team defence. In doing so we have made a final and are one of the better teams that for the majority of the year could stop teams getting 4+ goals on the run ( other then carlton, curse you blues! lol). I think your coach has this year done what we did a couple of years ago. We pinched the hawks defensive coach and it has done wonders. I am sure Tudor will do the same for you guys.

Out:
White -$200k
McGoof -$200k
Tuck -$300k
Nahas-$250k
Derickx-$100k

Vet List Savings

Hampson -$250k
4 Newbie players -$300k
Total = $550k

What about the extra cash from all the players we re-signed this year?

I find it concerning that Collingwood have 2 picks before our 1st pick then 2 picks before our 2nd.

Anyway, a shallow draft. We might recruit 1 kid in the draft and go for a couple of late bloomers with the later picks. E.g 24 year olds from the SANFL or Thorp.

Next years draft is looking strong and I get the feeling the Club is looking at that based on list decisions.

We'll probably have 5 off main list this year - Tuck, White, Nahas, Derickx, McGuane.

In - Hampson
Draft 1 kid
Draft 2 late bloomers with AFL ready bodies
Promote 1 rookie or PSD 1 player for main list

Next year it becomes interesting, as it is harder to pick the ones to go.

End of 2014
Likely to go:
Newman, Big O(might not be on the main list anyway) King (retire)

With another free agent likely to come through the door, the following would need pretty good years
Lonergan
A Edwards
Helbig
O'Hanlon
Griffiths
Petterd
Batchelor

There might be quite a few trades in 12 months time.

This isn't a perfect example given the relative strengths of the drafts, but here goes

In the 2000 draft, that will turn out to be the saviour of our great football club, we took two kids by the names of Kos-something and Rei-howthehelldoyouspellit. Kosi is from NSW (although he is actually closer to Melbourne than Sydney). Nick is a Queenslander (although he spent a fair bit of time in Tassie). We could have taken a couple of kids from Vic. Instead we chose the best players and thank heavens for that. If both players live up to their words in their love for the club, we have two absolute superstars on our hands who will dominate the comp for 10 years and tear teams to shreds. If both or either decide to leave, it will cost teams an absolute kings ransom to get them. It is a win-win situation really (however, believe me, both players staying would be a MUCH bigger win). Now, a Vic kid might turn out just as well, but scouting is such an art that in most cases, most recruiters will be able to tell with reasonable certainty how a Wells or a Reiwoldt will turn out compared to others.

Sorry that i rambled on, but IMO it would be a stupid move not to select the best two players.

Yeah I agree it think we should have picked up Dal or Montagna or Chappy cause they bring so much experience and a certain calmness in tricky and pressured times, I think our boys are still learning especially when it comes to playing finals also the Roos gave us a hiding last time I remember... GO TIGES

Sent from my GT-N7105 using Tapatalk 2

For

Hampson...

Meanwhile:

I'll straighten you out-

Thomas - $750k x 5 years. Which one of Dusty or Conca do you wanna let go to pay that contract?

Dal Santo - Ditto for a bloke with 3 years left max and his best footy is probably behind him.

Adams- would have to give up pick 12 and $450k a year, probably more than Conca is on. I don't like the pay imbalance for a player that's played 30 odd games. Vlas, Ellis and Conca say we can grow these types ourselves. But then again if we could have jagged him without a bidding war pick 12 would have been a win.

Mcevoy cost pick 17, Savage and another pick downgrade. Would have cost us pick 12-and have been shortsighted trade. Overpaying for a good around the ground big man who isn't a great tap ruckman.

Vince for Sylvia are shuffling deck chairs.

Tyson for a downgrade of 2 to 9 and give up 20?
Giving up the best available mid in this draft for Tyson? Who has played 13 games due to knee and shin problems? Ballsy call by the Dees. Not sure if I'd be happy giving up that opportunity on draft day.

Mumford for 39 was great for GWS. Good use of the threat of PSD. What was he offered to get over there? $500-600k? For 3 or 4 years? Probably a little beyond our budget.

