AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
No to trading the future first especially for a player we don't need. We don't even play our AA calibre KPD in the backlineJosh Smillie is still the number one pick and second is Draper,
Would even consider trading our future first if that meant getting Trainor as well
No to trading the future first especially for a player we don't need. We don't even play our AA calibre KPD in the backline
Would do it for an elite KPF, but that player is next year.
Club is going to play it safe, aren't we?
We are going to move a few late picks to get probably Brisbane's 1st rounder (end up with pick 18)
We will have picks 1,18,21,34,39
Then watch some other team do a massive deal with Gold Coast and grab their 2 first rounders while we re-sign Baker, keep Rioli & Bolton.
Thats my fear and that would be a disaster.
You said “nothing can be more Richmond”. I’m happy we are Richmond given the success we’ve had recently and blind Freddy can see that injuries are a big contributing factor for us being last.How the **** am I ungrateful that I don't want to finish last??????????
Why would we want to finish last in a year no one can point out the obvious number 1 pick, can you tell me that?
How sad it is if you barrack for you club to lose.
Very torn. That will net us a good haul of players tbh and we get to keep our players (though I think Baker is definitely gone)Club is going to play it safe, aren't we?
We are going to move a few late picks to get probably Brisbane's 1st rounder (end up with pick 18)
We will have picks 1,18,21,34,39
Then watch some other team do a massive deal with Gold Coast and grab their 2 first rounders while we re-sign Baker, keep Rioli & Bolton.
I’ll be pretty pissed if we choose Jagga for pick 1
No doubt he’s a gun but others way more upside
I was of the opinion that we should keep pick one and our better players. however, I now think we should do everything possible to get as many top 25 picks also. Trade it and players for as many top picks as possible.He's very close for me. What takes him to that level for me is his work in the Coates League when he plays midfield. Think I’ve said before, he reminds me of Isaac Heeney. His movement, skills and dynamic play.
Most will just talk about his work off half back which is elite, but for me, a smart club starts him there but gives him midfield minutes and eventually, that’s where he will become an elite player in the league.
I want another top ten pick or two. If we do, he’s in it for me to take next.
Then again, Xavier Lindsay is rising, watched a game of his lately and tigs2010 thoughts of a Gulden is not far off the money. Great runner, amazing left footer, just keeps finding the footy.
Armstrong is my favourite KPP even in front of Trainor. We need a KPF so desperately. He’s also in my thoughts for top ten.
Then there’s Lalor. The enigma. Mate was watching his last performance and for him, he’s still tempted to take him at one.
This draft, oh boy.
Get a heap of picks under 25. Cull the list. Trade the vets who have checked out or won’t be part of our next chapter. With Tassie in mind, everyone is focused on this draft lacking a clear number one and how unlucky we are. I am thinking different. We will get a class act at number one whichever way we go, but if we are smart (I’m not sure we will be) we are so very lucky to have a draft like this come up when we need a total rebuild.
Yeah fair callHow do you know that though? Who's to say Jagga doesn't put on some weight over the next few years and end up the best of the lot?
I think a lot of us are jumping at shadows, I don't care who we get with our first pick as there are about 5 good choices, what I do care about is if this club doesn't try hard enough to get another couple of first round picks.
Would be a bigger disaster than just getting 1 top pick.
Yep that feels like a good spot for him. He's brilliant in the air and throws himself at marking contests like nobody else in the pool which creates some wow moments, but he's also only 191cm so there's some risk to factor in to the pick. If he was 195+ he'd be a first round pick.Love your work mate & appreciate it. Just wondering if you noticed how Tauru played in this game. Looks likely for mine as a late second rounder? Cheers
Agree as long as you're not pushing them out. Tigerbob and I were discussing this last night. If you trade all the ones rumoured to have teams interested we are left with the following;I was of the opinion that we should keep pick one and our better players. however, I now think we should do everything possible to get as many top 25 picks also. Trade it and players for as many top picks as possible.
Our list is rooted. Bite the bullet and supercharge a rebuild. Players like Baker, Rioli etc have trade value. In 2 years they won’t. Any player over 26 is unlikely to be part of a premiership tilt. Obviously some older players should be kept to help with development but any player that we are offered great value for, should be considered as trade bait. Harsh but necessary.
Judging by your poster name you would be old enough to remember what we went through in the late 80's and 90's?You said “nothing can be more Richmond”. I’m happy we are Richmond given the success we’ve had recently and blind Freddy can see that injuries are a big contributing factor for us being last.
And FWIW, I go to every game in Melbourne and I’m there hoping we win the game. If we lose, it’s not the end of the world as the draft should right what’s going wrong with our list at the moment.
Finally, how do you know we don’t have a consensus number 1 pick in this upcoming draft? I agree from media and posters on here, it seems there’s no standout but with the picks we hold and will likely trade up to, we will get multiple good players and I’m happy with that. It’s the cycle of life in AFL world.
If we end up with pick 1, I’m pretty sure we will select a good player.
It is not likely we’ll get the best player with pick one. As long as we get a good player it is a success. We may be ridiculed for missing the best player but we can do nothing about that. List improvement is the aim and that, as we all know will not be from just one player. Don’t worry about media ridicule, nothing you can do about it. It will take at least 3 years of good drafting to build a list.Judging by your poster name you would be old enough to remember what we went through in the late 80's and 90's?
I was referring (with sarcasm) to the bad old days when we kept getting spoons and drafting duds. Yes, much more unlikely to happen now in a much more professional environment.
Still doesn't mean we will draft a good player but they will end up being the 4th, 5th best and won't the media and oppo supporters love to remind us of that at every opportunity while having a good laugh.
We were the joke of the competition for decades, I for one don't want to risk ever being back in that territory again.
Exactly. We don't get ridiculed for taking Lids over Franklin. We cop it for picking Tambling over him because he was hopeless.It is not likely we’ll get the best player with pick one. As long as we get a good player it is a success. We may be ridiculed for missing the best player but we can do nothing about that. List improvement is the aim and that, as we all know will not be from just one player. Don’t worry about media ridicule, nothing you can do about it. It will take at least 3 years of good drafting to build a list.
Immediate impact. Why does it matter? This is a sustainable well managed build that is required.Think I've settled on Draper #1. We need some leg speed and explosiveness in the middle and that aint Jagga. He'd be able to make an immediate impact next year too.
It's just a bonus. He's ready to go and already dominating SANFL seniors.Immediate impact. Why does it matter? This is a sustainable well managed build that is required.
he willNow let’s just hope the Aints Battle also stays at his club
You reckon? It'd be pretty bloody hard to knock back the Hawks with the way they're looking.he will
this ios the reason whyAnyone know why Smillie didn't play last weekend? Is he back this week, he destroyed the Jets last time.
Great stuff, cheersYep that feels like a good spot for him. He's brilliant in the air and throws himself at marking contests like nobody else in the pool which creates some wow moments, but he's also only 191cm so there's some risk to factor in to the pick. If he was 195+ he'd be a first round pick.
just the way he spoke after the game on weekend looks very happy at saintsYou reckon? It'd be pretty bloody hard to knock back the Hawks with the way they're looking.