List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency talk Pt 5

If you recall how Soldo was tracking prior to that push in the back by fattie Porkins that caused the ACL, it's a tragedy that his mobility has been so affected.

He was very mobile for a big bloke, and we were all amazed at how well he was covering the ground, improving each week and looking the goods.

For a bloke his size and weight that knee will take time. I've been surprised how much senior footy he played this year. I expected he'd play mostly in the vfl to gain form and fitness and then maybe come onto the team later in the year. I think we may have played him too early in the season. He needed a 10-15 game block to really see what he could do.

Miller on the other hand has been a revelation and seems to have a lot more upside.

I'd be surprised if we traded Soldo but he will get plenty of offers if he's only playing vfl next year. It really will depend if he gets his timing right, improves dramatically below his knees where he is a liability at the moment and can start dominating around the ground in the air like he was prior to the injury.

The thing about Ivan is that he's a great clubman and the players seem to love him.
Reckon his long term future at Tigerland will depend on Ryan’s progress

FaaI8f0VsAAhYHC

Just saw on the trade board C4 (known ITK poster) said he wants to play for us, so the noise is getting louder.
Yep, that poster is a Blues fan (?) who somehow seems to get very good mail on our trading targets. Wouldn’t treat it as gospel but he’s been on the money previous years.

If you recall how Soldo was tracking prior to that push in the back by fattie Porkins that caused the ACL, it's a tragedy that his mobility has been so affected.

He was very mobile for a big bloke, and we were all amazed at how well he was covering the ground, improving each week and looking the goods.

For a bloke his size and weight that knee will take time. I've been surprised how much senior footy he played this year. I expected he'd play mostly in the vfl to gain form and fitness and then maybe come onto the team later in the year. I think we may have played him too early in the season. He needed a 10-15 game block to really see what he could do.

Miller on the other hand has been a revelation and seems to have a lot more upside.

I'd be surprised if we traded Soldo but he will get plenty of offers if he's only playing vfl next year. It really will depend if he gets his timing right, improves dramatically below his knees where he is a liability at the moment and can start dominating around the ground in the air like he was prior to the injury.

The thing about Ivan is that he's a great clubman and the players seem to love him.
Problem is we have Nank & Soldo and both are similar types of Ruckman with Nank being the better of the 2
We cant play 2 dinosaurs playing in the same team.

1 would need to be a higher leaping more agile Ruckman that can offer more as a foward

We shouldnt expect Soldo to be satisfied to rot away in the VFL and if he gets an opportunity to be #1 ruck at another team then he should take it
Richmond will probably only get a pick 35-50 range which is not ideal but cant stand in his way of having a career

Just saw on the trade board C4 (known ITK poster) said he wants to play for us, so the noise is getting louder.

Yep, that poster is a Blues fan (?) who somehow seems to get very good mail on our trading targets. Wouldn’t treat it as gospel but he’s been on the money previous years.
C4 has been correct and has had inside mail about Tigers for years

As others have said, neither have proven they can even compete as AFL first rucks. Both showing great signs for the future, but v Gawn, Naitanui, Darcy, Marshall, Hickey, how confident are you that you could rely on these players to not get taken apart as first ruck in 2023? If it goes wrong, it could straight out cost you games. Soldo at least we know can stand up to these guys physically here and now.

Colina is not even in the picture for senior footy in 2023, so forget him. I can accept Soldo may not be in the best 22 as there are better second ruck/forward options, but we have no better back up first ruck option at this point.

You still need to insurance of at least one viable first ruck in reserve. Ruckmen get injured, suspended, and they can tire if forced to carry the first ruck load one out for the entire season.

There is no problem with carrying 3 x first rucks on the list, most clubs do. When they are all available, ok one is a spare playing forward in the VFL. That is a much better problem than suddenly having two unavailable and having to scratch around for undersized solutions, which of course entails losing a player from elsewhere.

We still don’t know for sure if Ryan has any chance of being an AFL first ruck and that he might not be better suited to playing forward, though I accept he is showing good signs as a ruckman in the VFL. Soldo seems a lot stronger than him at this point though.

Great summary mate, people really need to factor in the wear and tear a full season takes on a no.1 ruck. It'd be horrible list management to throw that sort of load on Ryan's shoulders at this stage of his development. He's shown every sign he'll fill a KPF and/or ruck role for a decade, all he needs is a little patience.