Now apparently most clubs see little value in the draft beyond 30. Not to say there won't be gems there. But 32 for Hampson is a needs based trade and not selling the farm. The Mcevoy trade was a big one, but the Hawks can take that risk. Not sold on Hampson but we targeted a need.

As for the players we lost. White is an 18-24 player. Prefer to have kept him but not for a 3 year contract. Nahas and Mcguane are even further down the list. The latter two were delistings for mine anyway.

Looking forward to see Port, West Coast and Brisbane skyrocket up the ladder on the back of those boom recruits. Good luck to them.

Identifying a player early and making a needs based trade then keeping our first round pick is hardly being bent over.

This year we needed to keep our list together first and foremost and we did that.

Sometimes I think people reckon we are playing supercoach :rolleyes:
No point just trading for trades sake.
It can actually be unsettling anyway.
Also it's one trade period and one where it smacks of some teams panicking and chasing their tails.
Why do it for the sake of doing it.in 12 months time after hopefully another solid season we may trade into a better draft,or have some cash for a better free agent than any that were available this season.
Could even have one identified coming into free agency right now.
This Tyson thing is making me laugh too.I don't give a rats arse about his reputation as a kid so far he has looked ordinary.
I don't care if he has been injured either as its all part of the package.When whining about Tyson you must consider he would have cost is our first pick last season.
So then we have a very underwhelming and injured Tyson and Vlastuin is playing somewhere else.
Yippee!!!!!!!
I'm giving us a tick for our trading period.t We were stiff with White leaving but that was on the cards and there is nothing you can do about it.
I have no interest in us having a bloke on a very suspect ankle for 4 years on $700k or a Dal Santo nearing the end on more than he deserves. Swans have bitten off more than they can chew and now Shaw is going to be on ridiculous money.Betts too!
I bet anyone anything they like that about 60-80% of the free agency moves made this season end up as regrets and have pages filled in by angry bigfooty fans over the next few seasons.

absolutely agree RodneyDangerfield

Some VERY big $$$$ commitments being made by clubs to snare players as FA's and then following up with public masturbation campaigns about landing the "big fish' player for nothing (see Norf NDS poster, Carlton Daisy Poster). You dont see that kind of carry on for regular trades which leads me to beleive that the FA game is creating an alpha dog pissing contest. Glad we are staying clear of it all to be honest because if you all think we are having a cap problem just wait and see what happens to the FA wheelers and dealers (Dons have already lost Crameri).

In my view the Swans have succumb to greed and avarice and succeeded in guaranteeing the abolishment of the unfair cap advantage which allowed them to never bottom out. Franklin deal WILL see players walk out the other side, 2mill of your cap devoted to Tippett and Buddy doesnt leave much left for the quality players that deliver the ball to them.

Thomas has been steadfast in requesting 2 year deals in his time at Collingwood, always confident his value would go up.... missed the majority of two years with ankle issues and all of a sudden jumps at a four year deal..... IMO Thomas doesnt have faith in his body to perform anymore and Carlton come knocking with a inflated long term deal fueled by Micks hunger for vengance and Carltons embarrassing attempt to become Collingwood, hey presto Daisy is a Blue. Needs to play at least 70 games for the Blues for them to get a return on this investment.

Norf and NDS, for the first time in probably forever they are able to pay 100% of the cap, that leaves them with and extra ~$400K and they decide to invest it in a player that whilst fitting their needs is on the downhill slope. NDS' Norf contract is 3 years at money beyond what any of our mids outside of Lids/Cotch/Dusty are on. Barring injury our young talented mids will be playing for another 10 years and if we dont throw outrageous money at an outsider at their expense, their 10 years will be in the Yellow and Black.

Our mantra has been to Trade for need and draft for talent, no big fish, no trade period theatrics. Richmond are the "Get shit done" club of the offseason and i love it. Pick 32 for Hampson in this draft?, do it in a heartbeat.

