List Mgmt. Trade & F/A - 2018/2019 - Part 3

Nope it was 5 games in when he kept running into trouble like a chook with his head cut off. He was no Hawthorn left footer unfortunately.
Players do get worked out, but they also learn.

Overall looked a good long term piece but as we now know his nose got a sniffle at the wrong time.

I assume our forward pocket is where we will rotate our mids like Treloar, Sidey, Beams and Sier.
Forward area.

All of them can be dangerous, besides the beast De Goey, Sidebottom can kick a goal, Treloar can, hell Crisp can too.
Then there’s Stephenson and Thomas.

Now we add Beams.

Scared they all will be with our crazy deep mids to forward.

When are we going to let go of this draft Round 1,2,3 crap ? The second picks were allowed to be traded the whole Round construct went out the window. Just focus on the pick number...

Also, why do we need Quaynor ?

Also, Roughead has been seriously under valued by the football world for the last couple of years. Go back and watch the 2016 Bulldogs... he was a key part of their outfit all over the ground. IMHO we got an absolute bargain..
He's projected to be in our best 22 maybe as early as rd1

Really?

HBF is an area of strength for us.

Crisp, Maynard, Aish and then the interceptors in Howe and Langdon.

Few reasons I can think of.
He can play tall and small, is a great user of the ball. Is big bodied and suited to AFL straight away and has the capacity to go into the middle or on the wing. Hes pritty versatile.

Reading Knightmare Trade Article and looks like he Thinks we had a Terrible Trade Period and might gone backwards because of it

In: Dayne Beams, Jordan Roughead, pick 41, pick 44, pick 57
Out: Alex Fasolo, pick 18, pick 56, pick 75, 2019 first-round pick

2018 Draft Picks: 41, 44, 51, 57, 93

Grade: D+

Rationale: In an ill-advised, all-in approach towards winning now, Collingwood's trade for Dayne Beams is questionable. He is a short-term addition who improves their midfield but the price given up is disproportionate to the value he projects. The soon-to-be 29-year-old averages 16.8 games per season across his career (including finals) and during his tenure with Brisbane, 14.5 per season. This may mean if Beams plays four more years Collingwood he may play around 60 more games which is not enough for a deal involving two first-round selections. Jordan Roughead adds depth to shallow ruck and key position stocks while the loss of Alex Fasolo reduces Collingwood's front-half depth.

http://www.espn.com.au/afl/story/_/id/25000696/afl-trade-period-************-club-club-gradings

So Geelong have the Holy Trinity right? Danger, Ablett, Selwood?

Does Pendles, Sidebottom, Adams, Treloar, Beams, Sier and Phillips make it the Magnificent Seven?

Hopefully they are not as Overrated as the Holy Trinity from Geelong

Hidden gem? He played 2 or 3 decent games then was shut out of the game at AFL level there after, he may have developed further to adapt he may not of. We wont know.

The deal was overs for a rookie listed non afl experienced NEAFL player who was heavily linked to be borderline on delist and given a last minute rookie offer after our interest was known.

These players are usually gone for much much less, like Roughead @ 72!
Points difference conceded was 206 points. That's equivalent to pick 55. Not super expensive for a young bloke with pace, in a team considered to have little run off half back.

As good as the onball division is, I reckon Treloar may be the key. He is the only one with break away pace, except for De Goey.

Sidebottom and Phillips are not quick but wear you down, while Beams and Adams are in and under types. Pendlebury is just outside silk.

I think we really missed Treloar's burst speed in the Grand Final. He was never able to regain it for the finals series after his hammy.

Also, why do we need Quaynor ?
We don’t; but we rate him, we’ve worked extensively with him, and get him at a 20% discount relative to everyone else.

Reading Knightmare Trade Article and looks like he Thinks we had a Terrible Trade Period and might gone backwards because of it
I’ll readily admit Knightmare knows more about the draftees than I do, but I don’t rate his player evaluations at all. Patton is a prime example. I just never find myself agreeing with him!

As good as the onball division is, I reckon Treloar may be the key. He is the only one with break away pace, except for De Goey.

Sidebottom and Phillips are not quick but wear you down, while Beams and Adams are in and under types. Pendlebury is just outside silk.

I think we really missed Treloar's burst speed in the Grand Final. He was never able to regain it for the finals series after his hammy.
The bear is faster on the burst than De Goey. Give him time.

I’ll readily admit Knightmare knows more about the draftees than I do, but I don’t rate his player evaluations at all. Patton is a prime example. I just never find myself agreeing with him!

I see what you are saying The Royal Sampler that Knightmare does seem to have Different Opinions they Most People do and I respect him for that but as you say he has not got a 100% Record as no one has

http://www.espn.com.au/afl/story/_/id/25000696/afl-trade-period-************-club-club-gradings
Harsh evaluation.

Median AFL games played by pick 10-20 is 60. But they wouldn’t be at AA standard. 18 Being at the later end of that grouping is also optimistic to even get 60 games.

After 4 years on the list the 10-20 pick has usually played less than 40 games.

So even in a pessimistic outlook for Beams, 60 games of Beams with majority being quality, is a better return than is expected from a pick 18ish.

Then also factor in that we are gunning for a flag in next couple of years...smart decision to bring in the known quality when we are dealing with a pick 18.

Especially considering we still have access to a couple of highly rated prospects in IQ and Kelly who we may have taken with pick 18 anyway!

I have Essendon finishing top 4 next year, and GWS finishing 9-12th.

By my calculations, we would have to at least make finals for it to be a fair deal.

Seriously, why do people always get sucked in by Essendon. They win trade week every year but when the real stuff starts (like winning games) they are nowhere to be seen!

How can people be unhappy about Beams coming back? He is a proven goalkicking midfield star!

We will get IQ and Kelly with our first 2 picks.

I'd back one of these irish boys to become decent AFL players.

We'll find a gem or 2 from the VFL.

Natural improvement from our young guns in Grundy, Stevo, JDG etc.

Coxy will become more consistent in 2019.

Bring it on!

+1 on this and I mean no disrespect to Knightmare at all but I have found myself disagreeing with almost every assessment he has made in this off season when it comes to current players and who we should have been targeting etc. Patton, Garlett etc.

His draftee knowledge, analysis and thoroughness over the years has been second to none but I've just been left a bit perplexed by some of his off season opinions this year.

Then again everyone is entitled to their opinion and his is well and truly more researched than mine.

I like KM, but his rationale with Beams’ games average is flawed. He lost 1 season to a *quad*, then had a knee injury at Brisbane that took a long time to get right, but overall he’s been reasonably durable throughout, and has played nearly every game for the last 2 years. He really should stick to junior talent id. His judgement on list management and trades is questionable at best.

Let's be honest. Even if a club bids on Kelly and we can't match it, they can babysit him for a couple of years before we get him back to pieland. A young skinny KPD isn't likely to play much footy in his first 2 seasons anyway.