Trade period / National Draft 2024

Which out of contract player should we trade?

Depth of this year could be hard to match but high end talent could be more. At this stage. But in our phase as a club, if we are smart, the next two drafts are where we go to work. Talent levels would be off the charts and we get ahead of the Tassie team coming in.
I'd be staggered if the depth is as good next year but those top 3 Ludowyke, Sharp and Greeves look very promising. Greeves is Smillies teammate, few cm shorter as a big mid but is very good overhead which is what you want in a 6ft 3 midfielder.

Would hate to trade out of 1 of those. Plus there is over 12 months for more guys to develop. Rodriguez looks pretty good too.

I don’t know why people keep thinking we are going to get a first rounder for Baker.
He’s a 5”8 Rookie listed player who has to throw himself around just to be able to compete.
He’s good at that because he’s probably had to do it all his football life.
Because he’s 5”8 and not a super fast goal sneak.
🤷‍♂️

Counter point to this is he's a vice captain and above average in most stats and elite in others.

His honours:
2019 and 2020 premiership player
2020 - best 22 under 22 & 6th in BnF
2021 - 2nd in BnF
2022- AFLPA most Courageous AFL award and 4th in BnF
2023 - 6th in BnF
2024 - likely top 3-4 in BnF again

IMG_9807.jpeg

Lol lol lol think hombre think. Its simple if GC want Rioli they must pay overs are you that clueless that you cant comprehend its 2 first round picks or piss off. We don't have to do anything as he's contracted, are you getting this :rolleyes:

The point here is if pick #6 alone was offered that’s already massive overs and we’d be crazy not to take it (if Rioli was open to the move).

Pick #6 would get us a kid the ilk of Jagga Smith, Lalor etc…

Eagles had the opportunity to get 2 x first round picks for Barrass last year from Sydneg and missed the boat - he might go this year but it won’t be anywhere near the same trade return. Eagles also could’ve traded the lines of McGovern when he was 28yo. Or Yeo.

But they held them all and the youth on their list looks very very light on for depth and quality… and there only tradeable commodity would be Tim Kelly, but even he is 30yo and won’t be traded.

We cannot afford to make the same mistake IF an opportunity presents which is a win/win. Rioli for #6 alone is a massive win and we can’t miss that type of opportunity and be stubborn just because he’s contracted.

It’s as simple as asking who would you take right now for our future : D Rioli or Jagga Smith?

The point here is if pick #6 alone was offered that’s already massive overs and we’d be crazy not to take it (if Rioli was open to the move).

Eagles had the opportunity to get 2 x first round picks for Barrass last year from Sydneg and missed the boat - he might go this year but it won’t be anywhere near the same trade return. Eagles also could’ve traded the lines of McGovern when he was 28yo. Or Yeo.

But they held them all and the youth on their list looks very very light on for depth and quality… and there only tradeable commodity would be Tim Kelly, but even he is 30yo and won’t be traded.

We cannot afford to make the same mistake IF an opportunity presents which is a win/win. Rioli for #6 alone is a massive win and we can’t miss that type of opportunity and be stubborn just because he’s contracted.

It’s as simple as asking who would you take right now for our future : D Rioli or Jagga Smith?

Spot on. Though I think we will ask for 20 as well. GC have us and WC on run home and pick 6 will likely become about 9 (10 with Battle compo if that rort happens)

Pick 6 for Rioli is overs but I’d get them to throw in 20 for a few later picks. We need talent, they need points. We can be creative. For Rioli we could get Lalor, Reid, Langford, Travaglia or Smith and at 20 a Faull, Gross or Dodson etc. I mean that’s some influx of talent when you put a pick one in that mix of Draper or Smilie. Two talented kids for Rioli would seem worth it. Then there is Baker to go and what we get from Graham and maybe Short. Cut deep and bring in talent.

I'd be staggered if the depth is as good next year but those top 3 Ludowyke, Sharp and Greeves look very promising. Greeves is Smillies teammate, few cm shorter as a big mid but is very good overhead which is what you want in a 6ft 3 midfielder.

