List Mgmt. Trade: Geelong trades Paul Chapman to Essendon for National Draft 5th Round selection

He will rip us a new one! It's a simply FACT that Paul Chapman was worthy of being a one club GEELONG player no matter how hard you try to justify it. We stuffed up mega on him. I hope he sticks it up Scott and big mouth Cook when we play Essendon...they showed no respect for a three time Geelong Premiership player still playing quality football. On this one, we deserve a good whack!

Equally, the only thing that might rip when we play them could be his hamstring. We'll have to wait and see.

Assuming he stays on the park. It's interesting, for all his troubles with hamstrings over the course of his career this was the fewest games he's played since 2000.
I laugh every time someone claims Chappy has had bad hamstrings over his career. He simply has not! In FACT, this year was his first major Hamstring injury (I think he only had one minor strain previously) and was rushed back too early (by the club) so that he had a setback. When he returned he no problems with his hamstring and played top quality football. It was a huge error of judgment to get rid of him IMO...time will tell, but I'm confident he will simply carry on from 2013 and kick his 3/4 goals per game at 20+ possessions. I think Essendon will be very happy with that.

BTW...who do we have to replace that?

Amazing in hindsight...Michael Mansfield to Carlton for their pick 31, we draft Paul Chapman who becomes a great champion of the club, securing 3 premierships in his 14 year career and then ends his career at Essendon.

Could there be another fairytale in the making with this pick 84? :D

Pick 84: Geelong; rookie upgrade, Mark Blicavs :p

He will rip us a new one! It's a simply FACT that Paul Chapman was worthy of being a one club GEELONG player no matter how hard you try to justify it. We stuffed up mega on him. I hope he sticks it up Scott and big mouth Cook when we play Essendon...they showed no respect for a three time Geelong Premiership player still playing quality football. On this one, we deserve a good whack!

Have a sook why don't you

You and your old man [A.K.A you] should just bugger off and go follow Melbourne,then you'll really have something to bitch'n'moan about 24/7

Ungrateful spoilt brat

You hope. I hope he plays the entire season and kicks 50+. He's a great bloke and still a GUN footballer.

I agree he is a great bloke and a gun footballer but let's face facts, 32 years old coming off a bad hamstring injury it is safe to assume his best footy is behind him.

Do I want him to play in the hoops next year - ofcourse, but not if that means losing say a Burbury and instead he is playing at Essendon in five years time whilst Chappy is long retired.
That is just irresponsible list management.

I laugh every time someone claims Chappy has had bad hamstrings over his career. He simply has not! In FACT, this year was his first major Hamstring injury (I think he only had one minor strain previously) and was rushed back too early (by the club) so that he had a setback. When he returned he no problems with his hamstring and played top quality football. It was a huge error of judgment to get rid of him IMO...time will tell, but I'm confident he will simply carry on from 2013 and kick his 3/4 goals per game at 20+ possessions. I think Essendon will be very happy with that.

It depends on how you define 'major' but he'd certainly had hamstring problems before that - he missed a chunk of games in 2007 and IIRC he played through a partially torn one in 2009 (with the help of some centrifuges). Secondly he doesn't kick 3/4 goals per game and win 20+ possessions. Even at his peak in 09-10 he averaged about 22-23 possessions and just under two goals a game. Obviously nothing to sneeze at but it remains to be seen if he can maintain that level of output.

I agree he is a great bloke and a gun footballer but let's face facts, 32 years old coming off a bad hamstring injury it is safe to assume his best footy is behind him.

Do I want him to play in the hoops next year - ofcourse, but not if that means losing say a Burbury and instead he is playing at Essendon in five years time whilst Chappy is long retired.
That is just irresponsible list management.
Burbury is a muppet. He won't be playing at Essendon or Geelong in two years.

That's why I said 'say' a Burbury....
Or McCarthy, Schroeder, Cowan, Hamling, GHS, Sheringham, Bews, Brown.....

Lets keep all our premiership players until they are 35 and let our future walk out for opportunities at other clubs.
If we didn't let Mansfield go (another champ of his era) then we would never have got chapman in the first place, circle of life mate.