Would you all be happy to gut the team in the pursuit of draft picks? Thats called a rebuild, had enough of those. Collingwood is a unique case because for the first time i can remember a player revolt has led to the players being shown the door and not the coach (Eddie is so in love). Even so they are losing a lot of experience and talent for a 30 game player (albeit a good one) and a few high draft selections. Not sold on them making the 8 next year.

So Melbourne got Tyson, good on them. If they want to count that as a win over us well good luck to them cos it will be the only one they get over the next few years. We couldnt get it done with pick 9 last year and took the Vlas instead, WIN. Melb had pick two to play with this time around and Dom's currency has fallen. Personally im glad we havent had a low enough pick to satisfy the Giants and TBH if we had a pick that low, we wouldnt trade it.

Nothing for White and McGuane and people are mad? This board has been fantasy delisting those two for years so why are we surprised?

Richmond has done just fine so far, we are building a team and building a culture organically. We arent trying to become something we arent by grafting on big name 30 and beyond year olds in an attempt to bridge some percieved gap, we are confident that we have the cattle to do it oursleves. We will take another young gun in the draft at 12, let him develop in OUR reserves team playing OUR style and watch him flourish for years to come.

Well that ended up being a longer post than I had planned.....

Think a little more broadly than just draft picks. We cant afford to keep White on our list, there is NO WAY we were going to be able to afford Mumford. So, yes... whilst GWS paid less in terms of draft picks, they've got a player on a salary that we were never in a million years going to be able to afford.

Which brings me back to the old... how's our salary cap going! Its ****** isnt it.
Getting really tired of posters bagging the Club for its cap management. Who on this site knows exactly where we are at in respect of the Cap and what our strategy is in regard to it going forward???

We may have front loaded a number of the contracts we have just committed to to keep our good players. We may be saving cap room for our plans for next season. Just IMO, the number of one year deals we have agreed to smacks of planning for next year. I may be wrong but there are plenty of non core players coming out of contract next year when there are reportedly some good free agents becoming available and the draft is meant to be a very strong class??

Personally, I have no issue at all with what we have done so far, if it fits in with their longer term cap management strategy.
We got in Shaun Hampson, who fills a big hole in our team structure on a sensible wage. Rather than that have to pay the overrated Mumford huge dollars.

Fantastic post Cutty, a lot of what you said really resonates with me.

Have read the Leigh Matthews autobiography in the last week and trust me, a lot of what you have said is what he did at the Lions in building the right culture. Whilst reading it, I thought a lot about how much the Benny Gale, Blair Hartley, FJ, Dan Richardson and Damian Hardwick plan was eerily similar. Its trade for need and draft for talent. Lions got lucky with Jonno Brown mind you!!!
That book really confirmed to me that we are definately on the right track and I can honestly believe for the first time in a long long time that we will win a flag some time soon. Hardwick is the right man to lead us, he has the same will and characteristics that Matthews had (an Enforcer as he descibed in the book), and has similar support staff in the Admin.
We will stay the course of the plan now and do so ina calm manner with no panic recruiting for the sake of it. Have a good look at our list guys, if developed properly like Matthews did at Brisbane, we have the cattle to make it. Just my opinion of course.

An list of some of the possible free agents next year:
Bryce Gibbs
Andrew Walker
Ben Reid
Dane Swan
Garrick Ibbotson
David Mundy
Steve Johnson
James Kelly
James Frawley
Todd Goldstein
Lachie Hansen
Travis Boak
Leigh Montagna
Shannon Hurn
Matt Priddis
Shaun Higgins
Will Minson

Now I ask those complaining that we're not doing enough this year, would you rather we signed Thomas and his dodgy ankle or 32 year old Chappy or overpaid for Betts or 30+ year old Dal Santo or would you rather we had a crack next year at someone like Gibbs or Reid or Mundy or Frawley or Boak who would instantly improve our lineup in 2015 when we should be really pushing for a flag. I know which way I'd rather go.

Autopsy Trade Discussions III