Miller was decent against Brisbane, but Fort had him pretty comfortably as a ruckman, Port were playing their 3rd and 4th stringers, McEvoy's a shadow of his former self after the broken neck and Koschitzke's a pinch-hitter at best. He's literally played on one genuine 2nd ruck in a three-game stint at the role, it's hardly a quality sample size anyone could use to make a case that he's suddenly evolved out of nowhere to become a legitimate 1st ruck option over a significant span of a season. We're not even sure he can physically stand up to a full season as a no.1-2 KPD, let alone as a no.1 ruck.

As you and others have pointed out, Soldo's more than likely got a lot of improvement left in him with this recovery year under his belt. He's coming into his prime years as a ruck, we all know the potential that's there when his body's right and he gets the no.1 ruck role. And perhaps the strongest argument against floating him for trade is that his current market value is significantly lower than his potential value at the end of next year.

At the end of next year we'll have a lot clearer picture about where Ryan is at, whether Grimes will continue to miss games, where Balta is best used, how well Nank is holding up, and a whole host of other key questions regarding our short and long term spine. Seems very premature to be even considering trading the big fella before then.

Problem is we have Nank & Soldo and both are similar types of Ruckman with Nank being the better of the 2
We cant play 2 dinosaurs playing in the same team.

1 would need to be a higher leaping more agile Ruckman that can offer more as a foward

We shouldnt expect Soldo to be satisfied to rot away in the VFL and if he gets an opportunity to be #1 ruck at another team then he should take it
Richmond will probably only get a pick 35-50 range which is not ideal but cant stand in his way of having a career
Soldo was arguably pushing ahead of Nank as #1 before the knee.

Nank will cop injuries and/or need a rest. And is arguably another PCL from career over. Even if not he's a small, bash and crash ruck who will be 29 next year and probably not destined to play to 35. Soldo is contracted for two more years. Contract was signed after the knee, so will be low dollars. By the time it's up he'll be 28 and in his prime. Nank will be 30 and probably nearing the end.

At worst, Soldo is experienced, known quantity, popular, back-up on little money who is cemented as part of the fabric of the club. At best he gets back to and then surpasses his 2020 form as our number 1, giving our mids first use.

If you are offering a 22yo kid a $900k long term deal, does pick 4 cover that? I think that is a value of pick 1 type deal. That is pick 4 plus about pick 18. Which may explain the Crows interest in coming up with a draft pick in that region. Who knows, but it is not out of the question. I guess Matt Crouch compo is another possible way they can come up with a pick like that. Interesting situation to watch.
He's OOC.Why would the Crows give up pick 5 and say get pick 12ish of us as well as lose Fogerty?
Instead of giving up 5 & 23?

He will be traded, the Crows are essentially trying to force him out, he has been told he will not get a new contract. If he stays he will languish in the SANFL and reduce his next contract dramatically. It is possible Crows will pay part of his wage for next year so there may be a club prepared to give up some sort of half decent pick for him. Eagles may be one possibility.
We will need someone to play the Taylor Hunt role on our list, super important to our system

He's OOC.Why would the Crows give up pick 5 and say get pick 12ish of us as well as lose Fogerty?
Instead of giving up 5 & 23?

Actually pick 5 you are right, that is what they are likely to have and it could even slip a bit if there is a free agent compo pick or a priority pick. Let’s call Crows first pick 6. You would need that and pick 12 to make up the value of pick 1.

Crows pick 23 by the time all is said and done could be about pick 27-28. I somehow doubt Suns are going to accept 6 and 28 for Rankine given the monster contract he is being offered. But who knows. It is possible the Crows will just need a little bit better pick than their natural second round pick to get that deal done. If Richmond holds the first pick in the second round and trades that as part of any Fogarty deal, this may be just enough to get the Crows over the line. I am not speaking with any authority here, just trying to figure out some possible scenarios.

Actually pick 5 you are right, that is what they are likely to have and it could even slip a bit if there is a free agent compo pick or a priority pick. Let’s call Crows first pick 6. You would need that and pick 12 to make up the value of pick 1.

Crows pick 23 by the time all is said and done could be about pick 27-28. I somehow doubt Suns are going to accept 6 and 28 for Rankine given the monster contract he is being offered. But who knows. It is possible the Crows will just need a little bit better pick than their natural second round pick to get that deal done. If Richmond holds the first pick in the second round and trades that as part of any Fogarty deal, this may be just enough to get the Crows over the line. I am not speaking with any authority here, just trying to figure out some possible scenarios.
All good mate.
Who knows maybe this years draft doesn't run deep which may sway the crows giving up more.

He knows his shit, good contacts