Would hate to trade out of 1 of those. Plus there is over 12 months for more guys to develop. Rodriguez looks pretty good too.

This years depth is in the running for best depth draft of all time. Next year is looking good but not quite the depth. But any of those three added to what we do this year means in two drafts we do what most would do in 5 years. We need to get going.

Counter point to this is he's a vice captain and above average in most stats and elite in others.

His honours:
2019 and 2020 premiership player
2020 - best 22 under 22 & 6th in BnF
2021 - 2nd in BnF
2022- AFLPA most Courageous AFL award and 4th in BnF
2023 - 6th in BnF
2024 - likely top 3-4 in BnF again

View attachment 2064189

Baker is worth a first round pick (12-16) every day of the week. This is based on performance, age, quality, leadership etc…

Tanner Bruhn got pick-18.
Preuss : #31
Higgins : #33
Adams : #33
Saad : #8
Fantasia : #29
Cerra: #6
Dawson: F1
Ben Long : #32
Dunkley : #21 and a first
Lobb: #30
Schulz: #34 and a F1

Baker is a superior player than Schulz. He’s not as ‘valuable’ as Cerra or Saad, but they were top-10. He’s way way more valuable than blokes who played VFL the years leading up to being traded like Esava, Preuss and Ben Long.

So it’s a mid-late first rounder or 2 x seconds (from Eagles) with a late pick back from us.

Baker is worth a first round pick (12-16) every day of the week. This is based on performance, age, quality, leadership etc…

Tanner Bruhn got pick-18.
Preuss : #31
Higgins : #33
Adams : #33
Saad : #8
Fantasia : #29
Cerra: #6
Dawson: F1
Ben Long : #32
Dunkley : #21 and a first
Lobb: #30
Schulz: #34 and a F1

Baker is a superior player than Schulz. He’s not as ‘valuable’ as Cerra or Saad, but they were top-10. He’s way way more valuable than blokes who played VFL the years leading up to being traded like Esava, Preuss and Ben Long.

So it’s a mid-late first rounder or 2 x seconds (from Eagles) with a late pick back from us.

Thats alot of good examples. Adams and fantasia were crazy over pays.

Good points but here's the thing he is contracted and if they want him they will have to pay overs. I am not sure how hard this is for some and I don't mean yourself to comprehend.

Pick 6 alone no, but thats just my opinion if we all thought the same how boring. It depends on how much they want him but if push came to shove GC would hand over another pick if not 11 then 20 which still gives us a strong hand at start of the 2nd round 20 and 21

Pick 6 for Rioli is overs but I’d get them to throw in 20 for a few later picks. We need talent, they need points. We can be creative. For Rioli we could get Lalor, Reid, Langford, Travaglia or Smith and at 20 a Faull, Gross or Dodson etc. I mean that’s some influx of talent when you put a pick one in that mix of Draper or Smilie. Two talented kids for Rioli would seem worth it. Then there is Baker to go and what we get from Graham and maybe Short. Cut deep and bring in talent.
I feel like Dodson isn't being talked up as much as he deserves. Is this because he hasn't decided between football and basketball yet?.

Next year we will get a easier draw. A lot depends on the shape of the lists next year, ours and the opposition, not sure what happens with this new Tassie team either

The beauty about our situation is even with a easier draw it will not be simple because other teams as a collective are more prepped for contention while we are strong development before we shoot up past them. Some people are a little confused of our situation. The Bulldogs are an example, they could go right past all the teams this year including the Swans and win the premiership and remember Bailey Smith is on the sidelines. Bulldogs may not do it but they will give it a shake and mainly done through draft talent and getting Treloar was a exceptional trade for them in terms of the terms. The other thing with the Bulldogs, they do not make sense, it is not working, ya da da da, and Bulldogs are not a super team. But move Lobb to the backline and it works makes a big difference and then there structure and way changes, they are more robust, they are happier, they believe, it is a little of 2017 in a different way possibly but they still need to win it and remember they where second in 2021. So downs and ups are part of it and accumulating talent and potential and capability, the team cohesion above all is critical to getting the chocolates along with ability and application including spinning the magnets and finding the teams own way because every player is different and every team mix also is a little different and capable of playing a little different to other teams to get the best out of themselves as a group and team for team success

This years depth is in the running for best depth draft of all time. Next year is looking good but not quite the depth. But any of those three added to what we do this year means in two drafts we do what most would do in 5 years. We need to get going.