Little bit of my heart died when I saw this :(

1378118_648081841898535_261973089_n.png

Little bit of my heart died when I saw this :(

1378118_648081841898535_261973089_n.png

Same here. Red and black doesn't suit Chappy :(

As hard as it is seeing him at the bombers the club made the correct decision in the end.

Also, Chappy may very well kick a bag against us, because next year Chappy will have his eyes firmly set on playing against us and having a big one.

He struggled with a recurring hamstring issue throughout 2009. He even did it again during the grand final.

Looking at the stats, though, this was the first time he had missed such a substantial number of games due to injury.

He struggled with a recurring hamstring issue throughout 2009. He even did it again during the grand final.

Looking at the stats, though, this was the first time he had missed such a substantial number of games due to injury.

Didn't he do a hamstring in 2012 as well?

Paul Chapman officially a Bomber for pick 84.
I think I just threw up in my mouth a little bit.
If I see him win a flag for them I will throw up... despise the bombers

I love chappy but I do think them offering 2 years was wrong, wouldn't be surprised if he breaks down a lot or struggles next year.. yes he burnt in the port final but was also pretty bloody fresh from not playing a lot this year, and we all have seen how quickly the end can come for players as they get older.
I also was a bit concerned for them when he mentioned he had done 2 pre seasons this year effectively... wouldn't really think 2 preseasons in a year would be a good thing for his body/age

Well I don't care so much as I used to wear Essendon colours at Elsternwick AFC.

Plus my nephews barrack for Essendon.

Not Chappies fault you remember, the club told him no... so good luck to him. To date my top 5 Geelong players of all time are...

1. Smithy
2. Boris
3. Chappy
4. Bairstow
5. Buddha Hocking

If I see him win a flag for them I will throw up... despise the bombers

I love chappy but I do think them offering 2 years was wrong, wouldn't be surprised if he breaks down a lot or struggles next year.. yes he burnt in the port final but was also pretty bloody fresh from not playing a lot this year, and we all have seen how quickly the end can come for players as they get older.
I also was a bit concerned for them when he mentioned he had done 2 pre seasons this year effectively... wouldn't really think 2 preseasons in a year would be a good thing for his body/age
To be safe be sure to have some nausea suppressant medication on hand cos I suspect they will be thereabouts at the point end.:)

Aren't ASADA banning them all?
Think there may be a few who may not escape some sort of sanction. Whether that sanction involves depriving them of their livelihood time will tell.

Taking a long time for ASADA to come forth with their final report. Don't think they've even set in motion a request for Dank to appear yet.

Agree with all of that. Dont blame the club for trying to make the transition to the future, and dont blame Chappy for getting the best deal for himself elsewhere.

I don't totally blame Chappy, but I think he needs to be realistic about his body, and think of not just how he feels now, but how he will be later in life.

Also, my grievance is about how he did this whole thing. Firstly, I didn't like him going to the media first (and he did it in 2012 as well). He should have gone to the club first, and if he hadn't got his contract, then he is a free agent and can talk to who he wants. But going to the media first was unprofessional and just brought trouble on the club.

Secondly, it seems that Chappy's stance was totally about what he wanted. Contracts should be negotiated, but he wanted guarantees the club couldn't and shouldn't make.

Thirdly, I don't like the God-like deification that Chappy has been getting on this board. In fact, it is how Chapman is more important to you than Geelong football club. Posts about wanting to start threads about rubbing Geelong's nose in it, or threatening to tear up memberships or wanting Chris Scott sacked. I have never been so ashamed of Geelong supporters in my life, and not all of them, but the numbskulls who say such stupid things.

Paul Chapman was a great player, but he is only one player. One day he wouldn't be at Geelong anyway because of retirement (despite how Chappy fights retiring), and then who will you follow?

Surely Chappy is some show of a flag at the Bombers?

Their VFL team made the finals in 2013 and they could really kick on with him in the line-up next September.

Maybe he can honour his pact not to ever lose to the (Box Hill) Hawks in the 2014 VFL GF? :rolleyes:

So their VFL team wasn't banned from finals.

How does that work?