Agree it normally takes 4-5 years to build your list with 5 first and 5 second rounders etc. We could potentially have 4 first rounders this year and 2 next year which is insane for 2 years of rebuilding.
Smillie, Draper, Lalor, FOS, Smith or Langford, any two of these id be popping the cork.

From all the games I've seen live and the vids the top 10/15 a midsfest with a couple of talented talls thrown in.

Lol lol lol think hombre think. Its simple if GC want Rioli they must pay overs are you that clueless that you cant comprehend its 2 first round picks or piss off. We don't have to do anything as he's contracted, are you getting this :rolleyes:
I’ll repeat. You’re dreaming. Not even GC are stupid enough to handover 2 first rounders for Rioli. The only one clueless here is you.
ARE YOU GETTING IT.
If GC handover their 2 first rounders then they are totally inept.

I’ll repeat. You’re dreaming. Not even GC are stupid enough to handover 2 first rounders for Rioli. The only one clueless here is you.
ARE YOU GETTING IT.

Ill Be Back Jim Carrey GIF

ARE YOU GETTING IT.

And I did say in a later post if not 11 then pick 20 but we have the upper hand in negotiations as he's contracted and as stated it all depends on how much they want him. They have the capitol to pay overs.

ARE YOU GETTING IT.
Rioli fills a need for them, he knows Hardwick’s system & they don’t need picks as they have academy talent coming out the arse. So we are in pole position to get overs for him and I reckon 2 x 1sts is a massive chance. They get Lombard this year then uwland next who will be guns but they want to challenge now & they are bloody close to contending and Daniel may be the missing piece.

And I did say in a later post if not 11 then pick 20 but we have the upper hand in negotiations as he's contracted and as stated it all depends on how much they want him. They have the capitol to pay overs.
Yes they have the capital but will not part with their 2 first round picks. I doubt even their first and third pick (both first round) would be entertained. To get their early picks, it would take Rioli and sweetner(s).

I feel like Dodson isn't being talked up as much as he deserves. Is this because he hasn't decided between football and basketball yet?.

I think so. For me, he’s crazy athletic and a guy who could develop into that beast ruckman. Hes got all the attributes just needs to choose footy.

Rioli fills a need for them, he knows Hardwick’s system & they don’t need picks as they have academy talent coming out the arse. So we are in pole position to get overs for him and I reckon 2 x 1sts is a massive chance. They get Lombard this year then uwland next who will be guns but they want to challenge now & they are bloody close to contending and Daniel may be the missing piece.
the other thing is us getting draft picks sends the message to fans we have a thirst for winning more premierships and are committed to doing what we need to do to win more premierships especially for the youngsters giving them every chance for them to win premierships and others winning premierships at other clubs if thats what they choose.

The message at RFC really should be if you come to us expect to win premierships one way or another we will try and help you get there to win your premiership glory if you are good enough and fit in the right team mix

Good points but here's the thing he is contracted and if they want him they will have to pay overs. I am not sure how hard this is for some and I don't mean yourself to comprehend.

Pick 6 alone no, but thats just my opinion if we all thought the same how boring. It depends on how much they want him but if push came to shove GC would hand over another pick if not 11 then 20 which still gives us a strong hand at start of the 2nd round 20 and 21
Exactly, if they want him then the trade is on our terms. I also wouldn't be trading him for a pick/s.
Mac Andrew or no deal.